We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Trattoria Nostrani - CLOSED

Trattoria Nostrani
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Chapelle
Description: Trattoria Nostrani offers innovative Northern Italian cuisine with a European wine list.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently ate here for the first time (not sure why we waited so long), and the food was outstanding. The meals were well balanced, flavors well developed, and everything was delicious! The service was knowledgeable and low-key and not at all pretentious. Having eaten at several other high end restaurants in Santa Fe, I thought this compared very favorably and was not overpriced for the quality of the food.

I will say that the one slight downside was that when we arrived (with a reservation), the host first tried to seat us at a small table that was literally 2 inches from the neighboring (occupied) table despite the fact that there were many open tables and the restaurant did not fill up during our meal. We are relatively young, and this seems to happen to us a lot, but it was quickly resolved when we requested a different table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andromeda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    1
    11
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best. Dinner. Ever.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the most delicious meal I think I have ever had. Service was impeccable and I loved the traditional Italian style meal with each course served separately so you could enjoy each one. Very expensive, but completely worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant is off the beaten track, behind the Eldorado hotel. It was recommended to me by locals. I started with a nice salad with apples, fennel and Parmesan. We all then shared a really good mushroom ravioli. Finally I had a duck ragu pasta. The service was a little slow, maybe because it was Saturday, and the restaurant was crowded. Finally, it was nice that the chef, a woman, stopped by the table. I would definately go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Upscale Restaurant SHOULD Deliver An Upscale Experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were looking forward to this first visit to Trattoria Nostrani. However the experience did not measure up. The wine list was pretentious and expensive (we were only offered one of the two wine lists available - there are separate Italian and French wine lists). Our waiter offered no guidance - and the menu is not self-explanatory (you'll need to query the waiter about such things as what else comes with the entrees listed - nothing). Service was slow, robotic, and our waiter seemed disinterested in our table. Some of the food was excellent, and some lacked the basics. Each of our group is very experienced at upscale restaurants and we eat out regularly. This was one of our collectively poor experiences!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse B, Manager at Trattoria Nostrani, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Ari,

Thank you for your recent review of Trattoria Nostrani. I am sorry it was not the dining experience you were hoping for. Our wine list is very extensive, featuring over 500 different wines and many can be had at very reasonable prices. The servers are very knowledgable about both the wine and food and would have been happy to answer any questions you had about either one and more than willing to make suggestions. Please feel free to call me at the restaurant if you have any questions. Thank you,

Jesse B.
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Divine Dining Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had always heard about Trattoria Nostrani but had not dined there until our most recent visit to Santa Fe. Oh, what we had missed! The pasta is the best this side of Firenze. The Tagliatelle with Sausage Bolognese was so delicious, we ordered more. The Halibut with Tomato Mostarda and Rose Reduction was so delicate and delicious, it almost defies description. It was rolled like a pinwheel and consumed into epicurean heaven! The desserts are scrumptious. Our servers, Chris and Fernanda, are a husband and wife team who are incredibly gracious, knowledgable and professional. Overall, this was our favorite Santa Fe dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Herbert1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Nostrani also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing