We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in Santa Fe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #7 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For our latest trip to Santa Fe, I relied on my old friend, Priceline. I was slightly shocked to receive this hotel, normally I score Inn of the Governors. I immediately checked the reviews on Trip Advisor and had some trepidation.

I called the hotel early to try to confirm a room with two beds and was told I could only have a room with two twin beds. Strange. When I told the hotel representative that I would be traveling with my husband and my daughter, I was informed that Priceline only ever guaranteed rooms for 2 adults. I informed her that I have used Priceline since 2001 and the I have never encountered this problem. My daughter is too young to have a room of her own legally. Our conversation ended abruptly and I was now slightly worried about this trip!

My worries were not warranted at all! When we arrived at the hotel early, 1pm, I asked if we could check in early and was told that I could and that since the 3rd person in the room was my child that we would be granted an upgrade. We were given a 'suite.' Our room had a very roomy bed with a great mattress. Our daughter had a pull-out bed in the couch in the living room.

The rooms were very clean. The small kitchen area was OK. It was great to have a fridge and basic supplies to heat up leftovers and such. The bathroom was adequate, the counter space was very small. The cleanliness of the drawers beside the sink area did concern me and we kept our toiletries in our toiletry bags. I will be honest and note that the cleanliness of the room declined over the four days we stayed, by the last day you could tell that the dusting and the like were not getting done. You are staying in an older building, and dust is everywhere. For example, the window in the bathroom and its shade were very dirty by the end of the stay.

The room is a bit 'tired.' I was VERY happy with this room at the price point that I bid for, if I had paid what they advertised the room for - I would be disappointed and would expect a bit more up-dates. (For example, the wifi was spotty at best, the toiletries provided the first day were never replaced, the baseboards were dirty from the beginning, and the towels were not very luxurious, and towels were not changed out the last two days and the face clothes were not replaced.)

The front desk service is very good. For example, I was loaned two locks for use at Ojo Caliente (a mineral spa) and that saved me some money.

The hotel is a very quick walk from the Plaza and the neighborhood is just fine. (Some of the reviews talked about a 'bad' neighborhood.) There was plenty of parking and we drive a very large pick-up truck.

I was very pleased with this hotel at the price I paid, but if I had paid $189 as quoted via the front desk, there are other hotels that I would prefer (Inn of the Governors, for example - they have a pool and reliable wifi.)

The included breakfast is more than adequate and the coffee is good!

Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and apologies for some of those oversights which are certainly not acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our 4th time to Las Palomas. The manager gave us the room we stayed in our first time several years ago. We loved the room and the welcome gifts for our dogs was much appreciated. We come to Santa Fe often and definitely appreciate the downtown location and the great breakfast. We can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: every room is unique and we have loved every room we have had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

And we can’t wait for your to come back again! Many thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Once again I was overwhelmed by the personalized support received by the staff of the Los Palomas Inn in Santa Fe NM. My wife and I made last minute plans to visit Santa Fe and unfortunately it was during a very busy weekend. All of the rooms at the Las Palomas, where we love to stay, were booked. However, Tina said she would advise us should a room become available due to a cancellation. Sure enough, at the last minute we were able to get a room due to the excellent service and caring attitude of Tina who works reservations. Los Palomas rocks and it is definitely the best value for the money in the heart of Santa Fe. Great rooms, super breakfast, location and outstanding staff make it our place of choice whenever we visit Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs to the staff and you will have the option from a one bedroom casita to a thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so very much for your words of encouragement which are greatly appreciated. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was very disappointed with the service. The room was dirty and dingy. I asked for a receipt and no one would provide it. I would not recommend this hotel. The food was okay. It was within walking distance to the main city center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Sorry to learn you were disappointed when so many others enjoy their stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Las Palomas is actually made up of several multi-unit buildings scattered over a couple of blocks, each one of which is nestled privately behind adobe outer walls. Each room we've seen has had either a small fireplace or a kiva, although we've stayed in the summer and they weren't needed. The rooms have character, which is to say they are not cookie cutter chain hotel rooms with everything exactly as it was in the last hotel you were in. That was fine with us. The bed was big and comfortable, and everything was perfectly clean, if not "modern". Our room had a private patio that was perfect for our dogs, and for sitting in in the evening playing the beautiful wooden flute I bought downtown at Native Sounds (on the Alameda, don't miss it if you love traditional instruments. The owner, Sky Redhawk, is a wonderful storyteller). It is a 10-15 minute walk (maximum) straight up San Francisco St to the Plaza, or walk a block over to the Alameda and it's about 15 minutes to Canyon St where the art galleries are. Very convenient. The restaurant serves made to order omeletes and waffles in the morning, in a dining room that has a tree growing in the middle of i!. Yes, we did have to cross the street to get to it, but that really didn't trouble us.
This is also a very dog freindly place, and our pups were each given a goodie bag with a tennis ball and milk bones. We love staying in Santa Fe on road trips throught he southwest, and would not stay anyplace but Las Palomas.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Discuss your wants/needs when reserving a room so the staff can help you se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and hope that you are also still enjoying your flute

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a long drive from the Grand Canyon, this Inn was just the ticket. Having been to Santa Fe many times, I had yet to stay at Las Palomas and was certainly not disappointed. We had reserved a Fireplace Studio but was complimentary upgraded upon our arrival. The setting was private, furniture comfortable and the unit was unique. Having stayed at the Eldorado a few times, you get what you pay for at both. The Eldorado and La Fonda are super nice hotels with super high prices and pretentious attitudes. Las Palomas is where I will stay in Santa Fe from now on. The staff was super friendly and they have free parking for guests. (They even let me keep my car parked there after I checked out). Anyone passing through Santa Fe or coming for vacation will find this spot to be comforting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Settimo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us an opportunity to take care of you and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed yourselves. Please come back a second time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I reserved a "studio with fireplace." The first room smelled like a latrine/urine, and the microwave and refrigerator were in the bathroom. I asked to be moved, and they put me in a very tiny room. At least the fridge was in the closet instead of the bathroom. There was no desk or writing area, nor paper/pen. The bed was small. The "fireplace" was 1'x2', in the corner of the room. The whole place seemed to be in disrepair, especially the very outdated bathroom. The rooms I saw do not look anything like the ones online. Also, be aware that this is a "motel," and you may have to walk a ways (across the street and down the block) to get to your car and/or the front lobby. On a good note, the breakfast is made to order. You just need to be aware that you can end up in the worst room in the place.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you will have a room with a real fireplace and that the refrigerator/microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acepelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are indeed an old historic inn in an old historic district, but rest assured that all room types are displayed on our website. Sorry to learn you did not enjoy yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,668 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,457 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Address: 460 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $122 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas de Santa Fe in an exceptional boutique hotel located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. Our rooms offer traditional Santa Fe style and world-class amenities at an affordable value for your visit to Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing