We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A friend and I spent a long weekend at the hotel. The hotel locationwas perfect. We could walk everywhere in the downtown Santa Fe area yet it was quiet enough for us to sleep well. The general atmosphere inside was excellent - a warm, welcoming lobby and bar as well as a restaurant with great atmosphere. Service was above average. The rooms, however, were average. I expected them to be larger. The bathroom was also small and not updated. The beds were too soft.

Green Features: The only environmental practice I noticed was a note in the bathroom suggesting that we not get our towels washed every day.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakeview80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    456
    196
    115
    50
See reviews for
320
653
71
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here the first of August and the weather was perfect. The hotel was very impressive with excellent front desk personnel. They were very helpful with any request and went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. The rooms were nice but some were showing signs of age. The ceiling AC in some cases were not properly caulked and was an eyesore in the room, however the room was nicely decorated with one of the most comfortable beds. Our 9 year old son was with us and a single bad was wheeled into the room. It was tight squeeze for 3 people but we made it work. The shampoo and conditioner product was very nice and was provided in ample amounts. One draw back, our view was overlooking the lower level hotel roof. Not all rooms have this view so be sure to ask for room not facing the front road. The bar was quaint and full of great people watching and had comfy couches for a nice night cap or snuggle time with your loved one. Overall it was a very nice stay and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for no lower level roof view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Enjoy a perfect Santa Fe expeirence at the Inn and Spa at Loretto.

Comfy rooms, friendly staff, peaceful surroundings and great restaurant keep us coming back each year. Outstanding location to the plaza, shops and dining spots.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with one of their little balconies or patio. Great to set out and relax after a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Outstanding. The organic and local food options on the Luminaria menu are wonderful.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The covered outdoor eating at their Luminaria restaurant is tops for ambiance. The menu is creative; the dishes are attractive and tasty. Breakfast was perfect for dining with friends and planning the day. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. (We were among a group of 10 people whose luggage didn't arrive with us from Denver; we received it ten hours later. Is that common for the Santa Fe airport?). The bath/closet arrangement is very tight, but the room is quite comfortable. The hotel includes interesting shops. We will book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandinourshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

So I have to start by saying the bed at Loretto was THE MOST DELICIOUS BED I have ever slept in. I even stripped the sheets so I could see what it was (of course the amazing soft hotel bedding contributed to the experience). The location at the edge of the historic plaza is excellent. The hotel entry is lovely and the service attentive. While the valets were great and quick, I prefer to be able to have access to my car without having to call a valet every time. The hotel features photographs of Santa Fe history, it's like a museum walking through the winding hallways. And you are next door to the Chapel with the miraculous staircase, which is worth a look.

The room was comfortable enough, but laid out oddly. It was dark, and painted dark maroon which made it feel even more closed in, and the view was somewhat disappointing right there in old town...mostly the unfinished-looking roofs of other hotel rooms. The towels were small and worn. We went downstairs for a drink in the very welcoming lounge...and paid $64 for 2 drinks, plus tax and tip. They were good, but wow! Won't do that again.

Net, net...if I do come back, it'll be for the bed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace and/or a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. We are very proud of our property and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. With that said, I offer an apology for the few inconveniences you’ve pointed out. I will be sure to address these with the team.

Your patronage is much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
505-984-7928
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trophy Club, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent the Labor Day weekend in Santa Fe and the pleasure of staying at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. Everything was perfect from arrival to departure and everything in between. The Inn provided an authentic Santa Fe experience right in the heart of town close to restaurant and shopping. Luminaria is a great dining option for all meals. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and small fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLW662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto is right around the corner to the Plaza in Santa Fe. The service is great and the restaurant is really good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. If you visit Santa Fe, I would highly recommend that you stay here.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity, choose a room with a balcony. The views of the city and the sunrise an...
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage saving water and recycle trash. Toiletries in recycled packages. Energy efficient light bulbs.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jefty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing