We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lame, overpriced and no spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lame, overpriced and no spa”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

After my wife and I stayed there recently, the hotel sent us a survey, asking our “advice” in several areas. Our advice? Train and motivate your staff! Everybody working there looked ready to blow their brains out. Nobody said, "Hi! Welcome to the Inn and Spa at Loretto! Great to have you here!" Felt like we were checking into a funeral home.

Room was remodeled, but it looks like they let the builder pick the colors and design on the cheap, not an interior architect. Red walls and black doors/trim made the room feel like a cave. Colorful bath floor tiles totally unrelated to black/white shower tiles--looked thrown together. Room had a big-screen, digital, plasma TV--but only an analog signal, so the picture quality was mush. That’s a prime example of the well-intentioned attempt that misses the target at this property.

When making the reservation, we were told construction had been completed (and it even says so in the “manager’s reply” on this web site), but awakened each morning to a guy down the hall sawing holes in the ceiling and pulling metal cable for lights--annoying!!

One morning, a staffer was collecting linen from the room next door at 8 am, and let the door slam 3 times as he completed his task. No one on staff moved with discretion or consideration that other guests might be resting, despite the retreat/oasis aspect the property promotes.

Concierge (and I use the term loosely) was like somebody's Grammy--nice, but not too whippy. When I asked a good restaurant to go for a special dessert, the “concierge” said, "Well almost anywhere serves dessert." Gee, thanks for that tremendous insight.

As we were loading our car after three days (we’d planned to stay for a week, but it just wasn’t worth it), there was a staff woman outside by valet pick-up that seemed terribly interested in our stay, how it was and so on. That's nice, but about three days too late. Valet guys seemed more on their toes than usual, probably because of her presence. The valet guys were at least helpful during our stay, offering accurate directions.

My online survey asked if staff addressed me by name. By name?! They barely acknowledged my presence! I didn't feel like anybody cared if we lived or died, much less if we stayed there again or not.

The fastest “improvement” for this place would be to drop "spa" from the property name; it's terribly misleading. There’s no spa—there are four massage rooms, and that’s it. No saunas, no hot tub, no cold plunge, no relaxation area—and no signage pointing the way to the, er, “spa.”. My wife went to get a massage early one evening, but found the "spa" closed. When she asked at the front desk, she was told the "spa" closed if they didn't have any appointments! What a joke. Closed by when? 10am? Noon? Five pm? And how are you supposed to make an appointment if it's never open? The “spa” was probably the worst, most misleading aspect of the entire experience. If you want a spa, stay at the Four Seasons Las Colinas near Dallas.

We felt like, overall, this place has delusions of grandeur, and is trying to be a five-star resort on the cheap, but falls woefully short. Even with an online discount, we paid high, premium prices for a decent Best Western level of accommodations. As noted in other reviews, location is perhaps the best aspect of this property, but there are countless places to stay in Santa Fe that are as well located.

Overall, we felt our stay at the Inn and Sort of a Spa at Loretto was very, very lame for the price.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Delusions of grandeur. Overpriced for what you get.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigtexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    498
    220
    125
    52
See reviews for
353
708
78
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

I think a shower should work like this: turn the water on, wait for really hot water; dial the hot water back to the temperature you like; flip on the shower.

For Labor Day Weekend, in my $376/night Vista Grande room, my first shower (taken mid-afternoon on a Friday) worked like this: turn the water on, wait for hot water; wait longer for hot water; give up and take a quick rinse shower in tepid water; call for maintenance; take a nap after maintenance visits & hope for a full hot shower after the nap; after the nap, take a full shower in the same ol' tepid shower. It never improved throughout the weekend.

Discussions with the Desk Manager revealed that this is a known problem, that worked had been done on the pipes a few months ago, that it relates to the age of the building, and that she could not do anything about it. She did offer to discount my rate... but when I checked out at 5am on Monday (early flight :-( ), I found that this discount amounted to eliminating the $16/night parking charge. Whoopee! I left a note for the general manager, he has never bothered to contact me.

The bathroom itself has a very small tub/toilet space, and the room has little available furniture or drawer space for unpacking (not exactly comfy to store your clothes all over the room). The concierge service is exceptional - everyone was very very helpful. Be aware that there is a zoning hearing coming up for an addition to the hotel - thus, there may be future construction activities at the sight.

But if you relish a hot shower, avoid this hotel.

  • Liked — The bed was extremely comfortable and the concierges exceptionally helpful.
  • Disliked — The water temperature in the shower.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurechick8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

My sister and I booked a 3-night Luxury Link package and enjoyed our stay here very much. I had stayed several years ago and the hotel rooms have been redecorated since then. The hotel wasn't perfect then either, nor is it perfect now. The best thing about it is the location, a short walk to Canyon Road and also to the plaza. We were given room 416, a grande vista king with a miniscule balcony. The room was a very good size, with two comfortable chairs, a desk, and plenty of room for a rollaway bed. There was a non-working fireplace with a large flat-screen TV mounted over it. There was also a CD player which was a nice touch, and a minibar and coffeemaker (with surprisingly good in-room coffee). The bathroom had two sinks which was handy for getting ready in the morning. The king four-poster bed was very comfy and the linens were high-quality. There was no fan in the bathroom, no light in the shower, and one of the other lights in the bathroom did not work. Overall the lighting in the room was inadequate. I do not care for the dark red walls, and it is very strange that they did not bother to repair the walls before they painted, and that they used glossy paint which is just bizarre. Our package included a three-course dinner which was very good -- especially the fresh sweet pea soup, the scallops, and creme brulee. It also included breakfast each morning which was excellent. Service varied from outstanding to downright neglectful depending on the server. There is an outdoor pool with fairly comfortable chaise lounge chairs, and food and drinks can be ordered poolside although service was lax. Our package also included 2 massages which were OK but not great (mine was supposed to be 50 minutes but was actually only 45). One nice feature of the package was that it included valet parking, the resort fee, taxes, and tips (otherwise these charges really add up). I would definitely stay here again, mainly for the location, but probably only if I could get a similar package.

  • Liked — The location, comfortable bedding
  • Disliked — Dark red high-gloss paint on the walls, inadequate lighting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

This was a family (adult) trip celebrating my in-laws 50th anniversary, their were 8 of us including myself. This was our second choice of a hotel, the first one having been changed because of negative reviews on Tripadvisor.com! First, let me say, this is price withstanding. It was a gift from our very generous family. That said, let me say it was nothing less than fabulous. Each room was a little different in configuration, but it's an older hotel. so we were not surprised. Facilities were immaculate, our room was not only spacious, with lovely porch, but a bed that was better than ours at home (and I LOVE my bed at home). CLEAN. Everything was very, very clean! Fireplace in room was fake, but who cares. Drapes made room so dark, we never knew it was day til we woke up & opened them! Bed was AMAZING, did I mention that?! Shower was great, fine water pressure. Flat screen t.v., small but ample sitting area. Room service was great, food was fresh and delicious. Had a drink in the bar, very nice & creative. Pool looked nice, but location was too perfect to waste any time "lounging". We loved this hotel, and we'd come here again, even if we were paying!!!

  • Liked — The BED!!!
  • Disliked — When the drapes were NOT open, it was quite dark in the room, even with all the lights on.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank MicheleMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here during our wedding weekend, as did about 50 percent of our 175 guests. Everybody loved it. It was the ideal central location that initially drew us in, and the lobby bar served as a home base for all of our excursions. I must say several friends upgraded to balcony rooms (so much nicer!) after seeing the dark, cramped standard rooms. We stayed in a suite, which was stunning and massive (I got ready for the wedding there), with two balconies and a gorgeous bathroom. It was amazing to toast each other with champagne from the rooftop as we watched our guests walking home through the streets from the wedding venue, and to wake up with such beautiful mountain views in the morning. The bed was luxurious and comfortable.

The pool is one of the nicest in town, and we spent at last one afternoon enjoying drinks and lunch poolside. The food was good. the management and the valets and bartenders were all top-notch professionals. The thing I dislike about the hotel are the mall-like bowels on the lower floor.

In the spa, I had an incredible massage that lulled me to sleep after 4 days of wedding craziness, and then slipped into a private aromatherapy bath. We are heading back in a few weeks, and we look forward to staying there again and taking in the renovations and service upgrades mentioned in recent reviews.

  • Liked — Central location, nice pool and grounds, great spa, our suite.
  • Disliked — Mini-mall on ground level, standard rooms are not so hot.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eeleeleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Booked a 2 and 3 night Luxury Link auction packages. Given Room 349. Beware. Room is looks at parking garage and is over loading dock. Trucks start beeping and backing in at 7 AM.
No luxury at the Inn. Hotel management unreasonable to work with. Room description did not match actual room. Excuse given that they were sold out and re-writing their room descriptions. Stayed one night and moved to another property. Lost second night of two day package. Hotel refused to refund unused second night. Charge over $600 for single night in room over loading dock. Terrible experience. Received full refund of 3 night package after complaint filed with Luxury Link.

  • Liked — artwork in public areas
  • Disliked — room description did not match actual accommodations
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmaven54Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fork
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

Undergoing a change in ownership/management is usually painful for all concerned. In this case it is a sad day for the clients. This place has been under renovation for quite awhile. Overall I was not impressed with the Inn for the price.

A beautiful property in an excellent location in Santa Fe; the Inn is easy walking distance to Canyon Road Galleries and downtown Plaza, with a municipal bus stop right out the side gate on Alameda. You can ride the buses all day everywhere for $2. SF taxi service is relatively expensive.

The hotel desk service staff were either novice or stressed out from training novices. There is no bellhop service to take your bags up or down. The valets are very pressured at times and folks were waiting a long time for their cars. We took Sandia Shuttle from the airport, so we left our 4 pieces of luggage with the concierge before check in/out time and had to argue to get a receipt for them, both coming and going! The concierge is iffy. Go to the wonderful State Vistor Center two blocks south on Old SF Trail for lots of info, free maps and coupons.

The hotel room was very clean and the maid quickly brought me a working iron and different pillows. Too bad they painted the room a dark red and since Santa Fe has gone "green" the flourescent light bulbs just don't get it. WE were lucky to have a nice private balcony with chairs and table and a view of mountains, so we kept the curtains open on the french doors otherwise the place was dark as a tomb and there was NO art in the room. All over the halls and grounds, but none in room.

The only mirror was over the double pedestal sink, and bathroom storage and layout is ridiculous with the closet in there. Take hanging toiletry kits and a makeup mirror! There is some drawer space in the armoire and nightstand.

The desk chair seat was broken. They have a big fake Kiva in the corner of the room which comes in handy for using as a storage shelf but crowds the armchairs. There was a coffee maker with no place to put it except the bathroom floor. NO maps of hotel or area or other hard copy in folder, just menues for room service and spa. There are no written directions for using the free internet, you have to call the desk, which number was incorrectly listed along with housekeeping's and maintenance's. We had a refrigerator in the locked cabinet we didn't know about the first 4 nights until another guest told us about it. And the TV choice represents the latest in hotels hidden fees with PPV and internet access charges unless you have At&T. After walking up hills all day I was too tired to surf or watch TV anyway!

I did not sleep well. The king bed was lumpy and sagged in the middle on my side. The A/C made an annoying periodic buzzing all night and when the maintenance man came to check it the third day ( I called them the second day) he said we had one of the quieter units in the whole place. They redecorated the rooms without replacing the old units. New units will be a different size so they will have to tear out walls, etc.

The little gym, in an outbuilding, had two new treads w/ TVs and headsets, and a bike, some yoga mats, and a small freeweight selection. The A/C was broken but there was a cooler of spring water and towels, so sweating was in order anyway. Gym looks out over parking lot.

Although a large and well appointed space, their spa prices are very high for the area. A little research will get you a much better deal at several spas close by. I suggest High Desert Healthcare on East Palace for a Shiatsu massage around $90 incl tax.

The hotel's big spotless pool is only around 80 degrees, but plenty of chaise lounges and tables and umbrellas are placed to enjoy the climate and they provide big towels poolside. Get your sun before noon in monsoon season! It rained late each day, which helped me deal with the dry air. I took ginger for the altitude and only had one headache.

The food at Baleen was GREAT! but not inexpensive or what you would call traditional and is no longer a seafood restaurant. Our last day they were tearing apart the restaurant but keeping the chef. We had to eat in the bar. Service was spotty. The pour in the bar was not generous at $10 a call. They had a really good singer most nights, though. My husband said the conference facility was great and the meals the hotel provided his group were very good.

Good bar closeby: Coyote Cafe rooftop down on W Water St. My favorite food was at Guadalupe Cafe, only a couple of blocks south of the Loretto on Old SF Trail; Chipolte red enchilada sauce to die for! The Tea House at the top of Canyon or Cafe Des Artisties at the bottom, are good for a light meal or chai when gallery hopping.

  • Liked — Location and exterior appearance
  • Disliked — Service spotty and maintenance/esthetics of interior
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WestForkZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#27 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing