We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time in Santa Fe !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Collierville
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Santa Fe !!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great little boutique hotel .... Front desk awesome upgraded us to a nice suite with wicked balcony!!! Loved the spa!! The restaurant was ok..... Nice furnishing in room....big comfy bed!! We'll stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. It brings us great pride that your enjoyed The Spa at Loretto and your accommodations. We are thrilled that you will be staying with us again!

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    504
    222
    127
    52
See reviews for
355
712
79
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went to Inn at Loretto for 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a nice location but worn. There is a general lack of attention to detail.

A few tips for the operation:
1. Valet Parking staff is not very friendly. They could open the car door for a woman when arriving and departing. A little friendliness would be helpful.
2. Front desk generally under staffed. Not very friendly. Front desk area is cluttered with storage room visible.
3. Spa. It really is just a few treatment rooms. You have to walk past the banquet service area to get there. The banquet staff should avoid yelling instructions to each other in the public area.
4. The staff generally does not greet customers in hallways, etc.
5. Bathtub did not drain properly. Requested maintenance to check it. No one ever checked it. I assume a breakdown at the front desk.
6. A curved shower rod in the bath tub would be beneficial.
7. The fireplace has been converted from wood to candles. They provide matches but the match isn't long enough to light the little oil lamp. Consider using longer matches. A good example of the lack of attention to detail.
8. Our daughter ordered a bottle of wine and a cheese tray as a surprise for us. The wine arrived. When we thanked our daughter, she asked about the cheese tray. We called the restaurant and they apologized. They forgot. They had billed our daughter. They did deliver a cheese tray.
9. For a spa, the soaps, etc. in the bath were what you would expect from an old Holiday Inn. Here is an opportunity to make a better impression and enhance your spa experience.
10. There is an exhaust vent in the bath (room 236) that doesn't work. The fan rotates in the wind and it makes noise at night.
11. The refrigerator in the room is noisy.
12. The air conditioning is noisy. We just turned it off.
13. Electronic clock has numbers that are dark letters with a light background. It illuminates the room at night. Consider a different clock.
14. The facility is just tired. Their business must be very good. I think they suffer from the "success syndrome". If you don't like it, the next person will. There is enough business to do well financially so we don't need to put out much effort.

I don't want to come across as just complaining. I just want me fellow trip advisor friends to get an honest assessment. I hope they will do the same for me.

Room Tip: Select a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not see any environmentally friendly practies.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed one night at the hotel on our way home from a Ski Vacation. Our plans changed at the last minute and we found the room on Expedia. We didn't know much about the area when we made the reservation but the hotel was in a great location. Next door was the Loretto Chapel and the Plaza was a quick walk down the street. Our room was snug with the two beds and a roll a way but we were appreciative of being able to get 5 in the room. Overall, the facility was nice; we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We purchased this stay on Living Social so the price was very good. The hotel was very nice and quiet overall. We were a little disappointed that we were given a handicap room which limited the use of the bath for two people. The room was clean and neat, a little dark and but nicely furnished. The bed was very very comfortable. We had a second floor patio shared with another room but still private.
We had dinner at the hotels Luminaria restaurant. The meal was very good and a very nice presentation. It was a little pricey but average for other Sante Restaurants of the same quality. We were a little disappointed that you are not allowed to take cocktails on the restaurant patio in a glass due to the pool. I enjoy good scotch in a glass. I would recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: The location is close to most of old downtown Sante Fe but with minimal traffic. East, West and Sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azrenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in early April, looking for a high quality rest, relaxation and spa experience.
Most of that did happen and considering the mixed jumble of reviews for this place, I can honestly say that the staff do try to please.
There is no doubt that the rooms are a disappointment. It is an older hotel that is quite authentic to Santa Fe, but if you are looking to spend a significant amount of time in your room, you may find them small, lacking amenities and poorly laid out.
Coming from a humid climate, a humidifier in the room would have been most helpful. I understand that the weather is dry dry dry in Santa Fe, however, if you are not used to it, you could be in for a restless nights sleep.
The beds were ok. We found the bed to be quite springy
There was construction going on, which I understand was specifically to improve the room quality, so perhaps they are on their way.
The hotel itself is quite pretty, with a good selection of shops to keep you occupied and if that tires you out, the lobby bartenders will keep you hydrated with a pretty interesting array of cocktails.
The restaurant Luminaria was excellent! It truly is a shame to hear poor reviews of this place because our experience was anything but! The service was efficient, classy and aimed to please. The food was so good, we ate there again several times during our stay.
My only complaint was not having 24 hour in room dining. We both struggled with high altitude sickness and found ourselves in and out of our room at obscure times, wanting to eat at late hours.
The front desk staff seem to have mixed reviews on here as well. The majority of the time that I encountered them, the phone was ringing off the hook in combination with people continuously coming and going, asking for help, etc. Perhaps the problem is not the staff, it is the lack thereof.
Charise was outstanding. Multitasking with an unwavering warm smile on her face, she is truly a remarkable employee.
I could say the same with respect to the valet staff. For the most part, helpful and efficient, but definitely needing more bodies out there to manage the constant flow of cars coming in and out of the hotel!
The spa was a nice experience, in spite of the rather pricey services. Kelly was very helpful in providing information about the spa, the hotel and pretty much anything you need to know about Santa Fe.
The fitness room is decent, on the small side, but never had an issue getting to use the equipment.
The location is perfect, we rented a car for our stay and never really needed to use it.

Get the Legacy card, particularly if you plan on eating in the hotel regularly and using the spa.

All in all, this was a good experience. There is room for improvement, but it appears to be that they are working on it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great stay at the Inn. We weren't happy with our first room and the staff went out of their way to find us another room. It was cold weather while there so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor, pool and patios but it was still a terrific experience. The location is perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit dark so if you have a choice you might keep that in mind. We had a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ulick262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind compliment regarding our staff at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. We strive to provide a unique experience for all our guests and it brings us great pride that we accomplished this for you.

We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rooms vary in size, view, balconies and how thick the walls are. Some rooms are tiny, with shared balconies and paper thin walls. Others are large, nice and have private balconies. If you get a small room, it will suck. if you get a nice room, it will be a good trip. Just do not hesitate to ask for another better room.

Pool view rooms seem to be the best. We were in 438 (after seeing a couple of smaller ones), which was quiet, big and has a private, small balcony. Ask for a good room and switch if you are not happy.

Restaurant is spotty - some dishes are really good, others not so. Make sure you get the "Legacy" card which entitles you to 20% off meals.

Overall, we enjoyed this. We got a good discount (Living Social at $100/night), so for the rate, the room and location could not be beat.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room - they vary in size quite a bit. Some are pretty bad... ours was good. Poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DallasJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing