We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary in November and it was absolutely beautiful! The hotel is located in an excellent location and just a short walk from the plaza, museums, dining, and shopping. The Loretto Chapel is located right next door to the hotel and is an absolute must-see for anyone visiting Santa Fe. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the Luminaria Restaurant and excellent cocktails and live entertainment at the hotel bar. Though the walls were a bit thin, the rooms were nice, clean, well-lit, and very spacious compared to other hotels we have stayed at. There is a $14/day resort fee as well as a $19/day valet fee. The staff was very friendly, professional, and knowledgable. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    417
    181
    102
    45
See reviews for
294
600
63
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

So the Inn at Loretto was recommended to us by locals. And it is a charming place, and a good location. My experience with the service, however, was mixed at best. (They could take some lessons from the Hotel Modera in Portland, a much lower cost hotel, with wonderful, welcoming service staff.)

We arrived about 5:00 pm on a Thursday. A reasonable time, when you might expect a number of check-ins. There was one person at the front desk, with 5 or so parties in line. She was checking people in, answering the phones, answering questions. She was very nice, but she shouldn't have been alone.

The room was nice, smallish, but okay. The closet was in the bathroom, which was strange, but in old buildings I guess they have to make compromises. The bed was quite nice, and the various appointments were fine, no complaints.

The other complaint I had was with some B.S. $14/day service charge. That got you what you normally get in any other nice hotel: "free" wifi (or on the confirmation notice from Orbitz "complimentary wifi"). If it's free or complimentary, how come it's $14? And some other stuff, a paper, coffee, fruit, access to the business center. Again, all of this stuff is normally what you'd expect as part of your bill. It's just deceptive to advertise room prices, but tack on this service charge for normal amenities. (And yes, they are quite normal. I travel a lot, and this kind of stuff comes along with the room at much less "classy" hotels.)

When I brought this up to the front desk staff the next day, the gentleman at the front desk was reasonably nice, but clearly had fielded this question from others as he was quite ready with the canned answers. The woman at the front desk however was incredibly rude and arrogant in her responses. And pointed out that it was "noted on the agreement that you sign when you check-in." Well sure, that's after you've already paid for the room. And as I walked away she says, in an extremely sarcastic tone, "I'll be sure to pass that on," referring to my comment that it was very tacky to do this kind of thing. Clearly she couldn't care less.

Also, the door to our patio leaked badly, so when I got back to the room after breakfast at Tia Sophia (recommended), there was a big industrial fan in the room drying out the carpet. Stuff happens I guess. At least they tried to take care of it.

So in general, if you want to stay here, just be aware of the potential rudeness of some of the staff, (most were great), and that stupid "spa service charge." I'll never stay again, because it's easy to be nice and easy to be up-front and honest. But it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalishSeaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We appreciate your patronage and are extremely disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further. I can be reached at 505-984-7928.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our fifth stay at the Loretto. It gets better every stay. Friendly people, lovely rooms, good location, nice bar. Reception manager, Josephine Vega, is really special: professional, kind, and helpful.

Green Features: Hotel has a strong environmental policy and is very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that provides great service--front desk, concierge and the valets. Each had great local ideas for hiking, eating, etc. The room was beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. The Hotel is beautiful and really perfectly located just two blocks from the Plaza. Can't say enough good things. Highly recommend and we are discerning consumers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Always a relaxing time. If you a dog ask for the room with gated patio. You can enjoy wine on your own patio and your pets can hang with you, without a leash. Great in the summer for easy access to to pool. And ask for spa deals when you check in. Two of us usually do two treatments each and a nice discount is offered, when asked.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Loretto is a lively, excellent hotel with gorgeous and comfortable rooms, excellent room service and terrific food. Much of central Santa Fe is within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it. The Loretto really exudes individual, regional character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest again!
Warm regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were in Santa Fe just for the day. After a long day of walking around seeing wonderful art, churches, etc, we went into the Loretto lounge. What a great thing to do! We sunk into the beautiful comfy leather couch, sitting by a beautiful burning fireplace, and had a great glass of Pinot Noir with their special spiced peanuts, made in-house. After a long relaxing conversation, we headed back out for more looking around town. Stopping into a little cafe for dinner, my companion suggested we were in the wrong place. I asked "where to?" and when she suggested we go back to the Loretto lounge, we both smiled. Back there, I had a delicious grilled salad (would love another one just like it) and she had a buffalo burger. And we sat and listened to a wonderful singer/guitar player. Delightful. Give it a try, or at least stop in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Living Room lounge at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased you enjoyed the great food, wine and music. We offer live music in the Living Room every Friday and Saturday night and hope you can join us again soon!
Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#23 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing