We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated, ugly rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very dated, ugly rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is one of the most dated, sad hotel rooms I've stayed in, and it was definitely much more expensive than it should have been. The property is somewhat removed from good restaurants, galleries, etc in Santa Fe- you'll want to drive everywhere. The hot tub near our room was empty, and there were work crews there all three days (Fri, Sat, Sun), loudly fixing up the buildings.

Our room itself was definitely not that big - the smallest Residence Inn room I've had. The kitchen was pathetic - ancient microwave, beat up refrigerator, dinged up counters. The bathroom was about the same - gross wallpaper, peeling off trim. And the carpet - ugly and old throughout. Old boxy, big TV. The bed was decently comfortable, and the air conditioning was the best part.

I definitely would not stay here again, and wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    99
    47
    22
    4
See reviews for
80
90
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Well I'm a Marriott Platinum member and try to use them when I travel. This is the most wanting of the Residence Inns I've ever stayed at.

We spent a week here on vacation in one of their 1050 ft2 penthouse suites. It was spacious...but rundown. 5 service calls for toilets, sink, lights out, etc. Pretty responsive maintenance, but 5 calls?!? The front desk staff is lackadaisical and the maids take up all the choice parking spots in front of our rooms!

Old TVs (20 in tubes), bird nests outside the room (tons of droppings every day), and a number of other death by 1000 cuts.

But it's nicely located away from the plaza, quiet, and we can drive 10 minutes in any direction for great restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. The rates are also quite a bit less than the plaza and we get 1050 ft2!

So weight the cost benefit for yourself. In the end it was a big OK, certainly not great, but more annoying than terrible

Room Tip: check for AAA or other good rates on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kujo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was one of the old style Residence Inns with all ground level units. It also had an outside patio where I could pop out to smoke. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to anything I needed or wanted information about. Their food was great. They had real barbecues where they would cook out on the grill on Wednesdays and their breakfasts were actual food, not powdered eggs and fake sausage. On Sundays they would have a really great breakfast with real biscuits and gravy. Delicious! It is a pity that the other Residence Inns don't follow suit. I stayed there almost three months and never had one complaint. Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lacaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here for two nights on a road trip from Denver. Everything was clean and pleasant. One of the hot tubs was out of order, but other than that we really had no complaints. And the complimentary breakfast was top notch, with plenty of protein (eggs, sausage, etc.) which is pretty rare. When we arrived it felt like we were a bit removed from the main Santa Fe downtown area, but Santa Fe is so small that we were only a 5-10min drive away!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDunk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
376 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at Marriott's Residence Inn on a Monday night. It was clean, well equipped with kitchen supplies and extra linens for making up the roll out couch in front of the fireplace. There was a pool and whirlpool outside our room which looked clean, although we do not swim in public pools. There were a lot of kids in the pool, but thankfully they only swam in the day time and didn't keep us up at night. It is a good family place to stay but not exactly a destination spot for a romantic weekend get-away. You are better off staying downtown in "The Plaza" area of old town Santa Fe if it is a romance you are looking for. The Residence Inn is clean, adequate, and reasonably priced if you are just passing through and want to save a few dollars, but is located away from the charm of the historic downtown area. One high point is this: Residence Inn IS located only a few miles from one of the best restaurants in Santa Fe > Harry's Roadhouse Restaurant. Don't miss Harry's for breakfast, lunch or dinner - great!

Room Tip: Stay on the Ground Level > no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

After reading all the bad reviews my wife and I were a little worried about staying here. When we pulled into the parking lot the property was very well keep. Front desk was FRIENDLY and HELPFULL. The room was very clean and comfortable. Downtown "PLAZA" was close and easy to get to. We would stay here again if ever in the Santa Fe area again........Travellers from Ontario,Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this Residence Inn based on past experiences of staying at RI, and we were really disappointed.

The hotel itself needs to be remodeled. It is time to put money back into this property.

When checking in, we were not really welcomed. We were just checked in. Some of the basic information was not even provided. The lobby was nice enough and decorated in a southwest decor. There was one computer hotel guest use. We used the computer in the lobby as there was no wifi in the room, but there was a wired connection. When using the lobby computer in the morning, someone had left a plate with pieces of left over cookie pieces by the computer. When I returned in the evening, the plate with the cookie remnanats was still there in the same place as it was in the morning. This is just one indication of the attention to detail at this RI.

The room itself was dated and tired in just about every aspect . The kitchen and bathroom both had worn and stained linoleum. The cabinets were worn and the varnish was gone and the stain was worn away. The furniture was okay but also old. The bed was soft and not comfortable. Again, it is time to replace worn items.

The appliances in the kitchen were old, and the refrigerator was noisey when the compressor kicked on. To me it is important to have a quiet refrigerator in a studio suite. The oven door would not open. I think it may have been locked shut. It didn't matter as were were not cooking.

The room had a nice fireplace, but it was wood burning, and there was no wood. The room was a nice size, and that is one thing we like about staying at RI.

The grounds needed attention, and the pool area was dirty and dusty. The pool was closed, but there were two hot tubs that were marginal for use. They just looked a little dirty. There were no towels at the pool, and we had to get them from the desk. When we went at night, they had locked the door to the lobby a half an hour early, so we had to walk around to the front of the hotel in our suits to get the towels.

We love the RI in Prescott, AZ, and this property could certainly take some lessons from them.

I guess the one good thing about this hotel is that it is somewhat reasonably priced for Santa Fe. I certainly would have paid more for a nicer room.

We would not stay at the RI again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cshager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#42 of 61 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
5.6 mi away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#29 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Santa Fe

Property: Residence Inn Santa Fe
Address: 1698 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87505-4747
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing