We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go to place for barbeque”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thousand Oaks Meat Locker
Ranked #29 of 215 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Thousand Oaks
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Our Go to place for barbeque”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Meat Locker has been in Thousand Oaks since at least the 1950s. Ronald Reagan used to use them as his butcher when he had a ranch in the area. I have to admit that we have known the family forever. Their meat cuts can't be beaten but we go there now for their barbecue sandwiches at lunch and to cater casual parties. Their party packages are extremely generous and one can always be sure that the quality will be top notch. Their location, on Thousand Oaks Blvd, is half a block from a nice park so if you are in the mood for a chicken or tri tip sandwich with quality sides of beans and/of coleslaw, head on down, take the goodies to go, and walk over to La Paz park and sit under an old oak tree and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem in the rough!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Meat Locker is in a small, run down building in Thousand Oaks with some of the best meat we've ever tasted. My understanding is that it started out as a catering business and continues to cater large events.The only seating area is outside, although there is a little room to the side with a few tables. It's not fancy, romantic, or somewhere you would go to celebrate a special event, only because of the atmosphere. However if you are looking for good food this is the place to go! We've been there twice before and the food has been awesome both times. The meal (sandwich with 2 sides) is really too much food for one person. We order one meal (with 2 sides) and one sandwich a la carte , and it's still a lot of food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2converse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beef Ribs”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place has been here forever and has morphed from a business that served ranchers to a great bar-b-que eatery. Not fancy, you eat at picnic tables outside or take home. There is no dining room. The Beef Ribs are my favorite, but the tri-tip and baby backs are excellent too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“They've been BBQing forever”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A little hard to find, but look for the smoke. Old-school BBQ, no frills just good chow. Picnic-style tables outside, just added some indoor seating for the chilly days. Tri-tip or Chicken are just right. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is an excellent BBQ restaurant.

You definitely come here for the food, not the atmosphere. Don't be put off by the very basic, almost rundown appearance of the buidling. It is located on Thousand Oaks Blvd and has very basic picnic style benches and tables outside for dining there. Most of their business is takeout. I highly recommend their tri tip sandwich.

They also do a great job with catering and did a great job for our company picnic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thousand Oaks Meat Locker also viewed

 
Thousand Oaks, CA
 

Been to Thousand Oaks Meat Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing