We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For that special trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“For that special trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday, and it couldn't have been more charming. This place is unusual in its history and decor. There is original artwork throughout, including the rooms. Like visiting a bygone age, except with modern equipment. True to its tradition as a fine southwestern inn, La Fonda is warm and welcoming, yet also luxurious. There is not another hotel like this one anywhere I have ever stayed. The room ran about $240 a night, so I would stay there on a special occasion like this one. Right on the corner of the old plaza and within walking distance of the restaurants and museums nearby. On premises parking garage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneDeA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    406
    105
    46
    40
See reviews for
300
816
83
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angola, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice clean and interesting. Good lounge food and entertainment. Fine dining was also nice. Concierge very helpful. Super busy and yet staff was friendly and easy going. We really enjoyed the band in the lounge. Easy parking in basement garage. Right in the very heart of town. Historic area and building. Room was very nice, perfectly clean, and recently renovated. Well decorated room. Comfortable bed. Rooms are moderate size as one finds in any elegant old downtown hotel, but that was not an issue in any respect. The entire downtown area is full of fascinating things to do and stellar shopping. Plenty of things to see as one strolls the streets. Will most certainly select again if return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a fabulous vacation at this wonderful old hotel. The central location is perfect and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Concierge services were best I've ever experienced. I look forward to staying here again when we next visit.

Room Tip: Different room types available. Some rooms have nice views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a whirlwind trip through northern New Mexico and spent one night in Santa Fe at the La Fonda. I had been in Santa Fe years ago and wanted to stay there. This is a very old hotel (1923) and a hotel has been on this site since the 1600's. It is old but very modern on the inside. The rooms were clean, spacious, with a very nice seating area. The bathrooms look like they have been updated in the last few years. We asked for a none feather few room and got it. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of nice shops in the lobby and close to very thing on the square. Don't miss the sunset from the Bell Tower, nice breeze, great view and a good selection of drinks. It can get a little crowded but tables open pretty quickly. Worth the wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

stayed at this hotel in may 2014, rooms were small but very well done, service was great. right in the center of the plaza. hotel was decorated with local artists art, sculptures, paintings etc.
loved the hotel. only one thing I would like to see improve is parking for hotel guest. they shouldn't be paying for parking

Room Tip: take a room facing the plaza with that tiny balcony, makes the big difference stayed in 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute trip. The hotel was almost full so the room we acquired was one of the smaller ones at the facility. Newly remodeled, well maintained and very quiet! We enjoyed the entire stay, taking advantage of the lounge, the restaurant and the concierge. The breakfast and dinner food was excellent, and the margaritas were terrific.
The hotel is on the Plaza, and parking was included. We did not need to move the car until we were ready to leave, as the shopping, museums, galleries and restaurants were all within easy walking distance. My only gripe was that the pool was not open until 10:00am. I was hoping to enjoy the pool while my wife slept in. The exercise equipment was available however.
We have tried other hotels in Santa Fe, but this is one we would repeat.

Room Tip: Book early. Most rooms are more spacious than the one we had, but the hotel has been recently remod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannokNakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location on the historic plaza. Parking is very hard to find in this area, so having access to the hotel parking garage is a big benefit. Our room #266 was in the newly remodeled section of hotel. The room was extremely small, barely enough room to walk around; however, the bed was extremely comfortable, had a lot of good pillows and nice linens. The bathroom had a very nice tile walk-in shower. The sink/fixtures were high-end and the lighting was good in the bathroom. The bath towels were large and newer. The TV reception was horrible, fuzzy on all channels. There was a Keurig coffee maker, mini fridge and complimentary bottles of water replenished every day. A lot of easy to access outlets for charging; however, no USB outlets. I was concerned it might be noisy in the room as it was surrounded by hotel offices and had a window to the street; however, it was very quiet. The room was clean and housekeeping came every day in a timely manner; however, the bathroom amenities were never replenished throughout our visit (four nights).
The hotel bar had excellent food (we ate there for dinner) and live country dance music every night. There were many of the same local people at the bar dancing each night in addition to hotel guests. The hotel restaurant also had excellent food - we ate there for breakfast.
This was an expensive hotel, but I believe it's prices are similar to similar properties on the plaza area.

Room Tip: As for a room in the remodeled section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gogogoyaknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing