We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on our way to Nashville.Loved every minute of our stay.The location is perfect, close to everything.The rooms are beautiful with every little detail being thought out.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    423
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
317
854
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

we had a drink at the bar, listened to music, shopped in the book store and gift shops and explored the artifacts and architecture on display. We should have booked a room earlier but it had no vacancies when we arrived. We were ready to leave a hotel out on the highway for a room at about the same price--to be in the heart of the old town. I've stayed here previously and the rooms lacked noise abatement--but the hotel is under refurbishment and should correct that deficiency.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is one of America's classic hotels. Currently a major renovation is underway and some facilities like the pool and rooftop lounge are not open. When booking a queen room early in the year for our May 23 arrival, I was given a very special rate to compensate for minor inconveniences. We were greeted immediately upon entering the adjoining garage, bags unloaded and given a VIP parking spot. A warm welcome ! The desk advised that we would be the first guests to check into a totally rebuilt room on the second floor, looking out on the Loreto Chapel. Beautiful custom furniture and fixtures, hand painted headboards by a local artist. Not a very large room but quite comfortable. This is THE place to stay in Santa Fe !





Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarpenterBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The La Fonda has anchored one end of the Plaza in Santa Fe for decades. It is a large hotel but with Southwest charm. The entire hotel is undergoing a complete restoration to be completed in August 2013. This includes major renovation of the guest rooms including fabulous hand-painted headboards on all beds, a La Fonda tradition. Rooms are not large as typical of older hotels but are quite comfortable. There is an excellent restaurant on premises as well as a casual cafe with music in the evenings and lunch buffet. A cocktail bar on the roof is open until sunset and served dynamite Margaritas.
Parking garage is attached and you are right in the middle of the action. Don't miss the fabulous chili pistachio chocolate bar from Senior Murphy's chocolate shop on the premises as well as the wonderful French pastry shop and lots of other high end stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the South side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. We stayed in a newly renovated suite and could not have been happier. Dillon, at the front desk did an outstanding job getting us a room for a few nights. He was professional, helpful, and made our stay wonderful. Thank you Dillon!! Please stay at this hotel......restaurant is fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LatteGirl947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful two room suite with a wood burning fireplace. A private balcony with a great view of the mountians and dowwntown Santa Fe. Walking distance to everything. Highly recommend for a trip to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

la Fonda is in the middle of renovation. A lot of the amenities (pool, exercise room, spa, roof bar, business office, etc. ) were not available. However, the dining room and bar areas were open and the ambiance and food were great.... lots of activity and music. Our room (5th floor) looked out over the Loretta Church and we could enjoy views of the church, the hillside vistas, and activities of the street vendors....Very relaxing. The room had been recently renovated and my wife Loved everything about it (that is important). I can't wait to see the hotel after all the renovations are completed. We always include a lunch or dinner at The Lafonda when we are in the area, however, this was the first time we ever stayed there and had a great time in spite of the renovation inconveniences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmtraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing