We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked a deluxe room. I checked in and had a parking lot view. I went right out and back to the check in desk and inquired if my room was a superior, which I paid for and reserved. They said it was not. It was a traditional room and they had no delux rooms available. I asked for my price difference, which is about 30 to 40 more per night, they offered me 1 day free breakfast and parking. I am not pleased to say the least.

Hotels should not guarantee a room, take your payment, then deliver a lower quality room. Not an honest business practice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Franq72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    416
    181
    101
    45
See reviews for
291
599
63
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful and in a great location. It's right next to the Loretto Chapel, a must see. and within two blocks of the Plaza. This was our first time in Santa Fe and we were enchanted by this historic city. Also, their restaurant, the Luminaria is excellent. Also wanted to put in a good word for the concierge, Pam. She has very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank philfourthirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our only regret was that we could only spend one night in this beautiful hotel.

We arrived without reservation and the staff was very accommodating. We had a nice, roomy and well decorated room. Very quiet. Nice, large pool for a morning wake up swim.

The hotel is right around the corner from the plaza. Just leave your car there and go explore the old town.

Excellent breakfast on the patio.

The valet staff was very helpful at pointing some of the historical sites and giving us advice for a great dinner place.

We'd love to go back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs, this affords more privacy than the street level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location, rooms, restaurant, and spa. Had deluxe king one night and Junior Suite for 3 nights. Very artsy Native American decor, big rooms with patios. Luminaria was the restaurant we had breakfast on site for four mornings. I got something different every day, very good. Also nice touch was the "Family Room" which was a bar full of tables and divans where you could order off the smaller menu or anything on the bigger menu. Room service was just as good. The spa is Conde Nast's 19th in the country and was also very nice. Location during the Indian market was perfect as was the proximity to Canyon Road's shops and galleries. Wonderful, unique,historical, and spiritual Chapel at Loretto, famous for the miraculous staircase is on property along with a gift shop.

Room Tip: Junior suites were pricey but with Gold American Express card got a one time $75 credit per room (ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Granburytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a lovely historic yet modern hotel which perfectly reflects the local ambiance. The bed was heavenly and decor beautiful. Lovely artwork. The hotel is just off the Plaza and within easy walking distance of the main shopping and sites. The Indian touches and furnishings were fitting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel located in the heart of Santa Fe. If going to the annual Summer Indian Market, the location is perfect. Lots to do within walking distance. Luminaria restaurant food was very good. One time the server forgot part of the order, but once we mentioned it, they quickly brought the rest. We found the hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We had no problems with towels or space as others had. We plan to return to this hotel.

Green Features: If you want clean towels, leave the used towels on the floor and they will be replaced. I agree there is no need to change all the towels every day.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funnyfarmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We just returned from our second stay in Santa Fe at the Inn at Loretto. The first stay was fine, but the second was a disaster. Our daughter and son-in-law woke up and discovered bedbugs in their room. Our son-in-law was covered with over 20 bites. They comped them for one night's stay, but there was no additional explanation or attempt to reconcile what can only be termed a "disgusting" hotel experience.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 306--one known bedbug infestation site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelB1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing, and I deeply regret you and your family’s experience. Having personally inspected the premises, I would like to assure you that this was an isolated issue and swift and corrective action was taken to remediate the problem in this one guest room.

For readers of this review, it is important to know that this is one single isolated incident and has no connection to the overall cleanliness of the Inn and Spa at Loretto. In fact, 83% of our current reviewers rated the property cleanliness at 5 stars (excellent). The Inn and Spa at Loretto maintains the highest standards.

With that being said, bedbugs are one of the most feared issues a hotelier can face, therefore we take every precaution to prevent, eradicate and pursue these issues like no other. Due to the nature of these pest they can appear from nowhere. They are, at this time everywhere, hotels, airline seats, theaters, office buildings etc. and are a huge issue in Europe and the Orient. They show up in the nicest and cleanest hotels. They are very proficient hitchhikers, meaning that they can be picked up anywhere, particularly in luggage and deposited in our facilities. They can lay dormant for over nine months before they even have to feed. In dealing with them we immediately remove and treat or discard the furniture linens and anything else that we feel necessary. Then every square inch of the room, bedding, carpet, furniture drawers and bases, headboards removed and treated multiple times over a three day period to ensure eradication. Also we retreat the room in the same manner approximately two to three weeks later to make sure we get anything that by chance, was missed. We train our housekeepers and engineers in detection and appropriate action steps for discovery. Our housekeeper check their rooms daily. Engineers have been trained to respond to any insect reported in a room to take immediate action to ensure it is not a bedbug and if it is the room is immediately decommissioned for treatment.

I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this issue with you. I can be reached at 505-984-7928.


Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,728 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing