We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place but be prepared for valet only parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
OK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place but be prepared for valet only parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here in February. Lovely place. Spacious rooms, quiet, excellent staff. However, there is no self-park option and valet cost is around $20 a day. There is also a "resort" fee per guest. I'm not exactly sure what "extras" we got for the fee. But this place is wonderful, clean, and close to everything! The staff knows the area and is very helpful with recommendations! I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an end room. Some rooms in the middle hallways have 1 (if at all) small window. End rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluv2goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Inn and Spa at Loretto. We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, staff, and location. Thank you for emphasizing these features as it is always wonderful for other visitors to read. With that said, I would like to mention that you are correct about us offering valet parking with a fee for the convenience of our guests however, there are complimentary self-parking options right across the street for visitors who prefer to park themselves. In addition, our service fee covers wireless internet access, local and toll-free telephone calls, morning newspapers, and in room coffee and tea. The fee also covers gratuity for room attendants, our morning coffee station in Luminaria, fresh fruit, daily art demonstrations, fitness room, yoga classes, business center, and more. I hope this is helpful.

Our policy is for our front desk and reservations team members to explain the above to our guests during check-in and at the time of securing reservations. I regret and apologize that this did not happen in your case. We are graciously looking forward to your next visit to Santa Fe. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    456
    196
    115
    50
See reviews for
320
653
71
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto is one of the most comfortable, unique hotels I have stayed in. Room decor was specific to Santa fe, giving it a memorable appeal. Hotel staff were accommodating and pleasant. My only concern was the connecting balcony outside of my room (actually had an adolescent guest streak across the window area!), however this is easily ignored with pulled shades. Overall I was satisfied with the hotel as well as its convenient local.

Room Tip: You may want to consider choosing a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff was uninformed of special event. The nickel and dime charges for any special requests for deliveries were ridiculous for an upscale hotel. Front desk staff was overwhelmed and not very accommodating. Other hotel staff have have been a delight. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The beds super comfy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is on the older side, but is clean and comfortable. Location is FANTASTIC.
I was a little dissapointed with the hotel for the following reasons.
1. Room is very dark. Needs more lighting in the room. The room only had a small french door onto a balcony and NO other windows in the room.
2. I booked a room with a fireplace, however the fireplaces don't work - they only have a candle in them.....
3. The spa was way overpriced for the amenities included. No actual spa, sauna, changing rooms etc. You are taken in the room where the massage is done, and asked to undress and get under the sheet on the table.
They say it is "RANKED 19TH IN THE UNITED STATES ON THE CONDÉ NAST TRAVELER'S 2012 READERS' POLL". I find this very hard to believe, as I have been to many different spa's in most of the major cities in the US, and this spa is far below the average.
Overall, the hotel is priced well for what you get, just don't expect luxury at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zigenbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Inn and Spa at Loretto, a historic property and beautiful haven of relaxation and restoration, was redesigned in 2008. The Inn has a sophisticated slightly monastic ambience blended with Southwestern charm. Our earth toned, Superior King room featured a candle lit kiva fireplace, handpainted wall border, traditional designed club chairs, oversized carved wood furniture, huge wall mirrors, a four poster bed and a lush view of evergreens from our French doors opening onto a shared dining patio lit by electric luminarias.

The hotel's dining options are the popular restaurant, Luminaria —including fresh herbs from the hotel garden, organic ingredients and local produce and The Living Room (pet friendly dining).

The hotel's solicitous service begins at curbside—Scott, the car valet, voluntarily brought my luggage to the room immediately and repeated his mantra “I’m here for you always”.

The presentation and excellence of the room service breakfast made the $30 bill (oatmeal, grapefruit juice, coffee ,eggs, potatoes and bacon) palatable.

Guest amenities are superior —I enjoyed a restful night in a great bed with luxurious microfibre linens and complimentary WIFI. Even your pooch's well being is considered—an orthopedic sheepskin pet bed is provided.

Valet Parking is $20 (the only option available) per night in this convenient downtown location, however the fee is waived if driving a hybrid or eco-friendly car. The Inn is the only Green Key Level 4 certified hotel in Santa Fe.

A full service spa offers a tantalizing menu of services including cranial sacral massage and chakra balancing.

The famous Loretto Chapel, built in 1878, is adjacent to the hotel and is also a museum that hosts hundreds of weddings annually.

Pet fee is $20 daily per room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for this extensive review of The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the compliments regarding our design and décor, Luminaria Restaurant and The Living Room Lounge, and The Spa at Loretto. We are very thankful for the amazing history our inn represents and for our wonderful valet team, thank you for highlighting Scott.

You are correct about us offering valet parking with a fee for the convenience of our guests however, there are complimentary self-parking options in Santa Fe for visitors who prefer to park themselves. I apologize if this was not communicated effectively to you. Thank you for pointing out free parking with a hybrid or eco-friendly car. Not many guests know about that!

Thank you again for this wonderful review. Please stay with us again during your next trip to Santa Fe, we would love to have you.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I got married and had our reception at the Inn at Loretto. It was a small family ceremony and we all stayed at the hotel. I couldn't have been happier with their service in all of the departments (hotel, spa, restaurant/bar). The hotel is located in a great spot near everything in the square, and is beautiful from the outside.

We will definitely be going back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The upgraded King room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishflipmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnold, maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I like hanging out next to the fire place in the living room winter and summer. The rooms are smallish but comfortable. The common areas are great (except the public rest room on the first floor near the restaurant - get the fan fixed already). The food is above average and dining outdoors in the summer is a treat. The front desk staff has been good - a little brusk at times but some of the guests can really wear the staff out. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing