We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Viva La Fonda - simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Viva La Fonda - simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had no idea we'd booked on the opening weekend of Fiesta. Entering the hotel the first thing we saw was a Mexican wedding parade through the lobby complete with a full mariachi band. Upon check-in we learned that the hotel was 100% booked and there were three more weddings planned for the weekend. We didn’t panic but did begin to imagine all the things that might go wrong with our stay. We travel a lot and usually stay at high-end properties and resorts. I can say that even some of our favorite places would have succumbed to the demands this kind of capacity places on a property. Not so La Fonda. The moment we arrived in the garage Dave Robinson capably ushered us and our bags with grace and a smile on his face. The front desk assured us everything was ready and even called after we’d checked in to make sure our deluxe king room was satisfactory. Concierge Nancy Helman was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and able to provide information on day trip outings, restaurants and even arrange a sunset pedi bike tour even though the company was just about to close its doors for the evening. Unless you know of or have a particular favorite restaurant in Santa Fe, I’d recommend dining at La Plazuela in the La Fonda. Their prices are more than reasonable and the food was some of the best we had.
All in all, my wife and I give La Fonda a big thumbs up. It may be a bit more expensive than other properties but you can’t beat the location, nothing else is even close …. literally, by at least two blocks.

Room Tip: Save on the travel guide, the concierge at La Fonda can tell you more than the book. Regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a complimentary review. You really did experience a vibrant and bustling scene at La Fonda over the weekend – we hosted five festive wedding celebrations and were operating at full capacity. I’m just thankful that our talented staff thrives during these busy circumstances, and I’m glad that you and your wife were extended such fantastic service during your stay. And, thank you for promoting our award-winning restaurant, La Plazuela. It really is a relaxing place to enjoy excellent cuisine in a uniqueatmosphere. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    424
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
317
855
86
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I just got back from a weekend in Santa Fe and had such an incredible time. Mostly it was because of the experience I had staying at La Fonda. Our reservation was somehow booked at their sister property in Prescot, Arizona. What could have turned out to be a negative experience, was handled incredibly by Brenda at the front desk. She not only got us a room (which seemed nearly impossible since the place was packed), but offered so much great advice on what to see and do in the area. She went above and beyond what either of us expected. She even arranged to have a bottle of champagne sent to our room (since she knew it was my birthday). There are so many beautiful hotel properties in Santa Fe, but I will definitely recommend La Fonda to everyone I know based off the top-notch customer service of Brenda. She deserves a big bonus for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hostelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Never stayed at the La Fonda, but visited it several tomes before.to eat, hang around, etc. It really was a great place, and the location couldn't have been better. The only hitch was at check in. I was told that the price agreed on would be 20% extra for "incidentals." Well, I didn't use any incidentals, so the bill at check out was the agreed on price. Other than that, We really enjoyed the La Fonda, and all that it represented. Give yourseld a big taste of the old world and give it a try. The La Fonda is well worth a shot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_steeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time at La Fonda on the Plaza. It began from our very first greeting by David Robinson, Bellman extraordinaire, who warmly greeted us in the onsite parking garage and expertly handled the many bags which my parents and my mother-in-law had packed. (His generosity of spirit continued throughout the three-night stay, even to the point of handing us off to one of his compatriots during his day off for our checkout. Well done, David, and thanks again!) The food in their restaurant was outstanding, the service terrific, the Margaritas at their rooftop bar lived up to Tom's claims as best in the city, and even the recommendations of off-site dining were all over-the-top! Many thanks to all of the staff for a most pleasurable stay and, on behalf of my Mom, a most memorable return visit to the La Fonda!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

So many places to see,people to meet and things to do! June 9-13,2012 was our second trip to Santa Fe,New Mexico. This part of our country should be on a must see list, and while there, your stay should be at La Fonda on the Plaza! We highly recommend the Terrace at La Fonda.Even though it is a little extra cost,it is well worth it! This jewel was hundreds of years in the making so we are planning our third trip to soak up more of its uniqueness! Special thank yous to James our bellman,Jonathan at the front desk,Rebecca Hammer our concierge,Adrian Montoya our director of guest services, and all hotel and restaurant personnel for our memorable stay. To Ernest Martinez --you are amazing, and we hope to meet you in person next trip! For all travelers out there-seeing is believing! Dan and Barbara, Zachary,La.

Room Tip: Terrace level is a great upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Room was small but we still enjoyed our stay. I'm not pleased about being charged $12 for my car being parked in their garage for one night. We enjoyed the view from the ell tower. Shoppers to the area will need plentyof cash.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Willzsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The ideal Santa fe
Location walk to almost everythin g museums shopping quaint decorating but nothing more is needed unique southwestern flavor nice restaurant great rooftop bar terrific margaritas. Helpful concierge

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjyoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing