We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Romantic Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This place was fabulous and they really take care of you well. The room had ample space and had an awesome sitting area. The rooms are quite private and no noise from adjacent rooms. The spa was awesome and the massage was splendid. We were just a couple blocks off the square and gave us the ability to walk every where and leave our vehicle parked. We will do it again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    456
    196
    114
    50
See reviews for
320
653
71
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I just spent a week with a conference group at the Loretto! I can't say enough nice things about the property! LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! I didn't need a car all week and got to see and do all types of activities! Great shopping
The conference center and staff were easy to work with. The AV guy (Johnathan) saved the day many times! Terry Aldahl runs a very fine show with a solid staff of banquet folks. A very professional group runs this hotel!
The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. This is not an area where one would want to spend too much time in the hotel room so a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom are appreciated.
The pool area is very quiet and relaxing!
I would return here anytime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sunny98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your generous comments regarding the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are grateful for our location and love the fact that our guests do not need transportation during their stay. We appreciate your kindness towards Jonathan and Terry, they really are great members of our “professional group.”

We hope during your next visit to Santa Fe you’ll stay at our Inn again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My recent stay at the Inn was quite enjoyable, the fron desk staff and valets were very helpful and attentive. The price was very reasonable given the great location of the inn in the heart of Santa Fe, I could certainly reccomend the Inn and Spa at Loretto to anyone considering a trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have lots to say, but the title really sums up what the appeal of this luxury in provides. It is located in the heart of the artistic downtown historical district of Santa Fe. They are simple in their size but large in their attentiveness and attempts to make guests feel "at home". Everything is in walking distance and there are tons of intimate little alcoves within the hotel but also in the historical, artsy formed streets of the square and surrounding area. Art in abundance. Beautiful display of art for sale and everything compliments each part of the hotel so well you end up wanting to explore every inch because you don't know what piece of beauty is right around the corner.
Great, top rated restaurant, accommodating in requests.
Our room was a wonderful balcony room right above the entrance of the hotel (#315). Now this might put a lot of people off but we thought it was a great pleasure to have such a view overseeing the main streets of Santa Fe. Rooms are simply decorated but so tasteful and welcoming the huge luxury expectation of a destination resort doesn't seem to matter. Only "concerns" no safe for passports, id's and other important items. Afterall, this is a destination which often means you plan to stay and settle in but don't want to have to carry around your valuables everywhere. The valet parking is the only option for their location. Once you see the streets of Santa Fe you will understand why. However, they have a large parking for their lot area which makes you wonder why they don't offer more than valet only. But hte valets are attentive and welcoming, well trained in our opinion and hold no huge expectation of tips but work hard for the extra often provided.
We will look forward to a visit again. Santa Fe is wonderful, this resort is wonderful and it was a real treat to be in such a home like welcoing environment.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms- great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pearcemail3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Suite 301 is over $500 a night, so you'd expect a certain level of excellence for that investment. To be quite honest, it's very, very disappointing. The room is old and dirty. The vent in the master bath has enough dust and soot to make a winter coat. The front desk people don't know enough about their own property to provide accurate descriptions of the rooms and suites. The carpet in this 1 bedroom suite is stained and disgusting, and there wasn't even shampoo or soap provided in the master bath. Come on AAA, this NOWHERE NEAR a 4 diamond property. This was a monumental disappointment that I spent nearly $550 dollars on. Sure, the location is close to the town square, but for this amount and AAA 4 Diamonds, one should expect something much better than what's provided. I feel cheated in a big way!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
I terribly regret that the suite product did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our most recent renovation in 2008 regrettably did not include some of the suites, instead the entire balance of the hotel was remodeled. This included guestrooms, corridors, meeting space, public space, and the restaurant – hence our AAA 4-diamond rating. We had intended to take care of the few remaining changes later, but could not do so due to the economic downturn. We recently announced restoration for the suite product to take place at the beginning of this coming year. We are excited for these changes and hope you come visit after the renovations are complete.

Please contact me if you’d like to discuss this issue further.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We just got took a really last minute trip from Denver to Santa Fe and the highlight of the weekend was the awesome live music that was in the bar at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We had such a great time, this hotel is in the BEST location to everything you want to do and see when visiting such a neat place like Santa Fe. Not to mention the hotel staff was so nice, it seemed like everyone went out of their way to say hi to us, the concierge even got us a coveted dinner reservation at a place we had already been told was booked for the night by the restaurant themselves!

In all, great service and location with a fun atmosphere, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently booked the Inn and Spa at Loretto for our wedding. We stayed in a junior suite for over a week, and had our reception in the Zuni ballroom.

We took advantage of all amenities in the hotel, including room service, the spa, valet, bell service, etc. Total, we spent approximately $12,000 with the room and the hotel.

Room was clean, bed was very comfortable, the reception went off without one hitch, and the service staff was excellent. Almost everything was great, and definitely deserving of all the accolades this hotel receives, with one glaring exception.

The booking staff was downright rude. They also neglected to block off enough rooms for our wedding party, which caused us a huge amount of stress. They didn't attempt to fix the situation, and instead said they would put our guests on a wait list. Thanks for nothing. Due to this, our wedding party (including immediate family) was scattered all over downtown Santa Fe instead of in one centralized location. When others in my family tried to check in that Saturday, there was another snafu that had my sister on the phone for over an hour. What a nightmare.

With the initial mess up in blocking the rooms, I emailed several key hotel staff members expressing my displeasure, and got absolutely no follow up. Considering we spent five figures at the hotel, I would expect at least a cursory apology.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilsun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing