We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inn and Spa at Loretto to your Saves list
Inn and Spa at Loretto
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Spacious Outdoor Dining
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Comfortable Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Loretto for a week just after Christmas with the idea of doing some skiing at Ski Santa Fe.

The hotel is well located in the main town. It is a nice ambiance particularly in the winter. There is a fire going in the main bar area. The hotel makes you feel as though you are in old Santa Fe and there are interesting local photos and antiques throughout the place.

We had a standard room which was comfortable and not a bad size. I found it a bit dark as it had only one window leading out to a small balcony. The light in Santa Fe is so beautiful that there were times were I would like to have enjoyed the day light while relaxing in the room. The bathroom was nothing special with a standard tub and toilet area and a separate sink area and small closet. Our room was located not far from the elevator and the walls were not very soundproof. We would likely stay here again and request a room with more windows and well away from the elevator even if it meant paying more for it.

The hotel restaurant, Luminaria is excellent. The breakfast was superb and the atmosphere is really nice in the winter with the fireplace going and lots of sunlight. We had breakfast here every day and lunch quite a few times as well. It is worth staying at the Loretto, in our opinion, just so you can enjoy breakfast without having to go out.

There is a charge for valet parking but we just factored that in to the cost of the stay. There is little or no parking in the town itself and it is handy to just hand your keys over and go.

On whole I would recommend the Loretto.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the elevators that has more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    412
    180
    101
    44
See reviews for
287
597
63
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is impressive upon arrival; a huge, imposing adobe building, with burning torches at night, the requisite Santa Fe sculptures. The "Living Room" lounge area is comfortable and featured a talented singer/guitarist on the weekend. There are lovely shops all along the corridor and the property adjoins the chapel next door with the "miracle staircase." All feels very authentic.

The bummer, though, is the rooms. Painted super dark maroon, and with not-very-powerful CFL lightbulbs, they were dark and cramped. Even with the drapes open not much light came in. The bed was luxuriously comfortable, and all that darkness makes for good sleeping conditions. The power tools in the room above us starting at 9 a.m. put a quick end to that, however (couldn't they wait until after 11, checkout time?).

There is free coffee for guests until 10 a.m., just inside the restaurant, and it was good (I drink half-caf, and even the decaf was really good - a rare thing). They need sleeves for the cups; I nearly burned myself twice trying to take a couple of paper cups back up to the room.

The location is great for walking around downtown Santa Fe and to Canyon Road, not too far away. You won't want to take your car out very often anyway, since it's valet only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaytee1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is nice. Paying us$ 19/day for the valet (only option for parking) although expected still is going to make rethink the choice for next time. The spa massages were wonderful but pretty expensive. Staff is nice and the food is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sissoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel, building and rooms, embodies all that is nice and attractive about Santa Fe, even down to the smell.
Sadly, Customer service, Restaurant/food and the expectation created is not up to par.
Make doubly sure you understand what you're reserving and what package you're buying; I'd recommend just buying the room and avoid the packages altogether.
It is a lovely setting with a great location, it is strange why they feel they need to embellish.
Will I come back?: Not sure, fighting for explanations is not my idea of a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Get one with a little balcony, don't expect much from the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warrior2Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

the best location in Santa Fe! Rooms are small, balcony availability is very exaggerated, but staff is welcoming. The lounge is fun in the evening. Be sure to check the operating hours of any place you plan to visit.
Restaurant and spa are both top notch. The Eggs Benedict are terrific.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I appreciate your generous review regarding The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I apologize for the rooms not meeting your expectations, but thank you for mentioning our staff, Luminaria Restaurant, and The Spa at Loretto.

Please stay with us again during your next trip to Santa Fe and be sure to dine in Luminaria for lunch or dinner. Chef Brett Sparman is guaranteed to impress you again.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A friend who'd lived in Santa Fe told me this was her favorite hotel. It's gorgeous. When you pull your car up to the check-in, the adobe facade gives that wow you're looking for when you go to a high-end resort.

We bought a Living Social, which gave us a tremendous deal for a couple of days. ($110/night, before all the add-ons, which are many.) We had a great time, but there were a few issues.

When I had booked, the hotel rep told us the superior king would have sleeping for three. (We had our 16-year-old with us.) It didn't even have an over-sized living room chair. They were fine about changing our room to a queen.

One of the problems I have with the hotel is, considering it's size, the lack of meaningful common areas. A strip of galleries and shops, for instance, is nice, but I'd enjoy them as much if they were near the hotel and not in it. I want spaces where I can interact with other guests.

The pool might be that kind of place. And the pool is open from sunrise to midnight, which is rare. Unfortunately, during our visit in March, it was too cold to really enjoy the pool, and nobody hung out there. I was surprised to hear that there is not hot tub. Even the world-class spa here lacks the option of just paying a fee to hang out in a hot tub. It's treatments only.

Another issue we faced was major construction. Hammering and power tools were in operation throughout our stay in a room very close to ours. Fortunately, a guest services person told us that we could bring a bottle of wine and our computers to the lobby bar (nicely named The Living Room), though we did get hassled by a waiter who hadn't gotten the word.

Lastly, I hate valet-only parking. I tip well whenever I get my car. When we decided we wanted to go to Canyon Road galleries, the valet gave us directions but didn't make it clear this was just a couple of blocks away and silly to drive. (I think he just wanted that extra tip!)

Oh, and the room was a bit dusty.

But although some of these gripes might suggest serious problems, I should make it clear that, overall, my friend was right. This is a fabulous property. The rooms are lovely. The shared balconies splended (though ours lacked much of a view.) The fitness center well-equipped. And the staff was generally friendly and professional.

Room Tip: As for rooms far from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManitouWarren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I had been to Santa Fe several years ago and stayed right on the Plaza We wanted to try another hotel but still be close to the historical downtown. Family recommended the Inn and Spa at Loretto. Everyone from the Valet staff to the Housekeeping staff could not have been more accommodating. We decided to eat in the Lobby Bar our first night and both had incredible dishes. We enjoyed the food so much we ended up eating dinner in the main dining room the next night and our final night back at the Lobby Bar. The wait staff at every meal were all attentive to our needs. Our food was outstanding and presentation beautiful. We will definitely pass on excellent reviews to our family and friends. Can't wait to return to the Inn and to Luminaria.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gillyj49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#22 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing