We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming hotel with a few quirks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with a few quirks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at La Fonda hotel recently. The hotel was full of New Mexico charm. The room was small, but comfortable. There was a refrigerator in the room that was helpful for keeping some drinks cold. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. There were a few quirks though. The housekeeping staff forgot to replenish the coffee and water (a MUST for the dry climate) in the room. I am not certain that I would return to Santa Fe though. Although many of the people were friendly on the surface, if they don't like you, they can be just plain rude. I smoke, and the lady in the gift shop let me know clearly that she disapproved, and made it difficult to purchase cigarettes. I was traveling with an Asian friend from SE Asia who purchased over $150 of trinkets for his friends from a general store. When he asked the lady a question about the charge on his receipt, she told him she was busy and it is self-explanatory. Finally, in a grocery store, a local person came up behind us and uttered racial slurs directed at him. I was certainly embarrassed for the way they treated a guest in this country, and the combined experiences certainly marred the Santa Fe experience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DAW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    424
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
317
854
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights during a conference. From the Santa Fe airport, it's about a $50 taxi / $15 shuttle ride. There aren't always taxis outside the airport (and it takes taxis about 20 minutes to get out to the airport) so plan ahead.

Staff is very friendly and food (catered for our meetings) was very good.

Rooms are nice, but a bit small (mostly because of furniture placement).

I had a room on the 4th floor under the "Tower Bar" It was incredibly noisy in the early evening. People moving chairs over tile floors is way louder than you would think. I thought it was thunder at first. If I came back, I would check in advance about avoiding the rooms in this area.

Hotel seems to be in the middle of everything. Very convenient if you're visiting historic Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaneB588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a very nice property. It had obviously been renovated recently, but the staff was great. You cannot beat the location and being able to park your car in a garage next door for only $15 made it even better. You almost have too many choices for restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in rm 404 and had a small balcony. Opened the door in the morning and let the fresh air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relaxedmaninaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had checked out La Fonda on a previous visit to Santa Fe, but never stayed there before. We knew we were going to try it out on our next visit, and we were not disappointed. Our deluxe queen bed room was spacious. All the amenities were there. The staff was courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant and bar were lively and the food and drinks were great! The decoration in the room and throughout the hotel was updated but very much in keeping with the history and culture of the hotel and the area. Do ask for feather pillows upon arrival. They will add to your comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We chose this lovely old hotel for its location, adjacent to the cathedral and historic plaza. You can roll right out of bed and be surrounded by museums, history, galleries, and southwestern charm recently remodeled, La Fonda retains it's artsy, somewhat funky vibe, with the added plus of good, functional modern utilities, nice restaurants, a great rooftop bar, and interesting shops. There is no bathtub, but the fixtures in the bathroom are new and nice, the only real negative is an uncomfortable bed and pillows like rocks. Still, I'd stay there again to sample the vibe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles/Tarzana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Walking town. Centrally located. Parking not convenient, no valet at this time.
Nice city, but two days is more than enough unless you are there for a special event.
Lacks space to put cosmetics in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed at La Fonda for two weeks for a conference. Every detail from the hand painted headboards to the tin-framed light switches was really superb--all in keeping with the Southwest character. Even the parking garage had pole paintings!. So inspiring walking around the hotel every day and seeing the beauty everywhere. Kudos to the decorator! I must praise the staff, as well, who did a great job seeing to our needs and wishes. Daniel, the bellman, was very gracious in helping us get some supplies to our rooms, Rebecca was ever-so-helpful at the concierge's desk, and Andrew was a very attentive server in the restaurant. Thank you all for helping us to have a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denverdelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing