We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location next to Loretto Chapel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location next to Loretto Chapel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location for our first visit to Sante Fe. The hotel is beautiful outside. Inside is very nice. Our room was certainly comfortable & roomy. The hotel is right next door to Loretto Chapel & walking distance of The Plaza & most things you would want to see. We had dinner reservations @ Luminaria Restaurant on Thanksgiving night so that may have been why our menu was limited. There was a price fix of $65 each for 3 courses (appetizer, entree, dessert). I have to say the food was excellent & they did offer turkey, but $65 for turkey is a little pricey! Our bill for 2 of us was $200 (we each had 1 drink). I would probably stay here again, but maybe wouldn't eat @ this restaurant unless it were a special anniversary or something.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    456
    196
    114
    50
See reviews for
320
653
71
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel with an array of southwestern artistic shops. Large bar area with entertainment nightly. Twice weekly free yoga. Rooms were large but lightning wasn't very bright. Extra charges added approximately $35 daily to a $199 room fee. $18 daily for parking a car. Central location near Loretto Chapel and the Cathedral. Not far from the square and the public activities it embodies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jrsey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel and great services. Yummy quilts on the bed, adaquate gym, great restaurants and excellent services. It's located right in the heart of the main town, right off the square. You could probably walk to Canyon Road but save your energey and legs...cause that's an all day affaire. But such nice shops in the lobby you didn't really have to leave!!

Room Tip: All the views were great, especially at night. If you have the money, the "apartment" on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,406 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 888 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Inn and Spa at Loretto looks fabulous from the outside. It is built in the traditional adobe style allowing it to nicely blend in to the neighbourhood. The inside - both the public areas and the rooms - also reflect the Southwest with dark tiles, colourful blankets and tapestries and a kiva fireplace (at least in my room - #245).

I stayed in the hotel while attending a conference. The room rate of $139/night struck me as a very good price and I knew when I booked the room that there was a $14/day "resort fee". I find these annoying and unfortunately becoming all too popular at resorts throughout the U.S. but it wasn't a surprise. Others who have commented negatively about the fee should have known it would be charged and could have stayed elsewhere.

While I did not eat in the restaurant (we ate in a group in the private meeting rooms) I found the food to be good. Over several days we got a whirlwind tour of Southwest specialties and we weren't disappointed.

On the negative side, I found the hotel to be very dark including my room. Like another reviewer, I found the air conditioning system to quite noisy which did impact my sleep somewhat. The hotel is also looking just a little dated. I first stayed here in 2005 and didn't find that much has changed since then. However, you can't beat the location - mere steps from the downtown square and a short walk to Canyon Road and the multitude of galleries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room decor was very Santa Fe and cozy. I think there were 5 table lamps, plus track lights and a fireplace. Had an issue with hot water in the shower and bed was comfortable, but so soft our backs hurt a bit.. Spa service had great decor too and friendly service. Worth doing, but not as good as some other places we have visited when traveling. Drinks were a hi-lite; garden herbs in their concoctions which change weekly. All food was restaurant quality and delicious! Patio, airy and relaxing. Shops right across the street. We are ready to go back did not experience issues raised by some others. In fact, we had room service both days and the servers we encountered were cheerful and helpful. We thought the service fee was a little odd too, but you can't let little things ruin your fun. We traveled with friends celebrating birthdays and an engagement - they were happy too.

Room Tip: We asked for mountain view, but because we were on ground floor, there wasn't much view. We als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a really nice boutique hotel just a few blocks from the square. Right next door to the famous Loretto Chapel with the mystery staircase. The rooms are large but the bathrooms are a little on the small side but entirely adequate. They have a nice lounge area with comfortable seating and good entertainment on weekends.
The restaurant is really good but pricey. We got a great deal of 109.00 per night on a Living Social deal but another couple did not. However they were able to get a rate of 159.00 per night with a 50.00 per day credit to be used at the spa, restaurant, bar, or in room service so they came out well also. All in all I would stay here again if I could get the great rate.
We were disappointed that they did not have any fireplaces outside lit because of the time of year but we all felt we would have been happy to sit outside if they would have provided us with some warmth. The weather was actually quite nice, just a little crisp.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a corner room with the large patio. We were lucky enough to get one but the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Okie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Inn and Spa at Loretto on TripAdvisor. This city truly is amazing and we are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Santa Fe. I appreciate your comments regarding our location, rooms, and restaurant. Also, I thank you for mentioning our Living Social deal and Signature Package. I am thrilled you will return. Please feel free to contact me upon your next arrival.

Sincerely,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visited this hôtel as I made my way across the USA last month. It was recommended by my travel agent. I have visited many hotels across the world through years of travelling for business and pleasure but I can honestly say that I have never had a more negative experience.
However here are the positives- central position within Santa Fe, comfortable bed, cleanliness of the rooms.
The negatives are so numerous that I find it hard to write this review. Rather than go into all the details which could lead to a very lenghty epistle I'll focus on the main factors.
When you pay the costs of a hotel like the Inn you expect a certain standard of accommodation and staffing within the hotel as well as setting. While the hotel certainly delivered in terms of setting it failed to do so in all other aspects.
The room in which I stayed was like the Black Hole of Calcutta for most of the day. Luckily there was a patio which allowed me to receive some sunlight during my stay. The air conditioning sounded like an large aircraft coming into land, which was not conducive to sleeping. Since you are charged $14 dollars PER DAY for incidentals as a matter of course I would have expected that water in the room would have been free but this is not the case. It would have been paid for separately. ( I know this because another guest fell into this trap). The bathroom was clean but its decor was tired to say the least.
Staffing - surly, unhelpful, disinterested, ... I could go on but I am sure that I have said enough. The only thing that I can say in their favour is that many of the guests were having the same experience as myself. Checking should have given me an indicator of what was to come: young couple still waiting for their room 4 hours after they had arrived, another guest having a "discussion" with two receptionist over the number of rooms booked, an elderly couple trying to get their room changed with no success. Things could only have gotten better but they didn't.
In my opinion this is a hotel trying to be a something that it is not - a first class hotel. I would like to have said that there is potential but unless there is a huge turnaround here there is not.
In addition I find a hotel that automatically charges their guests $14 everyday for incidentals is quite unacceptable. In all my years of travel I have never had this experience anywhere else in the world.

Room Tip: Don't book one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing