We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, great ambience, terrific location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff, great ambience, terrific location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent a week at the Inn and had a great experience. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The restaurant services were top notch. The location is excellent. We look forward to visiting Santa Fe again and will definitely stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the compliments you gave our staff and restaurant. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards, Sheri Decker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    417
    181
    101
    45
See reviews for
294
599
63
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The good: convenient location to Plaza, good concierge service, super soft and comfortable beds, fast and nice valet car service.
The not-so-good: you can definitely hear your neighbors through the walls and from the shared balconies, the closet is pretty small and in the bathroom, there was a cute pedestal sink with double sinks but pedestal sinks are so impractical - there were a couple of small glass shelves in the bathroom but there was room for much more storage, there were no outlets by the beds - this is hard to believe in modern times as most people want to charge their phones and use them as alarms at the same time, and worst of all there was no safe - as most people travel with multiple devices these days there is a need to lock them up when you are out of the room, additional fees for valet parking and "hotel" services.

Also, we had two issues -- the toilet didn't flush on the first day and then on the last day the bathtub backed up with some black water that smelled like sulfur. To the hotel's credit, the problems were taken care of each time within about 30 minutes.

In reading the TripAdvisor reviews of many of the most popular hotels in Santa Fe, there did not seem to be one perfect option. All the hotels had pluses and minuses. Overall, the Inn at Loretto is a fine choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out. I will be sure to address these with the team.

Your patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good things: location, concierge (Pamela), spa service (although not a full-service spa as we expected).

Not so good things: Service. I had to call three times to get a bathrobe. Finally the frost desk clerk brought it to me himself.
Cleanliness: The a/c/ vents were filthy. You could see the dust hanging down.
Heating & A/C: Very old system. Loud. Since it was very cold a couple of nights, the system would go on and off, and it would wake me up. Also the air that came out of the vent was very strong. There was no way to adjust it. Empty water bottles and paper flew around. That's how strong it was.
Early morning coffee service: They should have it available for early risers, even if they have to charge for it. The restaurant and a coffee shop in the hotel weren't open for business at the times they said they would be.

Green Features: They had shampoo, conditioner, body wash in containers on the wall, which was good. But they also provided bar soap as an alternative, which was appreciated. They change sheets once every 4 days (I believe) which was fine with me. We were there 4 nights. Towels changed daily.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldenGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out and am happy to report the heating and cooling system is being updated and is expected to be complete very soon!

Your patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Sincerely, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel last week and for the most part were pleased. You can not beat the location of the Loretto. We parked our rental car and walked to most spots on and off the Plaza. The staff was most helpful. The concierge assisted us with three great reservations for dinner and gave us advise on what to do when visiting Santa Fe & Los Alamos. We thought the service in the breakfast room was slow and not a great value. When we requested extra items such as towels or tissues for the room they were delivered promptly. We would suggest that you look at the room before you take possession. The configuration of our King Deluxe had a odd shaped bathroom that was a little tight for two people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted to hear about our concierge's great recommendations. Our staff prides themselves on their knowledge of our beautiful city. Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again!

Warm regards, Sheri Decker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We are so glad we tried this place (thanks American Airlines vacations!). The place is beautiful (as are many of the hotels & bed and breakfasts in Santa Fe) but the, again the best word I can think of is "vibe", is what we really loved. Every member of the staff was really professional and made you feel welcomed, remembered, valued and special. Also some of the "amenities" offered were pretty special (free Yoga classes was the ultimate for me). Of course, the location is also great. 3 blocks from the square. Will most certainly go back to this Inn on our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkS027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and happy to see you took advantage of the free yoga program. We strive to offer our guests an experience that honors and nurtures the mind, body and spirit. We also greatly appreciate the time you took to praise to our staff. The review you have written is gratifying and truly validates our team’s efforts.

Thank you again, we hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the spa for two nights. Rooms were cozy but not 5 star. Small adobe type windows made for a dark environment. Staff was friendly and attentive. Fantastic downtown location in Old Santa Fe, within walking distance of all local attractions. Great onsite restaurant with sparse New Mexican selections. I would return but I am certain the Four Seasons would be a better choice if you are looking for royal treatment and amenities.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but request a chapel or mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first visit to New Mexico and with all it has to offer, Santa Fe is now among the cities we plan to re-visit. When we do, we cannot imagine staying anywhere else but the Inn and Spa at Loretto. Beautiful accommodations, top notch dining (we live just outside NYC and are spoiled rotten foodies) and a class act concierge named Mary Thomas who was kind enough to mail us the Santa Fe New Mexican newspaper where we appeared in an article about the now, more famous than ever, frito pie from the Five and Dime. Also want to give a shout out to Ross who was kind enough to locate a superior room for us with a lovely mountain view. I am difficult to please and was completely satisfied with every aspect of our stay!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We truly appreciate the time you took to give praise to our staff. The review you provided is so gratifying and validates the team’s efforts. Ross and Mary have been informed of your comments and are very honored.

Thank you again for the wonderful review. We look forward to being your home away from home on your next visit Santa Fe!

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing