We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed in a suite on the terrace. From the start,no bellman service from airport shuttle arrival to check in at front desk? Still no bellman to handle luggage to suite after check in?Private entrance card keys failed to open door. No concierge on the terrace level to let us in. Had to return downstairs to front desk to have card keys reissued. 2nd attempt to open terrace level still did not work! Had to return a 2nd time to front desk. Manager made new card keys and escorted us back to terrace level and card keys worked to gain access to terrace level but would not open room? Manager used master to gain access to room and had new keys made a 4th time. Large dead cockroach in bathroom light fixture on ceiling. Bathroom shutters would not close completely and at night time, anyone could see into bathroom from the wrap around balcony that was accessible to all terrace level guests,had to use bath towels to hang over windows. Draperies would not close completely on both sliding glass door entrances to balconies allowing morning sunlight to come in. White comforter on bed had large red stain, they replaced after I called manager to room since concierge was still not at terrace desk? Gas fireplace had no happy medium with flame,either to low for warmth and effect or to high giving off way to much heat. Had lobby concierge book dinner reservation in La Plazuela restaurant with table next to fountain. Not seated at reserved table,seated at table against wall close to another couple. Upon bringing to the restaurant managers attention,he did not have the best of attitudes or tone of voice in addressing my concerns about the reservation! Had to visit front desk once again and speak with main manager who made things right and offered apologies saying concierge forgot to book table next to fountain. Offered free deserts but I declined. Day three they finally had concierge in place at terrace level position which they advertise about. This concierge was in early 20's and not very knowledgeable,although very nice,she was uniformed about most galleries and museums. I got more information out of brochures. Day three saw the maintenance crew remove the dead cockroach from the light and try and fix the shutters which they failed to do. Upon checking out,hotel VP tried addressing concerns and offering to refund half of fees but she tried to do to little to late. I refused any refunds and was extremely disappointed at all levels of service,and once again no available bellman to handle luggage to other end of hotel to catch airport shuttle. Will never do business with this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank rob112261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    471
    113
    49
    40
See reviews for
363
994
92
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Before I booked a discounted price I called the hotel to see if the renovation it was undergoing would impact on our stay. I was assured that it would not. I asked about the restaurant, the lobby, the noise level, and anything else I could think of. They reported that there would be NO DISRUPTIONS. The second day we were there we received notice that there would be a scheduled shut down of all water to our room from 10am to 4pm. I guess I consider this a disruption! The desk personnel were very sorry, but there was nothing they could do. Although the written notice said that the shut down was SCHEDULED, the desk help said that even they had not known about it. I have stayed at LaFonda many times. It is one of my favorite hotels in the USA. This was a big disappointment to me. If they had told me about this when I called I would have made other hotel arrangements then. Generally excellent, but this time.....not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Marilyn,
We appreciate your loyalty to La Fonda and are pleased to know that we are one of your favorite hotels in the USA. We are sorry to hear of your recent experience. We make our best effort to ensure our staff has the very latest information regarding the renovation schedule, but as you might expect, there are many moving parts to a large project of this nature on an historic property and sometimes schedule changes occur that we haven't anticipated far in advance. We will work to better communicate the fluid nature of the project to guests taking advantage of our discounted rate. We do hope that you will return when the renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We celebrated my birthday by staying at the La Fonda. We had a lovely room with a fireplace and view of the cathedral. The La Fonda is a historic hotel and has a lot of charm and Santa Fe style. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abqcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel La Fonda in March 2012 on a girls' road trip through New Mexico. What a beautiful hotel! The lobby is gorgeous, and our room was beautiful as well. Very spacious and comfortable, with cute little touches of color, paint all over. The hotel is right in the middle of historic downtown and you can easily walk to shops and restaurants from here. There is also a parking garage next door, which we used. We also ate one night in the restaurant downstairs, and found the food to be delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLM_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

On the most fantastic trip of my life it was our luck to be helped by Dave the Bellman. We were just passing through on an extravagant celebration trip. The weather, the location and the mood were all perfect. Dave helped us out on arrival, and saved us SERIOUS time. We were able to enjoy mass on time, see all the incredible sights, and relax and enjoy our wonderful view and room in the whimsical snow that decided to bless us at the eventful hour. We'll always be back to La Fonda but take the extra step to ask for Dave the Bellman.

**** Eat at Arcos de la Frontera Buffet in the hotel !!!! (Even if you don't stay at La Fonda) *****
**** In La Plazuela Restaurant, Get the ROASTED CASHEW CAKE. OMG!! (and very light) ***** **** AWESOME. The scoops of ice cream in the restaurant are PERFECT! The ice cream melts in your mouth, but freezes the bottom of the spoon. The scoops are firm, frozen and fantastically creamy. Do it! Blood Orange Sorbet. AWESOME

Room Tip: La Terraza for a splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We did a getaway weekend to Santa Fe and the La Fonda. The hotel has some really great prices right now and we thought it would be fun. It was...
Our room was beautiful. A real wood-burning fireplace and a very comfortable bed. Some of the fixtures are dated, but they are doing renovations at the property and hopefully are addressing some of these minor points.
Like other hotels, one has to contend with stairs. Of course, there are bell services, but most folks just grit it and haul their bags...bang...bang...bang up and down the stairs. Nothing unusual in these older buildings.
I'd recommend this delightful hotel while the price is so right!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pestpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Santa Fe, and I planned our hotel stay months in advance due to our arrival just before the annual Indian Market. We loved our room in the Bell Tower section. From our balcony we viewed the low lying mountains, outdoor markets, and the Loretto Chapel. We even used the fireplace, in August!. I loved exploring the hallways filled with art and historic posters. Hotel staff were great, we enjoyed eating several delicious meals at the restaurant, and enjoyed relaxing with a drink in the Bell Tower Lounge. This hotel is filled with ambiance and conveniently located within walking distance to many cultural activities and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozlocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
582 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,327 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing