We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location, Clean rooms, friendly staff, not a chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, Clean rooms, friendly staff, not a chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There are more expensive and cheaper hotels to stay near the plaza, but I think La Fonda may be the best combination of nicely appointed clean rooms at a reasonable price. That's not to say that it's an economy hotel--quite the contrary. It is pleasant and hits all the right notes. Even so, I walked away feeling like I overspent, which has come over me at other hotels in this area.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inward toward the pool and parking garage (which is adobe and well-screened), some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THX1138A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    424
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
317
855
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The view from La Fonda's rooftop at sunset is, as you would expect, incredible. Unfortunately, everyone else in town has the same idea. Those who didn't arrive early enough to snag a table wander around sticking their digital cameras in front of your face to get their photos. The service is good but the food is just okay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I had previously stayed at the El Dorado and really enjoyed it. Rooms weren't available for this trip, so we choose La Fonda. It was nice. It's clear that they recently updated the rooms and they were enjoyable.

The bathroom updates were beautiful to look at, but not user friendly. There's no place to put your bathroom stuff. No counters at all. That part was frustrating. And I hate the "no door" shower. But I understand what they were going for, and for what they were going for, it's nice.

I also wasn't a fan of all the shops and stores and restaurants throughout the first floor. This is simply a personal preference. There are so many people that really enjoy that - I just am not one of them. I know that it's a destination hotel and understand that it has such an amazing history as a place to meet up and enjoy a drink and a bite. it was just too many people ALL THE TIME for me. When I'm on vacation, I want my hotel to be a place to unwind, not have 1000 people wandering around the whole time, lol... Again, I'm very aware that this is my personal preference.

If you enjoy destination hotels, you'll love La Fonda. It has such a great and significant history tied into the heart of Santa Fe, you'll adore this place.

The staff were amazingly nice - someone even went out of their way to find me an umbrella when it suddenly settled into afternoon rain. :)

Stay here - you'll enjoy it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hgrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Set across from the main plaza, La Fonda stretches an entire city block in two directions. The first floor of the hotel is a concourse which runs internally through the length of the hotel, full of shops, a restaurant and bar. It’s traditional for sure, with that worn and comfortable feeling you’d expect from a hotel of this age and altho much of the hotel has been refreshed, there is nothing that feels too new or out of place although a downside for me was that the concourse was always bustling, and there was no serene place like a traditional lobby, with fireplace and giant leather chairs which I had expected, to sit and relax.

Access to the rooms occurs on long art filled corridors which weave from the reception, past the atrium restaurant and area back to the rooms themselves. The standard rooms I saw were the smallish side but perfectly updated and spotlessly clean, with a bed, in my case which was much too tall- I mean really high- I could not sit on the bed due to its height (and I am 5’-10” tall). The other room I saw had a more standard height bed and was very similar in décor. I quite liked the furnishings (mini fridge, coffee maker, safe and large flat panel TV), rug and newly updated bath altho again, there were minor irritations like the fact that altho the hotel has a water saving “green” program, towels left on the rod did appear to be changed with clean ones daily.

There were some disappointment with the hotel amenities. The pool which is located in an courtyard formed in part by the walls of the hotel and of a newer parking garage which for me, visually, was not appealing. The hot tub was so small that with a couple already there, another person even would have created an unwelcome crowd, and the fitness center was so tiny that every morning, someone had to turn away as all the machines were in use. A hotel this size really needs to up its game when it comes to fitness- there is nowhere to stretch (I wanted to use the pool deck but it was locked early morning) and the recess with the minute weight machine was so tight that there were damage marks on the walls from it. This certainly was a big disappointment.

Throughout the stay, everyone from the desk staff, to the concierges, to the restaurant and cleaning staff were all very friendly and accommodating- clearly well trained. If you are looking mainly for historical ambiance near the plaza, La Fonda would be a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was a Santa Fe resident for 10 years, and the "Inn at the End of The Trail" was always a place to shop, get a good meal, have a few drinks, and listen to whoever was providing music in the cantina. I relocated to Albuquerque, and now I treat myself to a stay at La Fonda at least twice a month for business and personal travel. The recent renovation is eye-popping. It enhances and updates the beautiful and historic qualities of the property, while providing an extremely comfortable setting equal to any 5 star property that I have visited. No other Santa Fe hotel is located on the Santa Fe Plaza, which is the heart beat of this treasured destination, and no hotel ANYWHERE captures the ambience of Santa Fe like La Fonda. The shops, the art and historic photos on the walls, the food, blue margaritas and people watching are a microcosm of the city and are unmatchable. If you visit Santa Fe and don't stay at (or at least visit) La Fonda you have short-changed yourself.

Room Tip: I have stayed on every floor. There are no losers. I like the convenience and decoration of the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel, but while visiting Santa Fe we stopped at La Fonda for drinks and appitizers. The appitizers were great - wish we were able to make it back to try their meals, but unfortunately, we weren't able to. If we go back to Santa Fe, we will try their dinner menue for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfor2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
428 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a fantastic experience! The accommodations are top notch! The renovated rooms are gorgeous, and the views from the terrace are breathtaking. In addition, the service offered by the staff is unrivaled. Every time I made a request of the front desk, they jumped to help assist. Furthermore, the manager Virginia is phenomenal. She goes above and beyond the responsibilities of her position in order to offer the best experience to all of her clients. The food at the restaurant is some of the best tex-mex I have ever tasted. Do not miss out on this experience! The hotel is centrally located to with easy access to the square and local historic sites. My only complaint (very minor) is the small size of the fitness center and the fact that the TV in it was not functioning. Despite this minor hiccup, I would jump at the chance to return! If you plan on visiting Santa Fe, this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank waverider681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing