We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Elegant place to stay in the heart of Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant place to stay in the heart of Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent one night here while we were in Santa Fe to visit relatives.
The room with a king-size bed was beautifully decorated.
I loved the small balcony with a beautiful view of the city and the stars at night!
The swimming pool is a nice size--a luxury to swim in when surrounded by adobe and a view of the mountains.

Green Features: I appreciated the efforts being made by the hotel to minimize waste,
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Barb M! We are truly honored by your 5-star rating and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Santa Fe is quite picturesque and the star filled night sky's are unparalleled. We're happy you were able to experience this! Thank you for your compliments to our room décor and pool facilities.We hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, and the Inn, very soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    436
    185
    104
    48
See reviews for
303
621
67
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We only had one night in Santa Fe, so we were looking for a hotel in the center of the action. This hotel has a great location downtown adjacent to the Loretto Chapel and shopping, we loved the style of the rooms and facilities, and we were able to get a good rate through Expedia, so we booked it. I was not looking forward to some of their services, such as valet parking and bellboys--I just prefer to be left alone to take care of my own business--but I was pleasantly surprised on arrival that their service staff was quick and not distracting. I would still prefer to be left alone though! I found their desk staff to be unfriendly the whole time we were there. They didn't do anything specifically wrong, they were just unfriendly. The photos of the facilities and rooms were accurate--I love the style. It's an older hotel, so it's not crisp, you know, but it is well maintained with current decor and faultlessly clean. Not every building can be brand new and who would want them to be? Loved our little patio and fireplace. I just can't figure out why they don't put some foliage on that rooftop that half the rooms open onto--it just doesn't seem like it would be that difficult to maintain. The sheets and bed...so soft. We ordered breakfast to our room for 7:30-8, and it was pretty late--about 8:15. We figured they just hadn't gotten our order. Had they come five minutes later, we would have been on the street looking for food already. Check out, once again, surprisingly seamless, valet and all. So, altogether, we had a great stay here, really enjoyed it, though I do think that we would have been disappointed with the our room had we paid regular prices.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LinusAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LinusAdvice,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your thoughtful review. Thank you for your compliments to our accommodations and attentive, yet unobtrusive service. Your feedback and patronage is very appreciated. We hope to have you as our guests again on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Best Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great find in Santa Fe! Planned on staying one day in town and last minute decided to stay an extra night. The desk staff easily accommodated our request - although at 100% capacity - and upgraded us to a suite (including lovely patio deck) ---NICE! Rooms nicely laid out, comfy beds although there's minimal counter space in bathrooms in the traditional rooms. Good bar / lounge area, restaurant just okay and had wonderful massage. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from pool if you are concerned about noise (events are held there during the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieG110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear LaurieG110,

We are so happy you enjoyed your experience at the Inn and Spa at Loretto and honored you chose to extend your stay with us. I'm pleased the front desk was able to accommodate you with an extra night and an upgrade - what a treat for your retreat! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location and ambience. Nice setting. Step out the hotel door and you're in the heart of Santa Fe. Very helpful staff. Rooms are well appointed with a small balcony and view. Beautiful grounds. You won't need your car while there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bfletch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay in Santa Fe unless you want to spend more money on one of the other 2 properties that are more expensive. The spa is wonderful. The rooms were good but not fantastic. The only complaint would be some of the service staff at the restaurant and the room service was a little not up to what we expected. We probably would stay here again if we return. probably...

Green Features: Non smoking property. I didnt pay attention to the rest
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titaperezPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear titaperezPuertoRico,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and spa experience! However, I'm disappointed to hear that you did not experience the exceptional level service from our restaurant and room service that the Loretto is known for. I would a very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further so I may address your comments more deliberately with the team. I've sent you my contact information via direct message. I hope to hear from you soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I usually stay a little more on the budget side however this hotel is worth every extra dime! I love it's architectural style, its sun warmed ambience and great pool. My only real complaints are that my room was too dark and as a tour leader I need to be able to 'see' what I am doing! I will ask for a lighter room next year because I plan to take another group to explore this wonderful city and its environs. I would also appreciate breakfast being built into the cost; it would save complications! Nearby the hotel the arts are astounding. Great food, great museums, excellent shopping (in the hotel also) and in the plaza and of course Georgia O'Keeffe lives on! We went for the International Folk Art Market and the Santa Fe Opera!

Green Features: The hotel has great environmental policies in place. Important in dry country and in a world faced with climate change. I would appreciate the use of less plastic overall but that is a discussion for another time.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Caroled,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are truly honored by your 5-star rating and compliments to our architecture and amenities. Knowing that you plan to bring your group back again next year is the best compliment we could receive! We definitely have a room that will better accommodate your needs as the tour leader.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Best Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Inn and Spa at Loretto has a fantastic staff. Always attentive and anticipating their guests' wishes. I went for a run one morning, and the valet attendant provided me with a map and a cold bottle of water. The resulting tour of Santa Fe by foot turned out to be one of my favorite runs ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Owner at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you Eric C! Your comments to our staff, and specifically the valet team, are so appreciated. I'm incredibly proud of the wonderful and dedicated staff here at the Loretto and knowing that they were able to make your stay, and run, that much more memorable is such great validation. I've shared your comments with the entire team.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay. We hope your travels bring you back to Santa Fe, and the Inn, soon!

Warm Regards,

Tom McCann, General Manager, Inn and Spa at Loretto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing