We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our Route 66-themed condo, but beware BAD Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Marcy Hotel Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ft Marcy Hotel Suites for three nights while relocating from Florida to California. We were assigned #66, a one-bedroom, one-bath condo that was Route 66 themed. It was comfortable, clean and quiet, with a well-appointed kitchen that allowed us to cook breakfast and fix snacks each day. The only downside of our experience was the Internet. I was told when I made my reservation that the hotel had recently completed a $20,000 wifi upgrade. It seems to have made no difference, as the Internet reception is terrible and drops approximately half of packets sent. Despite the wifi issues, we had a lovely time and would stay here again (provided we brought our own hotspot).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank krwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

We are happy you enjoyed unit 66. The owners of that unit will appreciate your comments about their efforts to make their unit memorable for our guests. We have undergone an extensive upgrade with our internet, but as with all electronics there are often glitches. Because of your comments we were able to identify an area that needed further overlap. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, your feedback is truly our greatest asset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 681 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

every aspect of my trip was great. the hotel location was just close enough to the plaza. the unit in which we stayed was obviously furnished by someone who cared about their unit. it was beautiful. top quality. 2bed/bath. professionally cleaned. i can hardly wait to return to this great town and hotel.

Room Tip: if all the owners of the units care about their home as much as the unit in which we stayed, they wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

For those needing two bedroom/two bathrooms with large living area, excellent space. Tiny little terrace but we were out all day. On the hill above town so walkable going down, a bit of a challenge going up, but shuttle available during the day. Phone never worked and response to repeated requests was, " oh . . .maybe someone set it to pulse . . ." Internet didn't work till I brought my computer to office and they changed various settings. Stopped working again after a storm, again to office, assured it would work "now" but it didn't. No office staff at night and contact says 'emergency' for evenings, so hesitated to use it. AND anyway, the phone didn't work. Nor would they reimburse my roaming charges on the cell.
After requesting 2 bedrooms (from Hotels.com) arrived to find one bedroom with pull-out in living room with unusable mattress. We had to use the 'emergency' number and they changed the room. So we dragged our heavy bags back to the parking lot and over to new room. Once there, we were happy with the accomodations.
Re swimming pool, use only if a concrete room with no seating and dirty windows appeals. We passed on that.
The place served our needs, though, and the unit itself was quite OK, well stocked to allow dinners there easily, lots of soaps, etc. and basic kitchen supplies. Nice touch: coffee for first pot on first morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbcTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you for all you insightful comments, we will be using them to further improve our guest experience. We apologize for the confusion of you room type at check-in unfortunately we are at the mercy of others for accurate details regarding your stay. When we have the opportunity to discuss our guest specific accommodation needs prior to arrival, we are able to insure these details are not missed, so please feel to call us prior to your next visit to Santa Fe. Thank you for staying at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites in Santa Fe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

To add our experience to Trip Advisor ratings for Fort Marcy Santa Fe:
While not opulent (which is not our interest) the unit was nicely appointed in a manner befitting Santa Fe.
The unit was clean. As I am a bit OCD, particularly where kitchen items in rentals exist, I usually wash anything before using it. I didn't worry this time, as every other aspect of the 2 bedroom unit was entirely clean. Looked clean, felt clean smelled clean.
For the price of a moderate hotel room, we instead enjoyed a rather large living area, full kitchen, dining area, two bedrooms (one of which we did not use) and two bathrooms, which we enjoyed greatly, as that cost less time to get ready and more time to get out and enjoy Santa Fe.
Colin arranged our reservation, and checked us in. Brian checked us out. Both were friendly, helpful and delivered exactly what was expected. I can't speak to any resolutions of problems, because we had none. Even so, on our arrival, Colin made sure that we had the after hours number, and suggested we load that on our cell phones.
Brian suggested that we might enjoy trying one of the other 2 bedroom units next visit. We look forward to that, and will likely visit again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Living in Albuquerque we go to Santa Fe for the opera, meetings, etc and often don't want want to have to drive the hour back to Burque late at night. We have stayed several times at the Ft. Marcy Hotel Suites which are apartments with full kitchen, living room & dining room as well as bedrooms. We stayed in a one bedroom several months ago for $125 and last weekend stayed in a two bedroom two bath unit with friends for about $200. We had a picnic dinner for the opera but it rained so we just ate comfortably in our dining room.

All the rooms we have stayed in had fireplaces. The furniture has been comfortable but definitely generic southwest decor. The rooms have been very clean and pleasant. The units by parking lot B have beautiful views overlooking Santa Fe. One visit we had to park in a lot that required a trek up a very high staircase with our luggage to get to the units. We now avoid that. Everytime we need a room in Santa Fe this has been the best value for a comfortable stay.

The units are on the northern side of the Plaza and would require a good hike to the plaza. Opposite parking lot B is the Ft. Marcy Park which is great for an early morning run.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Thank you for your positive response about Fort Marcy. We endeavor to continually provide an unmatched accommodation option to visitors of Santa Fe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Old Fort Marcy Suites for three nights at the end of July 2011. We were disappointed in our one bedroom unit and the information given on the various travel sites. We booked through AAA which said they had a breakfast. When we showed up in the morning the front desk they said, "oh we haven't done that for a couple of years and the websites were out of date, not our fault", our unit was old and out dated. No outlet in bathroom or plug for bathtub. I told the front desk the room didn't look anything like the websites and again, "oh that isn't our fault all the units are different owners and different condition". We did see in some of the other units and they looked nice. So be aware that is property is very inconsistent and the front desk is not helpful at all. The pool area wasn't very nice. The only thing that was good about this property was we could walk downtown in about 10 minutes if you don't mind the walk back up the hill which was fine for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Your review was very helpful in letting us know about out of date information that sometimes exist on the internet. We will be researching the information on the AAA site and making the necessary changes to ensure they have correct details about Fort Marcy. As each unit is individual owned and decorated we often find some units appeal to some and not to others. We would ask on your next visit to Fort Marcy if your accommodations to not meet your personal expectations, please allow us to show you some other options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Fort Marcy Hotel Suites. We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath condo. The condo was well decorated and well-appointed - and spotless upon our arrival. The kitchen was slightly out-dated, but we didn't do any real cooking during our stay, so it didn't matter to us. The location is interesting - only a 10 minute walk from the Plaza, but up a pretty big hill, so that would definitely pose an issue for people with health/fitness issues. My daughter enjoyed using the (small) indoor pool and hot tub. Nice to have that amenity so close to the Plaza. We also really appreciated having access to the washer-dryers (shared, near the hotel office and not in the condo, but still good to have). Our only complaint was that the wi-fi was weak to the point of unusable. We rely on having access to the internet and were disappointed. But the management told us that the homeowners association was upgrading the internet connection in August, so this may no longer be an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Your comment regarding the Wi Fi has been dully noted and we are pleased to announce we have undergone a complete over hall of our Wi Fi system. With the latest upgrades we have improved our speed 4X along with a stronger signal strength.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,530 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 62 in Santa Fe
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
#11 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,206 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Marcy Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Address: 321 Kearney Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range: $109 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Marcy Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop a hill near the site of the original Fort Marcy from which the property took its name, the modern Fort Marcy provides guests with panoramic views of Santa Fe, the outlying deserts, and the distant Sangre de Cristo Mountains. Fort Marcy's 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom suites are spread throughout twelve different adobe buildings which sit on nine acres of natural and landscaped desert grounds. Stroll through meandering paths among shade trees, blooming cactus, and manicured gardens. Or return to your suite's fully furnished kitchen, separate living area, authentic kiva fireplace, or private balcony to enjoy the desert air or a famous Southwest sunset. Of course, Santa Fe's historic downtown lies just blocks away. For the Santa Fe getaway that's the ideal blend of luxury, convenience, and beauty, Fort Marcy may just be vacation perfection. Please Note: The Fort Marcy Hotel Suites pool will be closed for maintenance from February 21 to May 31, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Marcy Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Marcy Hotel Santa Fe
Fort Marcy Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing