We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
eperk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was put in a room that was only about 10x10. They didn't inform me it was a smaller than average room, and they charged me full rate. Half of the baseboards were missing and had been painted over in an attempt to hide the damage. The carpets were stained, coming up at the edges, and the ceiling had damage - and those problems were both in my room and in common areas. I would have left immediately if not for having arrived after 9pm and being worried that I might not be able to find suitable accommodations at that hour.

Also, there was no valet parking, claimed to be dog friendly but the closest place they told me I could take my dog out was a trail 2-3 blocks away, and was extremely noisy in both the evening and morning. Their spa doesn't do manis or pedis. And room service was served cold.

I immediately checked out the next morning (with no apology and minimal rate adjustment) and went to try my luck at El Dorado, who took pity on my circumstances, gave me a half price rate for the inconvenience La Fonda caused, waived the pet fee, and was phenomenal all the way around. During my stay, a few random store owners asked where I was staying and got the whole story. Three indicated they had heard similar issues before.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank eperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    438
    108
    48
    40
See reviews for
323
885
87
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at La Fonda (23rd & 24th of December), and we couldn't be more pleased. The location was ideal, and the hotel itself was quaint, warm, cozy & vintage- yet not falling apart, we had everything we needed in our room. The staff were very friendly, especially Brenda & Jeremy at the front desk & the concierge, Nancy, was incredibly helpful and provided assistance with last minute dinner reservations and tips on how early to arrive for the Christmas Eve midnight mass service.
The restaurant food was authentic & delicious, and we also ordered room service Christmas morning which arrived earlier than promised despite how busy the restaurant was preparing for the Christmas brunch.
We were very pleased with the stay, and will definitely try and stay here again next time we come to Santa Fe. Although we don't have children yet, the hotel appears to be very family friendly and wouldn't hesitate to come back with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family and I have stay at the La Fonda every time we visit Santa Fe which is usually several times a year. We like to stay on the La Terraza floor. On our last stay we were thoroughly disappointed by the lack of respect shown to us by most of the management. After failing to honor the original room price they quoted us, the preceded to talk down to us like children. Even the general manager could not give us an explanation as to why our rooms were more expensive than our friend's room who stayed the exact same time and booked a year in advance as we did. We are saddened that the hotel suffers from extremely poor management. Needless to say we are going to try a new hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Jamiekdow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
La Fonda on the Plaza’s greatest asset is the loyalty of our guests. I’d like to sincerely thank you for your return business year after year. Rates do change throughout the year, so there very well could have been a difference between your friend’s room rate and yours. I apologize for the confusion and hope that we have the opportunity to host you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an older property, but it has much charm. Handpainted furniture, cozy rooms, great beds and pillows linen. Bathrooms are small, but okay. Service is wonderful. We did not have internet access for almost an entire day, for some reason, and we were given a comp dinner - from appetizers and drinks to an excellent entree', dessert and coffee. The main restaurant is great. The cafe offers a lunch buffet with delicious Mexican food. There is also a wonderful pastry shop/coffee house. You can walk everywhere from La Fonda. It's so central! We are definitely going back. Staff impressed us! Power went out for a couple of hours and the staff made sure everyone was okay, were apologetic (apparently when it rains, that part of Santa Fe has some issues with power from time to time). All in all, a great stay. We were told by friends that La Fonda could be 'noisy', but we did not experience that at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozarkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I went to Santa Fe for Georgia O;Keeffe's 125th birthday. La Fonda had a special for 5 days which they had emailed me as I was on their email list. They keep track of potential guests. Good idea.
They are on the main plaza and extremely convenient. From check-in to check-out , they were great. Professional. Room was excellent, clean, great bathroom and decorated in good southwest design. That 'package' special included a full breakfast in the main dining room. I ate most dinners there also and the food was excellent. Wait staff great and friendly. The decor is georgeous and tasteful Southwest. There were lots of families.I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This wonderful and historic hotel is right (RIGHT) in the center of downtown Santa Fe. You will love the location and the walk-to everything was fabulous. We enjoyed our room which wasn't huge but had plenty of space, and had a wonderful historic feel. The bathroom was great, and even though they are going through rennovations, it was fabulous. We had a spectacular dinner right in the hotel and loved it. We also had breakfast in the restaraunt, and it exceeded expectations as well. Just lovely. DOn't miss it.

Room Tip: We had room 408-- 4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Good location in the hotel and a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had a business trip into Santa Fe and decided to stay at the LaFonda again....great stay like last time. Rooms were clean and comfortable....small bathroom, but it's is part of the history of the place. Front desk is very helpful, didn't eat in the restaurant, but looked like it had a full house. Grabbed a burger and a beer while watching the country western band and dancers. Very good food and good staff. Will continue to make this one of my stops when in town.

Room Tip: Ask about the room that looks out over the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing