We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST Margaritas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor Cocina Mexicana

Sabor Cocina Mexicana
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabor Cocina Mexicana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 214 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Margaritas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I almost don't want to tell people about this place. The $10 house margarita is uh-mazing. The food is not only delicious and fresh, it is beautifully presented. You may go, but please save me two seats at the bar!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sophiedances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
157 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Poor Value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our group found the food at Sabor ok, but couldn't get past the sky high prices. They put a $17 over-sized margarita in front of you which is a complete turn-off. Nice decor and adequate service but its hard to enjoy a Mexican food meal when you're paying steak house prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bud9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great servers who were really knowledgeable about the menu. Ask about the infused tequila martini.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but "pretty" food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We felt like Mexican food, but wanted to avoid all the usual local joints and try someplace new to us, so we decided on this place. Lovely evening so we decided to sit outside, lots of kids running around, so we had plenty of entertainment. No peaceful meal here. The service was prompt and pleasant. The salsa was yummy, but the chips were horrible. They tasted like they had been cooked in old grease. So bad that we could not eat them. Truly awful!! The prices were quite high, but the meals were good, not great by any means, and beautifully presented. $15.00 for three very small tacos and $18.00 for carnitas (portion sizes are adequate, but not for the price. We won't go back.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank npwpmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
318 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, kitchen to server communication needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very tasty food but at this price point you'd probably expect that. The servers didn't know what ingredients the kitchen had on hand, thus after a long wait we were told that they didn't have short ribs or chicken mole. Margaritas are oversized but the alcohol content is the same as a small size, so you can feel free to enjoy the refreshing ingredients without consuming too much alcohol.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billp25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor Cocina Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Sabor Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing