We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“There's Nothing Wrong at The Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“There's Nothing Wrong at The Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We chose the Residence Inn for a long week-end in Santa Fe and side road-trip to Taos. We found yet another squeaky clean and well managed Marriott in a quiet, neighborhood location. The desk staff, Shannon, was excellent helping us with our complicated check-in (our fault). David is an expert on all things Santa Fe. We appreciated the in-room kitchen. the morning breakfast and the internet connection. It can cost a lot more in the Plaza Area for atmosphere and a total Santa Fe experience. We didn't spend much time in the room and were happy to have the car at the door and the highways just around the corner. Like the previous review, be sure to get an upper floor to avoid the foot-thumping from above. We were told that the doubles and kings could be on either floor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank French75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    101
    48
    22
    4
See reviews for
81
93
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Have never stayed at a Residence Inn, and found this one to be clean and comfortable except for the lack of sound insulation between floors. The 2 queen bed rooms are all downstairs, and the king beds are upstairs; we had no option but to remain downstairs. After 2 nights in one room with an elephant for an upstairs neighbor (sounded like bowling balls were being dropped on the floor at 2 AM) we moved to another room. Better, but still heard our neighbor get up and move about at 5 AM on a Sunday morning. If you can sleep through anything, this is a nice place, and we paid $65/night through Priceline - could not beat the price. But if you are a light sleeper, get a king room upstairs, or else prepare for interrupted sleep.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank visitor1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

We enjoyed our 4 night stay here. The location is close to the historic old town Santa Fe, in a peaceful neighborhood, with supermarkets and restaurants a few blocks away. We had a spacious room w/2 beds and pullout sofa and a fully furnished -plates/pots/silverware etc. full size fridge/ microwave/stove/oven- very clean kitchen. Carpet looked newer/clean, but sofabed mattress was not too clean, tv and garbage disposal didn't initially work, bathroom door was somewhat worn out on the bottom, however bathroom was very clean, no grunge. Maintenance came immediately to fix/replace tv, and disposal was fixed after we notified desk the next day. The first day we returned and room had not been made up by almost 2/3 PM. Breakfast was fine-cereals, yogurts, eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, breads/bagels, but muffins/donuts were sticky and flavorless. Free parking right by the room was very convenient. First floor rooms are exposed to the "foot traffic" (sliding doors by the beds open to on-ground faux balcony (standing room only). Pool looked ok, but we did not use it. Front desk helpful and friendly. My husband said the room smelled weird (moldy?) every time we walked in, but I didn't get that impression. So, even w/ a few minor issues, the Residence Inn was a good value and offered us a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Location and roomsize
  • Disliked — minor inconveniences
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chariot1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

The Marriott Residence Inn is a decent choice for anyone who needs the added amenities of a kitchen and a little more space than a typical hotel room. The rooms themselves are functional and the service reliably Marriott. What you should not expect is any real sense of Santa Fe charm or proximity to the major tourist areas. This hotel is tucked away near the city's hospital and as such is utilized frequently by families of patients.

That aside, I was perfectly comfortable on a recent business trip to Santa Fe. The hotel is well priced compared to other options. And I can imagine families being comfortable here. However, first time tourists may wish to choose a property more centrally located.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service, value
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

After reading the most recent reviews, I feel sorry for those folks, but can honestly say the problems they experienced were resolved by the time we arrived. We found the place with absolutely no problems using the directions given on their internet site. Checkin was a breeze, but when we entered our suite, the carpet was just cleaned and still very wet. A call to the desk found us another spacious room in just 1 minute. Service was very good, the complimentary breakfast is GREAT, and everything was very clean. True, it's a little way from downtown, but if you can find downtown parking for your car, it's only a 3 minute drive to town. (The Hilton was also much more expensive, so the drive didn't bother us.) Very quiet here, too, and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat if just passing thru town on the way to go somewhere else or for a 2 night stay. Our friends stayed at the HIlton because they preferred to be right downtown to walk to everything, but we're not that fussy and prefer a quiet residential location over a noisier downtown locale. Only drawback of being this far out of town is you're not close to the best eating places. You'll have to take your car again for that.

  • Liked — Fast service & checkin/checkout
  • Disliked — Too far to walk to downtown area - you must take your car & find downtown parking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central us
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

Saved here several times to visit family.
good location and clean with nice breakfast.
This visit no room service xmas day.
Did not advise when booked.
Put in a disability room, would defineately not
recommend this room unless needed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no miad service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scubapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke PInes, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

We confirmed a three night stay at the Residence Inn based on AAA and comments in TripAdvisor. Hotels in Santa Fe are expensive but this hotel is a suites hotel and said it was maybe 5 minutes from the square in the historic district.
We arrived at the hotel for checkin about 3pm. Coming from Taos, we decided to drive through downtown before going to the hotel. That was a big mistake. It took about 45 minutes to navigate the one way streets in order to find the Residence Inn. The sign was so small that we actually drove around the entire building and did not know it was the hotel. When we finally got to check-in, we were told that a film crew was staying there and their film went over schedule, so they were relocating people to another hotel - a Comfort Inn for us - about 15 minutes further from their hotel - an old, worn out hotel in the middle of car dealerships and so forth. We asked why no one had contacted us by cell phone rather than waiting until we arrived at the property, and they really could have cared less. I really felt bad for people who might have arrived in the evening - what a mess. I believe that this film crew had been staying there and they had probably been rebooking people for more than just the day we arrived. Anyway, this hotel is close to a hospital and NOTHING ELSE. Its in a residential area. We ended up calling the Hilton downtown, got their last room, and actually paid $10 less than we would have paid at the Residence Inn. The Hilton is in a great location - one block from the square. I would recommend it for a reasonable alternative to some of the other very expensive hotels on the square. My advice - don't waste your time in Santa Fe unless you can be in a close proximity to the square. And actually, I really didn't even care much for Santa Fe. Taos was a much cuter, smaller town, with interesting shops - some said it was like Santa Fe 50 years ago.

  • Liked — never got to stay because they did not have a room for us - which was booked 4 months in advance.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank annier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#44 of 61 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
5.6 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
14.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#8 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
1.1 mi away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#47 of 61 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Property: Residence Inn Santa Fe
Address: 1698 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing