We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful time at La Fonda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at La Fonda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My new husband and I honeymooned in Santa Fe from South Carolina, and stayed at La Fonda. We were very impressed with the hotel. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about restaurants etc. in the area. Our room was very nice, and we liked that the artwork was unique to each room. We loved the history behind the hotel as well. La Fonda is so much nicer as a destination than a typical chain hotel. The location is perfect as well, right on the plaza, within walking distance to more restaurants and shops than you could ever find time to go to. We look forward to our next trip to Santa Fe, and will definitely return to La Fonda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    436
    108
    48
    40
See reviews for
323
880
87
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

When you stay at La Fonda you are within easy walking distance to most everything in the downtown area which makes it a perfect location. The hotel has been updated but the rooms are small, including the bathrooms and the views not so great. Exceptions are the roof top penthouse rooms which are more spacious and have amazing balconies overlooking Santa Fe. Go for it if cost is not a restraint. The updated decor in the rooms is lovely and the beds very very comfortable but do not expect any significant room space unless you are in the penthouse level rooms. The roof top bar is wonderful for drinks and appetizers for sunsets!!

Room Tip: Higher floors or penthouse level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbrzezenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Santa Fe for the first time, and found La Fonda by accident. From the desk clerk, to waiters, house staff and bartenders, there is not a finer place that we have stayed. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we came back to be married in Santa Fe, and spend time and dine at La Fonda. Excellent food, great service, and the accommodations were spectacular. We cannot wait to come back and dine and share a margarita in the bell tower lounge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at La Fonda while in town for business and a conference. They have recently remodeled and updated facets of the building...beautiful colors. The staff here make the stay more enjoyable each time I stay here. From the front desk to the maid service and the staff in the cocktail lounge. Ate a couple of meals here and food was very good. Many local attractions are within walking distance and the night life is all within a few blooks. Will continue to make this one of my favorite places in Santa Fe!

Room Tip: They have some nice corner rooms that look over the Plaza....just ask about them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights with two children, staff were very friendly and helpfull. The in house food was great and the attached french bakery had good coffee. The hotel itself has a great feel and attention to detail had me taking 100s of photos just inside. Its located in the heart of Santa Fe, which was a bonus and good for heading out to explore.

Helpful?
2 Thank jezr74
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had room 428, a suite. Three of us stayed in the room. It was a one bedroom suite with a balcony and separate living area with doors to close off the living area. There was one full bath attached to the main bedroom and a half bath attached to the living area. The living area also had a pull out couch which I slept on and found comfortable enough. One complaint from one of the people staying in the main bedroom was that the bed was of the very high variety and there was no step provided to assist in getting in/out (many places with high beds provide a step).

The Bell Tower Bar is very popular--we attempted to go, but couldn't get a seat and didn't want to stand, so instead we ended up enjoying our our balcony.
We dined in the restaurant, La Plazuela and enjoyed that (separate review).

The hotel is very centrally located, right off the Plaza and walking distance to most everything. I would stay there again if in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel many years ago and loved it, so we thought we would stay there on this trip. The hotel had just completed a complete renovation. We loved loved loved how the rooms were decorated. The southwest style was done in great taste, from the furniture to the decor. The location of this hotel cannot be beat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing