We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic room and hot tub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic room and hot tub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at La Fonda. We had a room up on the upper level where there is a hot tub. It was a beautiful view of Santa Fe from our balcony and the church right next door! The breakfast was so good. Everything was really great. I had only one bad experience and that was with a woman that was working in the gift shop at the time we were on vacation. She was really rude, and I was so stunned I couldn't speak. I went back the next day though and talked to another woman working there about my experience with her. All in all, it was an extremely good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    418
    106
    48
    40
See reviews for
314
836
86
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Excellent service staff including ----- JEREMY, ELENA, MR MARTINEZ, JANET, RACHEL, WINNERS, Excellent in both dining rooms..... We enjoyed our stay.... one note ---- housekeeping needs to make sure bathroom items are replenished daily --- soaps, shampoo, etc

Room Tip: Be mindful that dogs are allowed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyle_TexasBobbyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our recent trip is worthy of some comments:
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. Specifically we want to commend the following staff members for their courtesy and efficiency during our stay.
Brenda - desk
Rachel - desk
Jeremy - desk
Elena - server
Janet - server
Mr Martinez - baggage
Omar
Thanks to all of you ---- including the names of some that I have forgotten..

Two points of a negative nature --- housekeeping had to be reminded to leave fresh soap in our room daily...

Room Tip: Be mindful of the fact that pets allowed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Whether you are a Santa Fe veteran or a first-timer to the city, the La Fonda is a must. The service is exceptional - folks went above and beyond to make me and my pup companion comfortable (for dogs, they even had a welcome bag with a stuffed squeaky sheep and a list of pet friendly restaurants). The La Fonda is in the center of nearly all the best that Santa Fe has to offer. The rooms are small and that is part of the charm. Prepare to emerse yourself in a Santa Fe experience.

Room Tip: When the staff says they have a room ready now, or you can wait for an even better one...wait! Requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicePilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel really felt like the heart of Santa Fe. There are the usual things that make it such as nice place to stay- the great staff, the prime location, the comfortable rooms, etc. But these things alone can't convey how this place begins to feel like home. The restaurants within the hotel are absolutely delicious. The staff treat you like long-lost family. Even though it's indoors, the main floor of the hotel feels like a plaza, where you can walk from one Southwestern era to the next, all while enjoying shops, food, fireplaces, and hospitality. Whether here for business, a relaxation retreat, or a prelude to the great outdoors, La Fonda will hit the spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinSpinSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

From check in to check out....the people at the front desk were welcoming and friendly. The hotel is in a great location on the plaza. The rooms are very comfortable and we loved the way the room was decorated. Brenda at the front desk is a superstar!!! We had a small problem with the air conditioner...she was johnny-on-the-spot making sure it was taken care of and that we were happy!!! I would highly recommend the La Fonda!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We would have been perfectly happy even if La Fonda was all we saw of Sante Fe. We were with a group with three different rooms. All were on the fifth floor and had spacious balconies inviting comfortable visiting. Each room was uniquely decorated with charming handpainted detail.

Staff at the front desk and the restaurants were friendly and helpful. Parking was convenient and reasonably priced.

The main restaurant is delightful. Delicious and beautiful food, attentive and knowledgable service, and cheery and comfortable atmosphere. I can't imagine a better way to sample so many New Mexican specialties than the lunch buffet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have nice views, while those on the inside overlook the pool and can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamitxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing