We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Fonda just keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Fonda just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've always loved this hotel! Every time I stay in a different room and each has its own character, personality, art and furnishings. One thing they've all shared is an insanely comfortable bed -- so conducive to a great night's sleep! The staff is just so friendly and helpful -- everyone at the front and concierge desks and in the shops (especially Sophie!) makes guests feel welcome and like they're an old friend. I love the Fiesta Lounge for a nightcap, but the newly renovated Bell Tower bar is THE place to enjoy famous Santa Fe sunsets. They've just added fire pits too -- perfect when the nights are a little cooler. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoncalling518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    465
    110
    47
    38
See reviews for
349
955
89
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I visit Santa Fe frequently and stay at the La Fonda. The hotel had a rich history and excellent management. The staff are friendly and efficient and the location is perfect if you want to be near the plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowtreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This room is under the "bell tower" which is a bar, with people shuffling and moving chairs and tables around on a tile floor. EXTREMELY loud, our dogs thought it was thunder and were fearful. They offered to move us, but I had spent 20 minutes unpacking. If it continues for much longer, I will have to change rooms. VERY ANNOYING and not very well thought out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawniree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

A great place to unwind with a night cap before enjoying a goodnight chocolate or a great place to get a little exercise on the dance floor at the La Fiesta Lounge before bed. Enjoy a spectacular view of Santa Fe from the View on the roof while sipping a Margarita or a glass of wine with a tapa or two. Very friendly staff from reception to wait staff to concierge, newly refurbished beautiful rooms which still retain the original flavor of La Fonda. What's not to enjoy? La Fonda is the perfect location for galleries, shopping, cooking class and all within walking distance. We parked the car and didn't get back into it until the day we left. Our stay at La Fonda was perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Just remember when you close the shower curtain be sure the loop goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmosca52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We arrived earlier than expected (midday) and our allotted room was not ready. No problem. We were immediately upgraded to a concierge room with a vast private balcony. Nothing was too much trouble for the experienced staff. The room was a delight. It came with breakfast included, which we took in their colourful restaurant. That was the only small disappointment. I would rather have ordered from the menu and paid for it as the offering wasn't up to the hotel's otherwise exemplary standards. Overall tho -- highly recommended.

Room Tip: See if you can swing an upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently stayed at La Fonda for 2 weeks. The hotel is lovely, comfortable and well located. The service at La Fonda was incredible. From check in at the front desk, through many meals in the hotel, room service, concierge, bell staff and check out...without exception the service was second to none. In particular Daniel Martinez was always available to help, always pleasant, always smiling...though in fairness I could not find one employee of this property who did not demonstrate a similar level of exceptional service. The French Patisserie off of the Lobby was terrific...service was great and the French pastries and coffee a daily must! I had many meals at both the Restaurant and Bar during my stay and the food was always excellent and service impeccible. The Margaritas are the best! I would highly recommend La Fonda and certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelerJL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Staying at La Fonda allows one to really experience the rich history of this amazing old city called Santa Fe. You can't go wrong with getting a room here as the place is eye candy for all things New Mexico from the fantastic artwork to the authentic building itself. While the place has been remodeled it still has much charm with modern efficiencies.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being on the second floor in a two double bed room which allow easy access directly up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing