We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“under construction” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“under construction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here during a meeting. My room was very dark with hardly any day light. There is a lot of construction going on in the building, therefore there was a constant noise level during the day. There are better options in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    438
    108
    48
    40
See reviews for
323
885
87
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place has it all! Location couldn't be better - directly on the plaza. The rooms are perfectly new mexican. Staff is super friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The lobby is welcoming and cozy and going back to our room felt like home. I look forward to my next visit to Santa Fe and will definitely stay at La Fonda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

La Fonda on the Plaza is a treat for all the senses. Fine food, great personnel (especially Jeremy at the desk who helped us tremendously when we arrived late at night), and atmosphere with a capital 'A'. Loved being so close to the Plaza and its vendors. A nearby walk up Canyon Rd is good exercise for the body and your artistic senses. Don't miss sitting in La Fiesta lounge and enjoying the band and the locals who come in to dance. Busy but not crowded; no pressure if you just want to sit and sip and soak up the Santa Fe nightlife. At breakfast in La Plazuela order anything which has the ham shanks! Outstanding! La Fonda is a fine mix of history, art and hospitality. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
907 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nancy Helman was concierge during our stay in Santa Fe, at least at the time we were wondering about the next day's opportunities, and she, specifically, made a huge difference in the value of our time in the area: she provided information about the annual dances occurring on the plazas at San Ildefonso Pueblo - such a rare and interesting event to witness. She had helpful tips about road trips - such as the gorge up by Taos, the Santuario in Chimayo, the museum at Los Alamos and the caldera west of Los Alamos. She's a great asset to the hotel and its guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

but perhaps January is not the best time to enjoy all the amenities they offer. It was too cold to sit on our lovely terrace or soak in the hot tub (though we would have considered it if we'd remembered to bring swim suits...) We did enjoy the beautiful and generous complimentary fruit and cheese tray and champagne that were waiting for us when we returned to our room after checking in. And the view of the cathedral was wonderful. We didn't opt for room service breakfast, which was included in the rate, but instead were able to enjoy breakfast from the menu at La Plazuela dining room with the complimentary newspaper at our doorstep. The concierge in the Terrace area helped us find galleries we were interested in, and Steve Wimmer, the concierge on the main floor, was a wealth of information about Santa Fe and helped us plan our day trip to Las Vegas, Nevada. We loved our stay in the Terrace Room of La Fonda--the room was huge, with a sitting area, mini-refrigerator, complimentary coffee and waters, desk area, huge bathroom with tub and walk in shower for two, and of course wonderful bath amenities.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Terrace level rooms-expensive, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I visited Santa Fe in October, 2013. We had a wonderful vacation and one of the reasons is because of our stay at the La Fonda. It is located right on the plaza in historic Santa Fe. We were so happy to be able to walk right out of the hotel door and be in the middle of all the activities at the plaza. All the shops, restaurants and many of the historic sites were right there. All the hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you truly want to experience authentic Santa Fe you must stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. My room included a wood Kiva fireplace, a gorgeous Frida Kahlo-esque King size bed with sumptuous down duvet, hand painted folk art furniture and an enormous balcony with a view of the Cathedral...I was treated like a queen. As a woman travelling alone to attend an art seminar, I truly appreciated the kindness of the staff who got to know me during my 6 day visit. Kudos especially to Isabel who has worked in the tavern for more than 31 years. She loves her job and she spreads the joy. Music abounds everywhere in this hotel from nightly country swing or blues to a random jazz flavored mariachi band to the flute player who piped me home as I departed. The hotel is a gallery of never ending framed vintage photographs or posters or paintings...the Plazuela restaurant is a twinkling bit of magic with interior fountain and delicious food. Fires blaze in the many kivas throughout the hotel, in front of which invitingly deep club chairs beg to be sat upon...and where conversation is bound to erupt with strangers who are soon fast friends. Will I be back? Oh Yes! Thank you La Fonda for your graciousness and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for room 272
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing