We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What a beautiful place with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cobargo, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been in Santa Fe for the last two weeks for a conference and have found the hotel a beautiful comfortable home away from home, the staff have been helpful and kind with young Daniel the bellhop outstanding in his kindness and humour helping deliver groceries around the hotel. A inspiring experience. I recommend it to anyone who wants a genuine experience of a beautiful city and people.

Room Tip: The bed are very comfortable and twin share beds are huge. Warm and snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    405
    105
    46
    40
See reviews for
299
813
83
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

this was our 4th visit to the La Fonda, 1st since the renovations, the up grades to the rooms were terrific......we choose this hotel for its great location (on the Plaza) its very attentive staff that always exceeds our expectations, add in great food....it is our hotel of choice we visit Santa Fe

You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COWTOWNDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at La Fonda a number of times over the years and have never been disappointed. The hotel is a complete experience in its own right due to having so many enchanting and first rate attractions. The main restaurant is beautifully appointed with the best breakfast food and service in Santa Fe. There is a charming and delicious coffee shop that serves French pastries along with fresh brewed coffee drinks. There is also a small book and magazine shop, indoor and outdoor bars, and many fine shops. The History of La Fonda going back to the Harvey Girl era of the early 1920's is well preserved and illustrated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Came from Australia to a conference at LA Fonda being a first visit to USA and the service has been amazing. Danny on the desk, Daniel and Reuben with the luggage,the concierges Rebecca and maryanne, Mary who organised a new fridge, nothing is too much for them to help you. I don't want to leave.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Emdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We finally stayed here for one night, having for years visited the hotel to use their parking or to pass through and visit the shops. Overall, a good first stay, the ambiance is wonderful and the hotel is nicely appointed. The room was small for the price (romance package), but cozy and we were on the 2nd floor, south side of the building, with a view of Loretto Chapel. I like to crack the hotel window for fresh air at night, but the noise from the garbage collection on the street in the early morning
woke me up and forced me to close it. The shower is small but you can move the extra towels and blow dryer in the recessed shelves into the closet outside the door to make room for your toiletries. I loved the Antica Farmacista Grapefruit toiletries
samples--just a wonderful, clean scent. The blow dryer was just fine for me (an earlier reviewer commented about it), but some of the outlets in the room were a little wonky. The room seemed too cramped for the complimentary breakfast in room, so we ate at La Plazuela, which we had dinner at the night before. Very delicous food and a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere.

Only one thing I found not to my liking: dogs are allowed at this hotel and there were several seen in the lobby, one that was barking at passers-by and a kind of intimidating. Sitting or sleeping where dogs have been just doesn't do it for me (see some of the visitor's photos). I think the hotel should allocate at least a few rooms--and nice ones, too--that are pet free for those who are allergic to them. If there is a next time, I'll be sure to check with them for a pet-free room, if they're available.

We didn't use the spa or pool, but took a look at them and they seemed nice. Lots of cool shops inside the facility and many more on the plaza, plus an easy walk to several museums and the Basilica of St. Francis. If I stay here again, will probably try to find a coupon special and get a room on a higher floor with a fire place and balcony. The Terrace rooms look really nice. So many nice hotels and B&Bs for the same price in SF, though I think you should at least try this one once for the historical factor and the proximity to the Plaza. The employees were friendly and attentive, and again, a nice historical vibe here that can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alpha_Cen_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Drove to Santa Fe from Denver on a quick weekend trip with my two daughters 14 and 10. The location is excellent. Right next to the Loretto Chapel and The Historic Plaza. The Staff and service was excellent. Rooms were very clean and the food was fantastic- although the food everywhere in Santa Fe is so good. There is a great little French bakery/cafe inside the hotel for breakfast and lunch. Very fresh and portion sizes are perfect. This hotel is a dog friendly hotel and they greeted our dog with a toy and treats and literature on dog sitting services and dog friendly restaurants.
The only set back would have to be the pool and hot tub. But only because it's an old hotel and wasn't intended for a big modern pool. If you have little kiddos, they won't care but it is rather tiny.
There is a roof top bar to watch the sunset that I hear nothing but amazing things about- it wasn't open yet however I will go back to just catch that.
This is a historical little gem of a place. Santa Fe is a sleepy little town/village.. if you don't have patience then don't come here because the design of the city is old world ... walkers delight.. No city grid mentality here.
Great experience and I highly recommend this hotel!
It's easy to see why art and religion and history all come together in this special place.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is so old and soundly made- noise isn't a factor when in the room for the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion AR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed 5 days during March. Hotel & staff exceeded my expectations. Located almost across the street from the Plaza, great location. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, & comfy. Housekeeping was timely everyday. Concierge very helpful with answering questions. Main dining room was not only a showplace but served exquisite meals (try the pecan Belgian waffles). The on location lounge was upscale & provided great live music. The history & beauty of the hotel in itself is a reason to stop by. But to stay as a guest was awesome. Will be returning. La Fonda only added to the reasons I love Santa Fe !!

Room Tip: Ask about the free 'Santa Fe pick up' shuttle service to get around town. Also the local bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing