We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #37 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had never stayed at a Residence Inn and thought we would check one out. We couldn't have been more surprised!

We had a booked the "Penthouse Loft". When we arrived we found our accomodations to be a two bedroom, two bath, three TV, living room with fireplace and a fully equipped kitchen. One bedroom is downstairs while the other is in the loft. The kitchen has a full sized frig, a dishwasher, an oven, a microwave and all the utensils you might need.

Both bedrooms and the living room had flat screen TVs which would be perfect for families. Both bathrooms were good sized and had tub/shower combinations.

Breakfast was served each morning and was a bountiful spread enough for most any appetite. Eggs, ham, waffles, bagels, pastries, cereal and juices. Everything was fresh and tasty.

If I had a complaint it would be twofold. First, the room was on the second (and third) floor and it was a bit of a challenge to carry all of our luggage to the room. No assistance was available. Not a big deal but something to be aware of, if that matters. The other issue we had was that they offer a fireplace but nothing to enjoy it with. After a call to the front desk, we were told that we could buy a Duraflame log if we wanted. Seems silly to offer a fireplace as one of their selling points and then charge you to use it. Not a big deal, just annoying.

Would we go back? Sure. While the Residence Inn was designed for longer stays, it certainly filled the bill for our short stay. All in all, great value.

Room Tip: We chose the Penthouse Loft with fireplace and couldn't have been happier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkhinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 316 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel has a nice location for access to downtown and Santa Fe attractions. While the room is very spacious, the lighting leaves a lot to be desired. There is no lighting for the couch which makes it difficult to read in that area. The other challenge is that access to all of the rooms is from the outside since there are about a dozen buildings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Enjoyed our stay . Our room was comfortable and the kitchen was perfect for making our own meals. It wasn't busy season so being by the pool was relaxing and we met great people who come her every year. Shopping in Santa Fe is fun if you love jewelry. Also a trip to Taos is a must. Will come again !!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyJourney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we stayed here in late October / early November 2012, they had almost finished all the rennovation on the property. The property consists of small buildings around the periphery, with 4 rooms in each building. There are 2 levels to the buildings and no elevators, but the front desk offers help for your luggage if you have a 2nd floor room.

The rooms are reasonably quiet, but I did hear some parking lot noise a couple nights from late arrivals.

The rooms are very nice and clean (my wife is a "clean-freak"). They come with a kitchen that includes full-sized appliances (oven, stove, microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator). There is an adequate selection of kitchen utensils and cooking equipment. The only small appliances are a coffee maker and a toaster. Sadly, there is no blender.

The counters in the kitchen and bathroom are granite. The toilet and bathtub/shower are behind a separate door and the bathroom counter is very large with a single cabinet below.

There is a fireplace, sofa, and desk in the room. The reception sells reasonably priced compressed wood logs for the fireplace ($5 per log), or you can buy the same at the nearby Smith's grocery store ($20 for 6 logs).

There are very small balconies off the rooms. Realistically, you would probably only enjoy them if you were on the 2nd floor. The walkways and parking lot are too close to the 1st floor balconies.

They offer a free breakfast each morning. The selection and quality isn't super great, but is a good solution if you don't want to make breakfast yourself in the kitchen or go somewhere. Sadly, on Sunday they did not have enough food out for the guests and people were hovering around the counters waiting for more to be brought out.

Housekeeping was suprisingly stingy with the soap. Typically, they leave a backup set of soaps and shampoos on the 2nd day, so that you never run out. They don't practice that here. We were baffled one day to come back and only have 1 bar of soap to share between the bath and sink.

The front desk is efficient and friendly. They will provide help with directions and other conceirge functions.

The location is actually pretty good. You are about 10 minutes away from the Plaza. It's very easy to follow the street where the hotel is located (Galisteo St.) towards the downtown. After you cross the river, the 2nd stop sign is for Water Street. You can turn left and then enter a parking garage mid block (right turn). That puts you within a couple blocks of the Plaza itself. You are still close to either I-25 or St. Francis St, if you want to take a day trip out of town.

Overally, I would stay here again. It's a good hotel, plus, I am a loyal Marriot customer.

Room Tip: I recommend a 2nd floor room on the North side, with a balcony that faces the parking lot. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paris-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at many Residence Inns by Marriott in the past, so when I made the reservation I had no doubt this would be a good experience. The location was good, the breakfast was good and provided in the cost, and the beds were very comfortable. We had a complete kitchen (tho we only had snacks there) and a living area. We had 3 tvs. So you ask, what was wrong??? We were sharing the "2 bedroom, 2 bathroom" unit with another couple whom we go away with. Our problem was that the "downstairs" bedroom only had a curtain separating it from the living area, and the "upstairs bedroom was a loft open to the living area. There was no way you could stay up when the other couple was asleep, even reading, as the light would disturb. There just wasn't any privacy at all.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a tip. Of course, the "one bedroom" units would not have our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KBM37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am a Marriott/Residence Inn fan but this is the first one that has disappointed me, in fact we left early. The hotel tries and is being renovated, perhaps it is nicer in the summer. I did not like my dark studio room but in fairness it was very functional. Breakfast was so so - would not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loveshorseriding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on the very outskirts of the town, not within walking distance of any restaurant or store. There are no elevators, so if you get a second floor room, prepare to tug your luggage up three flights of concrete stairs located on the outside of the hotel. The two bedrooms provide no privacy, as they are separated from the common area only by a half wall or a curtain.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homebody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
824 reviews
Courtyard Santa Fe
#38 of 60 in Santa Fe
232 reviews
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
903 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Address: 1698 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $152 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing