We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Based on a Twitter recommendation”
Review of Stonefire Grill

Stonefire Grill
Ranked #8 of 215 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Based on a Twitter recommendation”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I first heard of Stonefire through Twitter, so the power of social networking was the first aspect that got me to check them out. I went to their website, saw that there were a few in the L.A. area, and went to the one in Thousand Oaks for lunch.

The concept appears to be a hybrid of fast-food ordering, buffet self-service, and sit-down service. The menu is at the front door and you order and pay for your food there. Once the order is complete, they'll give you a GPS table card, and you can sit wherever you'd like in the restaurant. The central area allows you to pick up plates, silverware and drinks while you wait for your food. Within minutes, a server will bring you your meal. The idea behind it may throw some common restaurant patrons off if this is their first time.

Food: We got the works large pizza and the steak & cheese sandwich. The pizza is a generous size, and it's decent. But it's a pizza. The steak & cheese sandwich was tender and had great flavor. I criticize steak sandwiches based on the ability to bite through the meat, and I was happy with how tender this steak was.

With the wide variety of menu choices, it's sure to satisfy whatever mood you have when you go in. Since the restaurant boasts a lack of complexity, expect a quick, California-fresh meal at a decent price and flavor. One would probably have to go back a few times just to get a sampling of what they offer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjd392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Can't decide?”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We decided to try the Stonefire sampler....ribs, pork and of course great garlic bread....add a salad if you want - hard to decide but really good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CheapEats019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Ok, but not for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I went on a Friday evening based on a friends recommendation. This is not a traditional sit-down-and-someone-takes-your-order place. You stand in line to wait to place your order at a register, then they send you to a table. On the way to your table you pick up plates, utensils, napkins, etc. Later someone shows up with your drinks, and then later someone shows up with your food.

Lots of families, lots of kids, lots of noise. The food was OK, but nothing special.

I am sure this type of place must appeal to some people, but don't go there for a quite, romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeldiKlutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great comfort food...just like homemade! Very resonable prices for riduclous sized portions!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best quality food and value....great for families or casual dining!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I've been a fan of Stonefire since the beginning....now they have restaurants all over the place! (Westlake, West San Fernando Valley, North San Fernando Valley, Santa Clarita, Orange County....was just at Pasadena last Saturday night). It's always such a pleasant surprise. Food is tasty. Portions are huge. Prices are reasonable. Take-out is better and less expensive than i can do myself. Love the salads and tri-tip. Only bad thing is that the ambience is more for a group or family or lunch---NOT for a romantic, date night.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonefire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stonefire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing