We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is Sante Fe, They're in Trouble.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The hotel is beautiful, but the staff is horrible. The one single tone that stood out throughout the entire stay is the constant overcharging for everything. Being told to "take it or leave it" about the rates and being lied to about the "upcharge" fees at check-in is just horrible. It really ruined the whole stay. The staff in the restaurant, however, are completely wonderful. Everything else?? Well, let's just say I would have rather stayed at a fleabag motel and saved the money. Keep in mind that I'm the type of traveler that only flies first class and stays at the Four Seasons whenever it's available. It wasn't an issue of spending the money, it was the principle of being treated like I was a third class customer. The constant lying by the service staff just ruined it. How about being sold a 50 min. facial and having it end after 25 min.? Only after was it brought to the attention of the spa (by my partner who happens to be an esthetician) did they realize they were busted.. and being charged $572.00 for a facial, manicure, pedicure, and 1/2 leg wax? Well.. You figure it out. They think their customers must be idiots. Sad.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strategicminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemez, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2009

I'm sorry that you felt lied to and deceived during your recent stay with us. It is our policy to disclose all fees upfront when booking a reservation directly with us via phone or on our web site. When you book your reservation via a third-party website, the taxes and fees are disclosed; however, they may not state the exact amounts. Regrettably, as these sites are independent of us, we do not have control over how and when during the booking process this information is displayed. We are continuously working with these partners to improve this process, but ultimately, we cannot force them to adopt or policies. The only way to entirely avoid future discrepancies would be to book directly with our hotel.

As for your spa experience, it is my understanding you requested to end your scheduled one-hour treatment early. Since we have to pay our therapists for the time they are contracted, we posted the full hour to your bill. However, when you brought this to our attention we gladly and immediately posted a $50 credit to your spa bill, the total of which came out to be $522. Just to clarify, in addition to the items you mentioned, the $522 also included clothing items, other treatments, taxes and gratuities.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
The Inn and Spa at Loretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
There are newer reviews for Inn and Spa at Loretto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,732 - 1,738 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

They did AC work beginning at 6 a.m. ....no AC all day during the middle of summer! Front desk was rude at check in. Great location...walking distance to everything but NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsinger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the Inn at Loretto on a weeklong road trip through the United States. Santa Fe was the key destination on our trip and wanted a nice hotel in a central location for sightseeing. This hotel was perfect. Its in a great location for visiting the beautiful sights of Santa Fe. It has great rooms, a nice pool and spa, and is a comfortable home base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drewdown3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was our third visit to Santa Fe. We enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The best value, no hidden costs or unreasonable fees, courteous staff, friendly, cheerful (felt like family) relaxing, great rooms, clean, well stocked, great pillows and plenty of hot water. Every person I spoke to was friendly, helpful and all appeared to be happy. Lounge staff, front desk, Guest Services, Jennifer ?, from Singapore, helped us out with directions, made us laugh. Brian?, # 1 - also our Valet staff, very attentive. Front Desk - efficient and courteous. All I can say is that our stay was perfect and beyond expectations. Great Value, the setting was perfect, next to the Chapel, felt blessed and protected, this was unexpected extra. thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank texastencha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our room was great, but there were over 40.00 a day of hidden fees that we were not told about when booking(valet and and resort fee). Would stay somewhere else for that price. The front desk was rude and not very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Hotel is steps from the plaza, cathedral and centrally located for shopping and excursions. Upon arrival we were greated by staff and checked in quickly (a definate plus when traveling with young children). The room was well kept and clean upon arrival and throughout our stay. Must not miss eating at Luminaria (restaurant within the hotel); food is fresh and very, very flavorful. It is easy to see why the tortilla soup is labeled as award winning. The hotel had recently undergone a total renovation and includes numerous historic photos of old Santa Fe and the surrounding areas. It was fun just walking the halls and looking at the picutures and reading the captions. My wife and I felt very at home in the room with the warm wall color and did not feel the room was dark at all and had ample light to read, work, and move about. The bed was also extremely comfortable for a hotel bed.

I only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return to this gem!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AZTravelerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I was having trouble picking out a hotel so I went to one of those booking sites and had them choose for me. The valet parking is mandatory and over 10 dollars a day, which was annoying. They also tacked on a daily "resort fee" regardless of which amenities were used, which I don't quite get because they could have just included it in the rate. The choice of ratings on this site leap from "average" to "very good," but I would just call this hotel good. I stayed for three nights.

On the positive side--they keep the place immaculately clean, staff is very polite, the beds are comfy with nice bedding, and the room decor/design creates a cozy and homey ambience. Terrific location very close to the plaza. Very attractive on the outside--modeled to resemble Taos Pueblo. Nice showerhead in the bathroom but toilets are somewhat hard to flush. Noisy light in the bathroom and noisy air conditioning. Pool area looks decent but didn't use it. Free wireless internet. On-site spa, boutiques, restaurant and lounge, none of which I used. Overall, I recommend this hotel but would probably not pay full price for a room. If you're rich, though, knock yourself out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
597 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,375 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
610 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $196 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing