We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, but many funny gaps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, but many funny gaps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for a family gathering and wedding in a nearby town. We found the hotel generally clean, quiet, comfortable, and well-maintained. The only cleanliness issue was a musty smell in the bath (shower curtain), and mildew on the shower head.

But many obvious gaps were annoying. Starting with a serious lack of signage at the streets (Hotel is way off the main roads, thru parking lot streets for access). The sidewalks around the hotel in many areas do not connect to the parking lot, requiring a jump over landscaping even near access doors. The breakfast is absolutely inedible -- weird scrambled egg lumps and paper bacon and unripe fruit included. The hotel has no plastic cups or glasses even though they sell wine at the lobby. Wine out of a paper cup is a really classy experience. It's these little things that took away from what otherwise would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Ask to face south
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corvallismike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    165
    50
    19
    6
See reviews for
226
128
42
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here our last night on our journey South from Yosemite and Napa and this was by far our best hotel experience. The rooms were well designed, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast had great options (hot and cold) for continental. The hotel had a brand new feel and was convenient to the highway. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for the review! On behalf of my team, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites in Thousand Oaks as the grand finale to your California vacation. Our complimentary Hampton Hot Breakfast Buffet is served everyday.From our delicous hot waffles to our fresh, never-frozen 100% real scrambled eggs you are sure to find something to start the day off right. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Came in to town for my aunt's 85th Birthday party. And as always we like the Hampton Inn. The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly. Breakfast was good. Make your own waffles. We shop at the Oaks Mall which was less than 5 minutes away. Beds extremely comfortable, a very good night sleep. Highly recommend this hotel, right off the 101 freeway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Loved this place - beautiful and most excellent service. I felt at home and loved sleeping in the beds. Not only were they immaculate, but also extremely comfortable. The staff greeted us so warmly and they remembered me from the last time I was there - to interview for a job in a local business - I was so touched that they remembered and were excited and happy for me when I told them I was here because I was moving to start my new job the following monday. Thank you for being so kind and warm hearted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
No, THANK YOU! Here at the Hampton, we love having you here! I am so glad you enjoyed your visits with us. Our team of friendly hospitality professionals work hard to make sure every guests' time with us is productive and comfortable. Thanks for making us your home away from home when in Thousand Oaks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Station
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights when I traveled to CA for business. The hotel was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is non-smoking which I really appreciated. The morning breakfast was wonderful and anything I needed was available to me. I will stay here again when I return to CA.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themccallcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The first mistake this hotel did was not to greet us in a friendly, upbeat manner, acknowledging that we are members of their Honors program. The hotel was just okay. In a bad location with construction. I would not stay here again. Friendliness of the reception is a big thing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Vfaaborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The beds were exceptionally comfortable and we found the rooms to be spacious and very clean. The hot breakfast was not to our liking. The eggs were in little pellets and the bacon and sausage did not appeal to my daughter. There was not much fruit to choose from just melon and a few bananas. They did have a waffle machine, yogurt, oatmeal and bagels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmjjm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.2 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Agoura Hills
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Agoura Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Address: 510 North Ventu Park Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 12 miles inland from the Pacific Ocean, the Hampton Inn & Suites(R) Thousand Oaks is nestled in the scenic Santa Monica Mountains just miles from Hollywood and minutes from top attractions such as the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, California Lutheran University, The Oaks Mall, and the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. While enjoying your time in Thousand Oaks, take advantage of the amenities available at our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel including our spacious rooms and suites, plush bedding, free WiFi, free hot breakfast available daily, complimentary parking, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites 1000 Oaks
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Hampton Inn And Suites Thousand Oaks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing