We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Santa Fe
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Was a wonderful place to stay. Location was close and convenient to Plaza and scenery

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank JosephJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Santa Fe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 918 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

Well, all I can say is from the moment we arrived the room was not ready and then returned and had to wait again. We supposedly had the best king suite with a fireplace that wasn't worth the price. Then entered the room to find the light bulbs missing and ac off. Wow. Then the shower head did not work that had to be replaced and then the workers left footprints all the way to the bathroom. Contacted the president of this chain who replied and said he wanted to fix everything but haven't heard from him again. Real great customer service. They need some lessons from other area hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 200jellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSF_GM, Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Within the last few months we have been working with our housekeeping and engineering departments to update and refurbish our hotel. Our new head of housekeeping has been working with our front desk staff to have our guest rooms ready in a timely and professional manner. Within the last few weeks, we have been paying very special attention to our suites, and have revitalized them with a beautiful new décor keeping the southwestern style and adding to enchanting ambiance of the rooms. We have just added some updated photos of our improved Anasazi Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Sorry to say, but our recent stay at the lodge was very disappointing. We have stayed here for the last three summers, but this summer it was noticeable that the place needs some serious improvement. The pool was FILTHY the entire time we were there, so green that the bottom couldn't be seen. Repeated talks with the front desk yielded no results - in fact we were told the chemicals were fine it was just an algae problem and that it had been that way for five days. It stayed that way for the five days we were there as well. The rooms are very tired, the beds and linens need some serious upgrades, expecially the bedspreads which were flat out gross. We have stayed in different rooms, but the bathroom in this one was so small it was hard to go in and shut the door. The towels were hung over the toilet on a tree like rack due to lack of space, and extreme care needed to be taken in order not to drop them in. The shower drain no longer worked properly, so the water was up to your ankles by the time you were finished. Ice machines were pretty much nonexistent, with empty spaces where they used to be. Internet was down more than it was available, completely unreliable. The people at the front desk would smile and tell you maintenance would take care of the problems, but nothing ever happened.
Our previous stays were quite different from this one, but I am afraid we will have to find a new place next summer. Very unfortunate because we have always enjoyed our stays at the Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chicagomarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSF_GM, Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

This month The Lodge has been working hard to revitalize all areas of our hotel. I’m sorry to say that during a short period of time our pool was unbalanced and, while it was safe to utilize, clarity was an issue. Our pool is now its original crystal blue color, and our new maintenance staff is making sure it stays that way. Also, all of our departments are working together to make sure each of our rooms is being given individual attention so that we may assure that they are all of the same quality and class. All of our rooms now have brand new linens, as well as a new line of delicately scented amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel, located just outside of the Santa Fe plaza, on a hill side, overlooking a major highway and the gorgeous landscape provided by the mountains and the New Mexico everlasting sky, is a smart place to stay. It looks especially inviting.

My wife and I booked a mini-suite that is detached from the main part of the hotel. It is easily accessed to the rear of the main hotel, and is private, with a very short, scenic walk though a nicely landscaped courtyard to the large, attractive and comfortably cool swimming pool. We thanked the stars it was not just a shallow wading pool that was heated as if meant to bathe in. We exercised in it and floated to our hearts' content. The pool is surrounded by a grand patio filled with chaise lounges, tables and chairs and a large kia (outdoor fireplace for cool nights). It also has a very clean spa. It may be important to note that smoking is allowed in the outdoor pool area. This may be a turn off to some, but to smokers who are not allowed to have a few puffs nearly everywhere in Santa Fe (and all of New Mexico), it is a blessing.

To add to that, there are no smoking rooms available in this hotel, but if you get a room with a balcony, you are allowed to smoke there. And why not? It is interesting to note that New Mexico law does not entirely prohibit smoking in its hotels. Their hotels are allowed to reserve no more than 20% of their rooms to smoking. This hotel, however, chooses to have no smoking rooms (other, very nice hotels in the area do allow smoking if this is an issue). A few of the restaurants with large patios allow smoking outside, but most eateries in Santa Fe are small and do not allow it.

The room: Ours was spacious, but smelled odd when we first got there. After housekeeping came the next day, the odor was gone. Even though there is a good refrigerator and a small microwave in a cabinet that includes an older model TV , there is no "wet bar" as advertised. Then again--what is a wet bar? A table and only one hardwood "Santa Fe" chair is included, with a padded bench to its side. It is adequate, but not comfortable, really. There is also a comfortable leather sofa bed, which we did not use, since it does not face the TV. If it were folded out for sleeping, we would have had to crawl over it to get around the bed.

VERY BAD: The bed is barely comfortable, unfortunately, and practically ruined our stay. Since I had spine surgery a while ago, I found I need a good bed. This was not the case. It is large enough, but the springs have sprung. It sits too low, too. And the bottom sheet popped up all night long, which awakened us every night until they finally fixed the problem. So, I had a sore back most of our stay because of the old, tired bed. This issue is major. Another problem is the shower. There is nothing to grab onto--that is a hazard. And the shower head is low for even a 5' 4" woman (my wife), and I stand at 6' 5". Bad.

The positives of this room is that is it large, has a huge balcony (not all do), and is well decorated, Santa Fe style. Housekeeping is excellent! They fixed every problem they could. New, bigger pillows, two chairs for the balcony, larger sheets. Whatever was in their power to repair, they did pronto with smiles. I commend the entire staff for being courteous, friendly and cooperative. And the air conditioning works. BUT the windows are broken, and when we tried to open them, we had to fix them ourselves, and they would not open again. We could not take advantage of the nice night air.

We had the good fortune to run into the manager of the hotel--a very pleasant man. He explained that new beds would be forthcoming soon (as soon as the money becomes available). I hope that time somes very soon.

Cheryl and I did not use the shuttle service, buit I heard it is efficient. We drove so we took our vehicle everywhere, and we are glad we did. Santa Fe is a walking town only in the plaza area, but considering the altitude and the heat in July, driving from place to place worked well. Parking is not as bad as I was told it would be. Driving is confusing and funny (pack a sense of humor!) because this is an OLD town made up of cow paths which wind and become a different street name in the blink of an eye. You must have a car to get to and from the hotel and Santa Fe plaza or any other area in or around Santa Fe.

BAD: One day when we returned to our parking space near our room, we found it was littered with broken bottles of beer, with two empty beer bottles placed just where our vehicle's front tires would rest. This was scary. It seems anyone can drive around the main hotel to the area where we were located. Why would someone do this? Maintenance took care of it immediately, but who did this, we had to wonder? Security may be an issue here.

Food: The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast daily, but we did not partake. When we wanted to eat there for dinner, we were told it was open only on weekends. In town, 3/4 fourths of the eateries offer mostly southwestern or Mexican menus, which is fine, but tiresome. Find your way to Mediterranean restaurants, French cafes and American spots for variety. Also check out Whole Foods and Trader Joe's for ready made foods that will save money. Bumble Bee's is delicious and inexpensive, as is Tomasita's (where the wait is long). There are more than enough chain restaurants in the area. Check out Frommer's guide to Santa Fe (online or in the bookstore) for the best places to eat and places to go. I would say that too many of the eateries are no better than Chevy's, but who comes here for the food anyway? It's the scenery that takes the prize here.

Go to Albuquerque for much better prices on art work, pottery and jewelry. It's only an hour away. And take a drive to Taos--the ride itself is spectacular. It is just 1 1/2 hours away from Santa Fe. Santa Fe plaza shopping is nice, but overpriced. Go there to gawk and eat.

The altitude will affect you,no matter what shape you are in. Athletic types who have moved to New Mexico told me it took weeks, even months for them to be able to run or exercise normally. Prepare yourself for headaches and dizziness. DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOL as you would normally. Dehydration is unhealthy, and you must drink much more water than you would back home in the flat lands. If you take medication, ask your doctor how it might be affected. It may be important. Drink lots and lots of water!!

New Mexico is a fantastic place to visit. We went there for the scenery and we were not disappointed in any way. WOW!!! And The Lodge at Santa Fe, once it gets all new beds, will be our destination hotel from here on when we visit the beautiful Santa Fe region .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikehwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I was very satisfied with my stay at the Lodge. I had a beautiful room with nice furniture and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little older, but everything worked fine. I especially liked the toiletries. All the staff I had been in contact with was always super-friendly and accomodating. The only thing is there really is no way to get to the plaza on foot. There is a free hotel shuttle that runs once an hour, which helps a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Spent two nights at the Lodge with my spouse. I am surprised by the negative reviews.
The room and bathroom were large and the decor was very nice. Air conditioner worked very well but was a bit on the noisy. Pillows were a bit uncomfortable.

Pool was large and lots of lounge chairs available. Also had a great jacuzzi. Towels were available at the front desk on the way to the pool. Also had an exercise room with T.V.

Breakfast and service at the hotel was very good.

The hotel is located close in downtown and has a shuttle service available

All staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandgirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I booked this hotel after getting tired of bidding on priceline and getting rejected. the rate I found on travelocity of $83/night seemed like a great value after reading that the hotel had updated their towels and toiletries.

First impression...we called the hotel while on 84/285 coming from Taos. We lost the directions, so we called to ask how to get to the hotel from 84/285. the guy told my friend to get off at Alamo, you can't miss it. She asked if there was any landmarks we could look out for. He said no, you can't miss it. Well, we didn't miss it, but his instructions were incomplete and not helpful.
So we check in and the kid (Gavin maybe?) was slow to checkin, especially since we had prepaid for the room. Just out of curiosity, we asked if breakfast was included. He said no. The way he said it, i just assumed that they didn't have dining facilities.
We go to our room and are pleasantly surprised. Everything is clean and up to date. Even feels extra cozy. The room was very hot upon checkin, but we turned on the air and within the hour, we were good to go.
After settling in, we went back to the front desk. We asked him if he had (bald guy with glasses) any recommendations of places to get a drink in the area that were within walking distance, he said no. (note the no responses from front desk help).
So we just walked around the hotel grounds and even though it was dark, we could tell they were just gorgeous. We tried to go into the pool area, trying nearly every entrance, but couldn't get it. The pool wasn't closed yet, so we were curious. later we found the trick to get in and we even laughed a little when we saw several other people later have the same fate as us.

So besides the service, the only fault I give this place is that tub is not up to date. the room is in great condition, and the tub has dirty stained tile and drained slowly. Hint: when you turn on the water, just turn it on very little, then pull the shower then up, when the shower comes on, turn the water knobs to desired temp. If you don't, expect water up to your ankles as you shower.

Service: besides the kid that was slow to check us in, the thing that really made me mad was when we checked out. I had to use the restroom one last time before hitting the road. I ask where the public restroom was and was told upstairs. There i find a resturant (people enjoying breakfast) with a lounge. Let's see, when we ask if breakfast was included, we were not told of an option of even getting breakfast if we paid for it. Then the guy says there is no place to get a drink, but they have a lounge upstairs. Geez people, do you want guests to spend money at your hotel???? Seriously?!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.4 mi away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,329 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
777 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Rey Court
El Rey Court
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
11.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Santa Fe

Address: 750 N Saint Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87501-5100 (Formerly Radisson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: $111 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Santa Fe is fully decorated to celebrate the wonder and awe of the Southwest’s most notable city. Located just five minutes to the Santa Fe plaza and historic attractions, the Lodge at Santa Fe is a unique hotel with cultural style. Gardunos restaurant onsite serves fresh 'New Mexican' cuisine, and our guests enjoy hand crafted furniture and breathtaking architecture. Beautiful stone flooring, Native American weavings patterns and weavings, and spacious suites with Kiva fireplaces are all part of the experience. The Lodge at Santa Fe has a complimentary shuttle to the historic Santa Fe plaza, plus free WiFi and parking. Experience the magic of Santa Fe when you book your visit at The Lodge at Santa Fe. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
Lodge Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing