We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel had a lot of charm and you can not beat the service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Our stay was great! Service could not be better and the location is wonderful. If you are going to Santa Fe, this is the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
There are newer reviews for Inn and Spa at Loretto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary over Labor Day Weekend. The hotel itself was nice. The location was superb. The room was well appointed but felt a little cramped. As others have said the bed was awesome...but we like a softer bed. We did have a door that opened to a balcony and our view was of the church which was very pretty. It was nice that the hotel had a small fitness center with 24 hour access. That's a plus for me. The lobby bar was nice and the outdoor part of the restaurant was very pretty, however, we did not have the opportunity to eat there.

On the down side, I thought the service was mediocre. I called the "guest services" line three times and no one ever answered the phone. The valet parking service was just stupid. We could have easily walked to our car, we could see it from the entry way, but the valet had our keys. During peak times you did have to wait for your car, which was aggravating since we could see it. I understand from other reviews that the hotel had a pool. I wasn't looking to swim but I never saw the pool so I can't comment on it one way or the other.

The hotel was nice and had a good location, but I'm on the fence as to whether or not I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xkittyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I recently stayed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto with friends and had a wonderful stay. The hotel rooms are unique and charming. I found the reddish walls very southwestern. The room was spacious, bed very comfortable, and ample lighting throughout. The Lumanaria restaurant is very pretty, both indoors and out. The food and decor were outstanding. I also found the inside bar area very cozy and comfortable. Service levels throughout the hotel were top notch. The location is specatular, being a very short walk to the plaza area as well as Canyon Road. Finally, nice resort style pool - spacious area and very comfortaby and cushy lounge chairs. Unfortunately, I did not have time to enjoy the spa but that will definately be on the list for my next visit to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sashabMarinaDelRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Easy to get to; great food; great access to downtown without being on a main street. Very nice conference facilities.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sgnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

we came here for a wedding and, it's true! the rooms are dark. if you want to read in your room, bring a head lamp. but, it's VERY clean, in a great location, nice southwestern decor. the beds are very, very soft. like pillow tops and then some. if you like firm beds, this may not be your place. overall, very nice if a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomfromMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Before I book any hotel I read very carefully through the Tripadvisor reviews reading both the very positive and very negative reviews. Once before I got burned by not listening to the negative reviews about a certain hotel in Florence, and sadly this time around I hate to report that some of the negative reviews on this site about the Inn and Spa at Loretto are true too.

I will start with the positives. The location is superb. It is easily walking distance from the plaza and from Canyon Road. I think it probably has the best location of the other "high" end establishments in town. The other positive is that the staff generally seems very friendly and it is great to have the pool to lounge by in the summer. The common areas of the hotel are lovely and well kept. Also, the beds are very comfortable.

The main negative for me was my room. What others say about the rooms being dark is completely true. The bathroom was so dark that I felt like was I was showering in a dark room. The bathrooms also need a reno. They just aren't what you expect at a hotel like this. There was also no safe in the room. All in, I paid upwards of $400 a night and to not have a safe was not acceptable to me. I recommend bringing a lock for your luggage if you end up staying there. However, the worst thing for me was that the room had no windows - it had two glass doors that opened onto a common courtyard - not a private one - and that was it. So, if you wanted fresh air you couldn't get any short of leaving a door to a common courtyard open. The first night it was too cool for air conditioning, but we couldn't get any fresh air into the room short of creating a security concern for us. This is not just a good situation. I wanted to like this hotel - I really did - but for the amount I paid to stay there, I couldn't believe my room didn't have a window. Some of the rooms seemed to have windows, but there were others like mine that also had no windows. I have never encountered this before, and found it to be very odd.

Other than that the hotel was fine, although service could use a bit of improvement. Waiting ten minutes or more to be seated for a table in the dining room was not uncommon as the hostess stand seemed to go unmanned quite frequently. The same thing happened with the valet. On weekend nights when people were coming home from the opera it seemed like the cars would just pile up with no valet in sight.

Ultimately, I judge every hotel or resort by whether or not I would recommend it to my family members or friends. Sadly, I think the answer here would be "no". If you can get a room with a window for a good price ($200 or less), than it might not be a bad deal, because again it has a great location. However, to pay any more than that you may regret it.

Oh one other thing, the "spa" isn't really a traditional spa with a locker room and steam room if that is what you are looking for. It is just series of massage rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The only word for this hotel is "stupid!" The room was painted dark, dark red, making it impossible to find even the light switches. There was not one dresser drawer for my clothes, so I used one of the beds to lay them on. There was no vanity in the bathroom, just two pedestal sinks. The only shelf for my things was so unleveled, that everything I placed on it fell in the trash can below. In addition, the charge for parking my rental car was $19/night and they wanted a $12/day charge for housekeeping. Needless to say, I only stayed two nights and was treated very rudely by the staff as I checked out. I continued my trip at a delightful Hyatt Hotel 8 miles out of town with free shuttle service to the Plaza or any other place I wished to visit. So much for a 4-star hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arlenefros1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyHeydt, Public Relations Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

Dear Guest:
We regret that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We are very surprised by your posting, especially as the twelve most recent guest reviews on TripAdvisor were outstanding. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with the best customer service and are proud to offer our guests a truly authentic Southwestern experience. We accomplish this by having restored the interior and exterior of our hotel to resemble an ancient, Native American pueblo. As a result, some of our rooms are darker than others and we are near completion of adding white accent walls to some of these rooms, which will considerably brighten them up.

The reason why our parking charges are $19.00 per day is because it is valet parking. These charges are consistent with valet parking charges at similar hotels in Santa Fe. Additionally, our resort fee of $12 covers such highly popular services as complimentary WiFi, candies and chocolates upon arrival, morning newspaper, in room organic tea and coffee, cookie and fruit in the morning, access to the fitness and business centers, apples throughout the day, bottles of water upon departure, and the gratuity for the room attendants.

If I can be of assistance in any way, please give me a call.

Stefan Huber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
597 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,376 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
610 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $196 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing