We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor service overshadowed a good hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge at Santa Fe
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor service overshadowed a good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I used a Living Social deal to book 4 nights. My friends in one room and me in another. I booked mine first. When my friends reserved theirs, they specifically asked for a room close to mine. The hotel said this was not a problem. I arrived first and was again assured that their room was across from mine. My friends' flight had been cancelled and they would not arrive until the next morning. The front desk said they would continue to hold the room. However when they arrived the next morning, the 2 men at the front desk said the room had been given to some one else at 9am. He corrected himself to say 9pm. My friend had talked to the hotel at midnight so someone LIED! The room had already been given to another guest! Furthermore we had paid for 4 nights so that room was paid for in full. The hotel made a sweet little profit. No voucher was offered for their trouble, instead they were placed on the other side of the hotel which could not have been further from my room. Extremely poor customer service. We dined in the hotel restaurant once and I would not return. Taco salad was missing flavor, the fruit salad was also below average. Good margaritas though. The maintenance man was very kind and helpful. Rooms were clean and updated. It's too bad that their poor service skills overshadowed what was otherwise a very relaxing vacation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Corrina S,

Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in the service at our property. We strive to meet all of our guest requests. Unfortunately on occasion these things do happen. I wish you had spoken with me about this experience as I would have been happy to compensate you for this misfortune. Please feel free to contact me with any future questions of concerns.

Kind Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    248
    184
    104
    79
See reviews for
180
316
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

A couple weeks ago I was driving from Arizona to Colorado alone. I decided to stop in Santa Fe because it was getting dark and I was exhausted. I found a great deal for the Lodge at Santa Fe, so I booked it! As I entered Albuquerque I began to have a panic attack due to drinking 3 red bulls, eating only chex mix, and driving for 8 hours on only a few hours of sleep (packing the night before took a lot longer than anticipated). When I arrived at the Lodge at Santa Fe at about 10 p.m., I was very weary and distressed. The young lady at the front desk could tell I was upset and consulted and talk to me to calm me down. She was so sweet and personal, and truly cared about me. When I walked into the room I was surprised how nice it was for the price I paid. The room was clean, large, and a wonderful ambiance. Unfortunately when I woke up the next day to hit the road again, I forgot my iPad under my covers. I didn't realize that I left my iPad until I got home the next day. I immediately called the hotel and left a message with house keeping because it was late and they weren't there. Christina Gonzalez from house keeping called me back and and reported that she had found an iPad in the same room I stayed in. She charged the iPad to make sure it was mine and the hotel sent it to me the same day! Only being 20 and in college I usually do not care how well the staff is. But until then I've never encountered a staff that truly cared about their customers and their well-being. The fact that they worked so hard to get my iPad back to me so fast is unbelievable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Katrina E,

Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed our staff and facility. We pride ourselves on customer service, and I will be sure to pass your notes along to my staff so they may keep up the good work! We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We recently had our wedding at The Lodge at Santa Fe. We stayed there 3 nights as did many family members. We checked in late and went to our room and then straight to dinner at their restaurant. The margaritas were fantastic and so was their salsa. The food was Ehh not fantastic but not horrible. Once coming back to our room we realized it wouldn't work as we had our two kids. They had no problems moving us with no surcharge. The staff was fantastic from the front desk person, to the banquet staff, to the sales manager who handled the wedding planning. They went above and beyond what we had ordered and with many requests from us and family they handled them with ease.
The hotel room was clean and spacious. Room service was there daily and great. The pool wasn't open yet but they were cleaning it so I imagine soon. We were missing a remote in our room for the tv and they fixed that right away. Check out and in was easy and quick. The view is beautiful and the grounds were fantastic to have the wedding on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am so glad you were able to enjoy our property for your wedding! We do have beautiful event space and love catering to our wedding parties. I will pass your notes along to my staff and managers. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We needed one night close to town so we could enjoy a late concert. Using hotel tonight app this appeared to be a value.
So sorry we didn't spring for another twenty bucks and stay at La Paloma, or Hotel Chimayo! Pool closed even though it said it would be open in May. We wanted a morning swim. Hot tub jets broken and when we reported it there was a tepid, uninterested response. Carpets dirty and worn in the public areas, room décor Southwest cliché and cheaply done. When we went to find coffee in the lobby (most hotels have something!) we were told they had water only coffee was in the room. We all know how crappy that coffee experience is. Overall just so mediocre so not a value at all.

Room Tip: Just find another place in our beautiful city to stay! We have wonderful options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TwinFlames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear TwinFlames,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. Our pool will indeed open in Mid-May as it is still a bit cold for a seasonal pool here in Santa Fe (we had snow just last week!). It is true we do not have coffee available in the lobby however we are happy to provide in-room Seattle's Best Coffee as well as Starbucks Coffee in our restaurant. I'm sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused for you. We are always striving to create a more comfortable environment for our guests so I do appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for your review and I hope we have the privilege of serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We were on a whirlwind road trip from Minnesota over Spring break and had spent a day and night in Taos. From Taos we drove the High Road to Chimayo, stopped at a museum in Los Alamos and hiked the Cliff Dwellings at Bandelier. Tired and headed to Santa Fe we booked the first hotel we saw on Hotel Tonight. It was the Lodge at Santa Fe and we paid under $79 for a King room. We were thrilled because it was right off the highway on the way in from the north. We were given a front room with a view toward Santa Fe and the mountains. It was large and nicely decorated with southwestern flare. We had a delicious Margarita with chips at the adjoining bar and sat outside enjoying the view. Later we used the spa as the pool was not open yet for the season. Our only complaint with the Lodge was that the WiFi never worked in our room. We called the desk and reported it in person. They said they rebooted the modem but the only connectivity we had was sitting in their pleasant lobby near the front desk. It was like that for two days. So we would sit in the lobby if we needed to be online. We were sightseeing in Santa Fe most of the time anyway.

They have a free shuttle to the Plaza, but someone at the desk told us we could park free in town at the Capitol lot and since we wanted to see it we took his good advice and drove the short distance into the old part of Santa Fe.

This hotel worked out fine for us at $79 a night, if we had paid more I would be less happy with the lack of WiFi. Go into Santa Fe to eat, the one dinner we had at the connecting restaurant was the blandest of our trip to New Mexico.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KCSaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear KCSaw,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at The Lodge at Santa Fe. We are proud to offer beautiful scenic views from our guest rooms and The Hilltop Lounge. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the Southwestern decor, we strive to give our guests an authentic cultural experience when visiting Santa Fe. Regarding the WiFi issues, we were having some technical difficulties for a couple of days although I am happy to report that everything is back up and running now. We are also gearing up to open the swimming pool for the season. We hope to see you next time!

Kind Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stay here a few times a year. If we can book a reasonable rate ($90 or less), I would say its a good value. The property itself is pretty, but we were there in April and the swimming area could sure use some attention. The pool was still covered, some of the chairs had torn fabric and bird poop, and the hot tub was out of order. They did forget to clean our room one day of a 4 night stay. The view is nice. Parking is fair. They really need to update the televisions. They are not flat screen, and the picture in every room we have stayed in seems like there is a loose connection it is so fuzzy. We still enjoy this hotel, it has a nice Santa Fe feel. We will be back hoping to see improvements.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thebryano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Thebryano,

Thank you for your review of The Lodge at Santa Fe. It is always great to hear feedback from our return guests. We are constantly working on improvements and upgrades to our property and you can look forward to seeing some changes on your next visit! Thank you again for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay in Santa Fe. The Lodge is very, very comfortable and they are so welcoming, thoughtful and kind. The front office manager Tom went above and beyond to make us comfortable in our stay. Because of my husband's physical disabilities he made sure the room was perfect for his needs. The rooms are so warm and cozy, very clean and well appointed. Everyone that works there is wonderful and very professional. The bed was soooo comfortable and cozy and I felt refreshed upon waking.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Front Office Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear DMKB,

Thank you for your kind words. I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and your husband while you were visiting our city! We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Tom A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#30 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
El Rey Inn
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Downtown
Garrett's Desert Inn
Garrett's Desert Inn
#45 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Santa Fe

Property: The Lodge at Santa Fe
Address: 750 N St Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Formerly Radisson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Santa Fe is fully decorated to celebrate the wonder and awe of the Southwest’s most notable city. Located just five minutes to the Santa Fe plaza and historic attractions, the Lodge at Santa Fe is a unique hotel with cultural style. Gardunos restaurant onsite serves fresh 'New Mexican' cuisine, and our guests enjoy hand crafted furniture and breathtaking architecture. Beautiful stone flooring, Native American weavings patterns and weavings, and spacious suites with Kiva fireplaces are all part of the experience. The Lodge at Santa Fe has a complimentary shuttle to the historic Santa Fe plaza, plus free WiFi and parking. Experience the magic of Santa Fe when you book your visit at The Lodge at Santa Fe. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
Lodge Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing