We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for a Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just finished a week visit here and it was very good, convenient to downtown with roomy accommodations complete with a full kitchen. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Only tip is the housekeeping speaks minimal to no English, so brush up on your Spanish or sign language. We had a lot of laughs with them, delightful ladies.

Our only complaint, and not targeted specifically at this property (however guilty) but to the Marriott Corp., is why do they insist on using 16" square pillows on a King size bed at their Residence Inn, Fairfield Inn and Springhill Suite properties? It is so annoying not to have at least 1 standard size pillow to sleep with at night. We found this to be true so many times. After a week of sleeping with small pillows, we're ready to go home!

Room Tip: Stay on second floor in summer to avoid noise of ac units on ground level!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Santa Fe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 310 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

This complex consists of fifteen 2-floor buildings with 8 units per building. The center of the grounds is home to the sports court, pool, barbeques, and tables and chairs. There is also a small fitness room in the gatehouse building. It is an older style "Residence Inn" but it does have a lot of charm. The upper floors are nice but the stairs can be quite a challenge to haul luggage up and down. The newer "Residence Inn" properties we have stayed in are 2-floor single structure buildings with elevators. No elevators here.

The main Gatehouse building has a nice, lodge-like feeling and look. The staff is courteous and helpful. We especially appreciated David's helpfulness, going out of his way to help us find directions to our next stop. Printing out a map, marking the route, and offering suggestions. He is a very professional person and a credit to the Marriott brand.

Our room was a second-floor studio which was surprisingly spacious! Although it didn't have the separate bedroom many "Residence Inn" properties have, it seemed to flow better and look more attractive as a studio set-up.

The kitchen was a very good size and had a full-size stove and oven, dishwasher, full-size refrigerator, and plenty of counter space. Attractive granite topped the light colored wood cabinetry and many other surfaces throughout the unit. In keeping with the Santa Fe style, much of the wood trim (headboards, night stands, desks, etc.) were painted an olive-taupe color.

Carpets were clean and in good shape, the towels were very nice and soft, bedding comfortable, and the room even has a fireplace! Breakfast was okay, pretty much what most of the Residence Inn properties offer (but some do it better, like the Phoenix airport Residence Inn). We were only here for one breakfast.

The actual Santa Fe location for this property is just about half way between the freeways and the "Paseo de Peralta". We did not run across any restaurants on our walks and had planned ahead, packing food for dinner. After a long drive, it was nice to eat at "home". The map says there is a "Smith's: market on Pacheco (about 2 blocks from the Residence Inn but we did not see it).

Location-wise, this property is in a medical services complex location and it was so very quiet. Lots of green grass everywhere on the property and around the business grounds. We took long walks in both directions and enjoyed the little park area in the neighborhood nearby.

The pool area closes at 10 p.m. and it is busy! Popular with families, the 4-year old segment of the population make themselves known (and heard). We were looking forward to 10 p.m. rolling around!

Nice place, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room as far from the pool and activity center as you can get.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room was spacious and somewhat updated but very dark even with lights on. Bathroom door would not stay closed. The windows were so dirty that I wasn't sure if the sun was shining when I got up. One and only plastic chair on tiny patio was covered in dirt. The whole property outside needed cleaning/weeding. Desk clerk was not overly friendly. Breakfast was okay but had to ask for yogurt. This property is not as nice as most Residence Inn's.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is ok but not real special...they've upgraded the kitchens and baths..it's clean but not sparkling. There are weeds growing and un painted exterior surfaces with dried up masking tape evident...dirty towels strewn in areas below the stars, lots of laughing and giggling coming out of the kitchen at 7:30 am. Not sure there is anyone really managing this aging property. Why not stay at the Hampton?

Stayed: July 2014
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this property several years ago and were very happy with the price point and the value of the property. We chose to stay here again this year and were again pleased with the outstanding value of the rooms compared to the hotel properties on or near the Plaza. The 2 story penthouse was clean, housekeeping service was very good and the pool area was updated and looked great. The neighborhood is relatively quiet (especially on weekends) and the front desk staff were polite and friendly. We will return to the Residence Inn for our next visit to Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are a great value if your traveling group or family need a lot of room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Check in guy, Michael, was just SO nice and professional. The lobby of this hotel has been completely redone and is GORGEOUS! (See my photos.) The outdoor space is wonderful (again, see my photos.)

I was in a 2 story room. There was a loft upstairs with king and bathroom. There was a Murphy bed (queen) on the first floor in a very large area with a table and a nice desk, and a second bathroom. There was a full kitchen and separate living room – very spacious suite.

The grounds are amazing. There’s a beautiful pool with a lot of sheltered space to sit and enjoy the surroundings. I really loved this green space. This Residence Inn is one of the older styles, like an apartment building. There are several buildings with rooms on the first floor and the second floor – the rooms open to the outside. There are no elevators, so if you are a person with a disability or unable to climb stairs, be sure you reserve a room on the first floor.
There was a great tennis court and gorgeous area with a barbeque grill.

Free buffet breakfast in the mornings in the main lobby (very good). And on certain weeknights, they serve snacks and small meals (complimentary and really good). That was a really nice perk! I’m all about free!

I was VERY excited to see that this hotel had big recycle bins sitting around the property. But, I noticed that people were also throwing trash in. Then one day, I saw housekeeping take the stuff from the recycle bin and mix it in with regular trash (oh no!). So, I question whether or not they really recycle – maybe they separate it somewhere else. I wish all hotels were required to recycle – but hotels that do are few and far between I have noticed. So, if this one does actually recycle, GOOD for them!

Downtown Santa Fe is a quick drive down a back street (that takes you right into downtown). It was a great location and I loved staying here. Up or down the street either way there are plenty of shops and restaurants.

All good and I can't wait to go back! Oh, and wifi is free.

Room Tip: My room was great.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We reserved a two-bedroom penthouse at the Residence Inn six weeks before our Santa Fe vacation with extended family and received a confirmation email the week before, so we thought we were set. After a long day's drive, we arrived only to learn that the hotel was overbooked, and so there was no room for us. It reminded me of the Seinfeld rental car skit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6m_DeR_n72E.

To make it up to us, they reserved 2 adjoining rooms at the Courtyard, at their expense. We appreciated the gesture, but would have greatly preferred getting the room we reserved in the first place. In over 30 years of staying at Residence Inns across the country for business and pleasure, I have never had them fail to honor a reservation. I am counting this as a lesson learned; even if I have a room reservation, I need to double and triple check with the front desk to make sure there will be a room for us when we arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank jgt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#42 of 60 in Santa Fe
209 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
774 reviews
14.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
4.1 mi away
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
Santa Fe Comfort Inn
#33 of 60 in Santa Fe
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $149 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing