We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Top notch boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Bennington, Nebraska
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Top notch boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in a 2nd floor room with a king bed. The bed was beautiful to look at and a joy to sleep in: linens, mattress and pillows all very comfortable, with a choice of pillows.

The room had a mini-fridge concealed in the clothes cupboard/dresser, in which were 2 bottles of water, plus another 2 bottles were outside the fridge with the Keurig coffee machine. Water was replaced every day, without charge, and more is available at the front desk if you ask for it. The desert elevation really hits hard at first and being well hydrated is a necessity.

The bathroom was not huge, but comfortable, with great amenities and towels.

Everything is very close - restaurants, little shops, the State Capitol building, museums, sights. La Fonda has a great breakfast area, if very slow service, great bars inside and occasionally live music. The hotel sent me newsletters every month once I booked to keep me updated on local events, both inside the hotel and out, and I found the tips useful.

Parking is a little weird - the entrance to the parking garage is on the far northeast corner and it's easy to miss the first time you go around the one-way streets. On the other hand, there are many pedestrian entrances to the hotel from the street. The hotel itself is a little tough to navigate at first, since it's a historic hotel and expanded several times over the years, so not all hallways connect at the ends to the other side of the building, but the great artwork on the walls made exploring fun.

Only nitpick - that original leather sling chair (can be seen in one of my artwork photos) was a lot nicer to look at than to sit in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    418
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
314
837
86
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at La Fonda July 13 - 16, 2014. We like the location, right on the plaza, and within walking distance to Canyon Road for the art galleries and restaurants, specifically The Compound and Geronimo. We stayed in suite #502, the top floor, just a few paces from the Bell Tower Bar. The suite has been newly renovated with top quality furniture and fixtures. The suite reminded us of many guest rooms and suites that we've experienced in Europe. The bathroom was small for the two of us, and difficult for my wife's hair and makeup. We will return to La Fonda, and I'll probably ask for a room with a bathroom with more counter space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom, with more counter space if you are traveling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Cute and clean rooms, sanitizing wipes on remote and phone..
Nicely updated showers are a plus. Great view from the roof top bar. Great location is the catch. The restaurant attached is very good and crepes are a winner from what I hear.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotea1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed on 4th floor room w/ a balcony for 5 nights on a combined business/pleasure trip with spouse. The room was excellent, except it was very tight quarters -- even for just the two of us. We had to negotiate space carefully in the main room when we were both getting ready. There is a table with a chair, but it sits at the end of the bed such that when one person is sitting, the other can not cross from one side of the room to the other. The room has only a two drawer chest in the closet (which is good size), but no other furniture w/ drawers. The bed was comfy, the balcony was a great view and gave access to fresh air. The room had easy access via stairs to Bell Tower Lounge on 5 that was awesome for sunsets. Bathroom was good size with walk in shower. Amenities included small cube fridge, K-cup coffee maker, and free bottles of water, small chocolates at night. The hotel itself is perfectly situated for walking access to the plaza, Canyon Rd., and all the associated restaurants, museums, and galleries. There is a good jogging path close by. We parked a car one night ($15) and had in/out privileges. Wireless worked great, was free. Pool was in a tight courtyard and was smallish. All staff were very good, especially front desk when we wanted to check in early. Concierge helped us a few times, very cordial and informative. Did not eat on site, but heard from others it was very good. Would go back if I had to be in SF again.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing Water St., only 404-408 (I think) have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rylie2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This property is the best place to stay in Santa Fe New Mexico- you are walking distance to everything-best restaurants, fabulous shopping and all the sites on the To Do list. The restaurant in the hotel is wonderful for breakfast before your tours and shopping. Delicious fresh food and reasonable prices. The Roof Top Bar is fantastic- views of all of Santa Fe while having the highest rated Margarita in all of Santa Fe. Try the guacamole with the delicious tortilla chips!
The rooms have new beds and beautiful linens. Service was excellent and the room rates were reasonable. Loved it. A must stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Sized bed- the larger rooms seem to be on the first floor and there is a huge ADA roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I went this weekend for our anniversary and we couldn't have been happier! The room was cozy and clean. Our room overlooked the pool which was very cute. We went down that night, my only complaint would be that the hot tub didn't "bubble". We couldn't have had a better location on the Plaza. We were able to walk EVERYWHERE!! When it came to the accommodations in the hotel we really only went up the the bell tower. It was beautiful up there, but it was very busy and we didn't receive the best service. If you're not a morning person just remember that there are a lot of different churches in the plaza and we were up by 8:00 am by church bells on Sunday morning. There is a great Keurig coffee bar in the room. And a delicious french pastry shop downstairs. I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We loved our recent visit to La Fonda, mostly because of the location. We were able to walk everywhere and it was great to be so centrally located! The hotel has been recently renovated and we had a great room. It was very clean; in fact, this hotel cleans the phones and remote controls in the rooms which we knew because they were wrapped in cloths when we first got to our room. Also, our room was on street level and I was very concerned about street noise but the glass must be very thick because we didn't hear a thing when the windows were closed. The service was more than fine but I didn't feel that any staff members were going out of their way for us. I must acknowledge though that we were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel did have a bottle of champagne chilled and waiting for us in our room when we checked in which was a nice touch. Housekeeping needs to work on consistency as we never knew how many towels we would find from day to day, whether or not we would have chocolates at night, whether our soap would be replenished, etc. although they did respond quickly when we needed extra towels on the days that we didn't get enough. To end this review on a very positive note, be sure to visit the roof top bar for excellent views and a relaxing start to your evening plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing