We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quietest hotel I've ever stayed in.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Perhaps it's the construction it wasn't as if the hotel was empty but it sure sounded like it was. It may have been the most undisturbed sleep I've ever had in a hotel. Not an inexpensive place to stay and they have those crooked "resort fees" that so many places have implemented but even at 200 plus for the one night it was a treat and probably worth it just to be right in the heart of the downtown district.There was no charge for the valet parking which was a pleasant surprise. We did a last minute booking at the front desk there are probably better deals to be had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

I get that this place was made to look like and match Santa Fe even though it wasn't built at that time, so it may lack some of the authenticity of other places, but it is a great place to stay and you will definitely feel like you are getting to experience Santa Fe. The rooms are dark and seem incongruent to the rest of the hotel or Santa Fe, but they will not diminish your enjoyment or experience. There are great touches throughout the room, and lots of amenities. The hotel itself is clean and quiet, and still centrally located to the heart of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I'm an avid "reviewer" and always check out reviews before I go some place. Got a pretty good deal on LivingSocial for this 3 night stay. I usually book trips thru Luxury Link.com. The Inn and Spa at Loretto has some really mixed reviews so I'm going there with an open mind and not expecting too much. I can only hope that I am pleasantly surprised! Will be staying from May 21 - 23. Fingers crossed we get a nice room. Rather spoiled due to some really classic hotel experiences worldwide! Also, sounds as though we may need to bring our own toiletries since there have been no "good" reviews on the ones the Inn provides. Again, will keep an open mind. Looking forward to our experience. Will write a review on the experience upon our return to San Antonio.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The „Loretto“ is a nice hotel, Santa-Fe-stylish. The rooms are really a little bit dark – but it is not so bad, some people wrote. I think, this is also the individual style. The bathroom (of our room) was a little bit small, but clean and working without any problems. Entrance, Lobby and Bar were charming. Restaurant Luminaria (I will give a own rating) offers very good meals. Not so funny: We could not get the twin-bed-deluxe-room, who was booked more than four months ago! And to make a differnce between a normal room and a deluxe-room is not easy - for me it was not possible. So be careful, what you book an what you get! Another point: There was no safe in the room – but this should be, if a hotel has a high rating and an high price. Another Plus: To go to the most important sightseeing points in the heart of the city you need only three to five minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were a little dark, but very comfortable. It was pricey, but less expensive than other luxury hotels in the area. Great food at the restaurant; fun shops by the lobby.

Two nits: they closed the kitchen/bar early one night without making any sort of announcement beforehand (something to note if you stay there during the Festival), and our spa experience was mixed (my manicure was--special--), although my husband is still raving about his hot stone massage.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

(Apologies for the delay in posting this review!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust_at_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great little boutique hotel .... Front desk awesome upgraded us to a nice suite with wicked balcony!!! Loved the spa!! The restaurant was ok..... Nice furnishing in room....big comfy bed!! We'll stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. It brings us great pride that your enjoyed The Spa at Loretto and your accommodations. We are thrilled that you will be staying with us again!

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went to Inn at Loretto for 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a nice location but worn. There is a general lack of attention to detail.

A few tips for the operation:
1. Valet Parking staff is not very friendly. They could open the car door for a woman when arriving and departing. A little friendliness would be helpful.
2. Front desk generally under staffed. Not very friendly. Front desk area is cluttered with storage room visible.
3. Spa. It really is just a few treatment rooms. You have to walk past the banquet service area to get there. The banquet staff should avoid yelling instructions to each other in the public area.
4. The staff generally does not greet customers in hallways, etc.
5. Bathtub did not drain properly. Requested maintenance to check it. No one ever checked it. I assume a breakdown at the front desk.
6. A curved shower rod in the bath tub would be beneficial.
7. The fireplace has been converted from wood to candles. They provide matches but the match isn't long enough to light the little oil lamp. Consider using longer matches. A good example of the lack of attention to detail.
8. Our daughter ordered a bottle of wine and a cheese tray as a surprise for us. The wine arrived. When we thanked our daughter, she asked about the cheese tray. We called the restaurant and they apologized. They forgot. They had billed our daughter. They did deliver a cheese tray.
9. For a spa, the soaps, etc. in the bath were what you would expect from an old Holiday Inn. Here is an opportunity to make a better impression and enhance your spa experience.
10. There is an exhaust vent in the bath (room 236) that doesn't work. The fan rotates in the wind and it makes noise at night.
11. The refrigerator in the room is noisy.
12. The air conditioning is noisy. We just turned it off.
13. Electronic clock has numbers that are dark letters with a light background. It illuminates the room at night. Consider a different clock.
14. The facility is just tired. Their business must be very good. I think they suffer from the "success syndrome". If you don't like it, the next person will. There is enough business to do well financially so we don't need to put out much effort.

I don't want to come across as just complaining. I just want me fellow trip advisor friends to get an honest assessment. I hope they will do the same for me.

Room Tip: Select a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TJDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,448 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $193 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing