We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This place is amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is such an awesome place to stay. The service was great, the rooms were so comfortable and clean. My dad's cousin had her wedding there so that's why we stayed there. But the venue was beautiful for both ceremony and reception. The food... spectacularly delicious! We were served steak, mashed potatoes, and green beans. I didn't hear one complaint about ANYTHING! Amazing amazing location to stay! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone that visits Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecFelix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    437
    108
    48
    40
See reviews for
323
881
87
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel while visiting Santa Fe. We checked the rates and they were very reasonable, much more reasonable than we thought it would be. Everything was great. The hotel is very old, well kept and totally quaint.

It really gave us a feel for the Santa Fe area. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely pleasant and made you feel welcome.

The only downside was that we had to leave and couldn't spend another night and enjoy not only the hotel but the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kruzinkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

No complaints for La Fonda. We've now stayed there twice, each time in November...a lovely time to visit Santa Fe! I love the farolitos along many of the downtown building walls. Santa Fe with a dusting of snow is lovely too. This trip we had no snow, just lovely sunny days and crisp nights. La Fonda remains a wonderful location and a very comfortable hotel full of character. I'm curious what is going to be renovated in the next year or so. I hope they keep all the folk art paintings in the rooms and halls!!!

We had a balcony room this time, facing Loretto Chapel. Beautiful location. The streets are quiet, noise did not bother us at all. Previously we'd also been on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool and with a side view to the cathedral. I like being on the 3rd floor. We did have noisy neighbors one evening. The walls weren't as thick as I had thought they were! Normally we do not hear neighbors so these two may have been especially loud. Or drunk.

We especially love that the outdoor pool and hot tub are kept open in winter. What a treat! Also appreciate the included wireless internet. The $12 fee for parking isn't too steep, and when compared to other destination cities, very low. We didn't eat at any of the locations within the building this time. The main restaurant's food smelled and looked very good. There was a fun band playing in the lounge one evening as well, though no dancing for me this trip. Next time!

Room Tip: I enjoy having a high floor. A balcony room is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-and-J-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

You can pay more in Santa Fe I suppose, but why?
The La Fonda is *the* historical hotel and you're right on the plaza.
Wonderful staff, excellent dining, and the rooms are spic-and-span... And quiet.
You will find excellent entertainment most evenings.
Plus the La Fonda manages subtle incorporation of modern convenience.
This is the local's favorite - authentically Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnumsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We like older hotels with "charm" and this one has both those qualities. In addition, it is pet friendly, and that plays a big part in our choosing a hotel. When we arrived with our well mannered, medium-sized dog (none of that "under 20 lb." stuff), I was asked to sign a well written "pledge" to insure our dog was not left in the room barking or causing any disturbance. Then they presented her with a gift bag with a very nice toy and hand made dog-treat! All three of us were delighted from that point on!
The linens were very nice and the room was appointed with hand painted furniture that that a very Southwest feel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We sat by one of the fireplaces on evening and enjoyed short chats with other guests.
We got a good online price and in a town of lovely inns, would say this one still ranks highl

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This an oldie but googy hotel. Located downtown on the plaza in Santa Fe, it has history as well as ambience. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful, and the restaurants found both in and near the hotel are excellent. Did I mention that the staff are professional, helpful and pleasant? We have lived in Santa Fe for 40 years, but this was our first time spent as lodgers in La Fonda. Highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Plaza or of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we walked in the foyer, we felt special. The southwest decor is fantastic; the front desk staff are pleasant and helpful; the location right on the plaza is exceptional; the rooms are neat and tidy; the La Fonda restaurant food is delicious, and there's a covered garage for your car. We happened to get a package that included breakfast and free parking at a special room rate and we definitely know we got our money's worth. My husband and I enjoyed our stay tremendously and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gailzmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing