We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“La Fonda on the Plaza-Location couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Mc Lean
Level Contributor
186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“La Fonda on the Plaza-Location couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel has it all - a historic hotel right in the heart of Santa Fe's town square. Perfect location for touring the area-was especially pleasant for my morning power walks! Great rate, comfortable, quiet room, friendly service and nice pool, exercise room and hot tub. La Fonda has a lovely restaurant with hand painted glass partitions in the center of the lobby, but I particularly enjoyed hotel access to the french bakery-the fresh fruit crepes w/whipped cream were marvelous and a delightful way to start the morning!
La Fonda hotel is the perfect venue for your Santa Fe stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    423
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
317
854
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We were delighted with LaFonda. We love staying in old hotels that have been restored. Our last one before this was LaPosada in AZ. LaFonda was amazingly quiet, we were surprised, both from the hallways to outside. The concierge, Steve Wimmer was absolutlely delightful. He helped us with our couples massage (a dream), a restaurant recommendation for one open night-Amavi-great place for us foodies! We did some of this from a distance via email and always got a response quickly. We got her from a woman, I didn't see the name. She told us how to get a very convenient bus to Museum Hill- $1 all day pass for Seniors. I can't believe that some reviewers were not pleased with the staff. During our 5 day stay, everyone was very genuine and friendly and happy! The bedroom was on the small side but older hotels often are. I loved the old bathroom which had up to date fixture and a HUGE old tub. I loved that you step to it. We had 2 nightstands, a comfortable chair, a blanket chest at the foot of the bed, a modern luggage rack, a desk, dresser and TV unit. You ask for the mini fridge at check in. The walkin closet was very big. We ate all breakfasts there-great food. We ate one dinner in the dining room for our anniversary. Our online reservation hadn't gotten to the book but the hostess was very gracious about seating us. I think this is probably a glitch but I did put it in writing to the manager so hopefully they will be able to fix it quickly. We had a very delicious shrimp appetizer- try it.Our entrees were great too. We had two visits to the lounge, after very hot afternoons- it was a nice dropping off point between afternoon and dinner. The amazing thing is that LaFonda is close to everything- drop off point for the Rail Runner shuttle, city transportation, all the restaurants you could ever want. We chose Fuego, Coyote Cafe and Amavi for the dinners not in LaFonda. We got a quite good rate, half of listed prices on this website so we felt we got a very good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann69982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at La Fonda for 2 nights in June for an anniversary getaway. The hotel is one of the Historic Hotels of America--that should say a lot for it by itself as these are prestigious historic hotels that are part of the Preferred Hotel Group. The location is within steps of the Plaza and all the historic sites in Santa Fe. It is, of course, built in the adobe style as is everything else in Santa Fe--cool tile floors, thick adobe walls that keep the interior cool and fresh, and southwestern style furnishings. Our bed was comfortable with ample pillows, our bath was clean and spacious, and the restaurant was light and airy with a lovely skylit ceiling. We will definitely stay here every time we come to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Fonda. I read a previous review about the size of the rooms - but we find them quite adequate in size and very nicely maintained.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinglespringsCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Well above my expectations, prefect locations, and super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are old, but in a good way. Really liked the entire atmosphere of the hotel. Staff really went out of their way to help you out, not that different than what you see at the four seasons.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comparably
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

“The best hotel in Santa Fe”

Step back to the grace and elegance of the 1920's. Step back to the old southwest.
Nothing else compares. You are at La Fonda.

I was treated to a superbly trained staff. Some had been with the hotel for a mere fifteen years. The bell captain was in his sixtieth. The food in the dining room is superb, the very best in Santa Fe. My room was clean and well cared for. The concierge was knowledgeable about all local events and took care of my every need.

La Fonda is the most historic hotel in North America. It is the only hotel on the plaza.
Don’t even think of looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidvoyagerdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

The hotel is a history lesson, while the rooms are modern--if smallish--and the beds comfortable. A pillow top mattress made for a good nights sleep. The location, right on the historic main plaza, cannot be beat--check out the Indian jewelry and wares every day on the plaza. The restaurant serves good Northern New Mexican fare, though there are lots of others nearby. The cantina at the Casa La Sena restaurant has a nightly "show" where the waiters sing Broadway--delightful!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aretiredtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,838 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing