We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“losing quality, disappointing, no personal service, expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2008

I've stayed at Las Palomas at least once a year for five years and unfortunately the quality and service of this b&b/hotel is decreasing every year.

I booked a room four months in advance and when I arrived I was not given the type of room that I was expecting from the photos on the web - so beware. I could only change rooms if I paid for an upgrade. Checking in took over an hour and I was already exhausted from my travels.

Do not expect personal service, the employees seemed superior and aloof, and twice I asked for small things and never received them.

The facilities and rooms themselves are nicely decorated. The location is good. Service is not worth the high price.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank whiteoakstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2008

Beautifully finished rooms, we never felt we were in a hotel but staying in someone's tasteful apartment. Everything in the "room/apartment" was designed with a Santa Fe influence, from the unfinished board ceilings to the woven throw rugs all over. With the lovely landscaping (wisteria cascading everyplace), we had total privacy, even when sitting out on our private patio. The community area in the center had lovely little tables and benches to sit and relax in.

We didn't try the house waffles, breakfast seemed to be very popular and they smelled divine. They have custom made espressos and coffees, not just standard regular and decaf, eating area is cheerful and also tastefully decorated. Downtown is a short 5 minute walk, with about 20 restaurants to choose from within that distance in all directions. Free parking.

While in Santa Fe, check out the Cooking School of Santa Fe in downtown. We signed up for a 4 restaurant walking tour and had a great afternoon getting a taste of house specialties and wine at each stop. Then went back to Las Palomas for a siesta.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HHSMOMDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Beautiful grounds. Spacious and clean casitas. Convenient walking to old town Sante Fe. Great staff. Could not have selected a better place to stay.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank takenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I booked a 'Fireplace 1 Bedroom Casita' through Orbitz for 3 people as part of a long weekend visit to Santa Fe. As someone who travels frequently for business and leisure all over the world, I've stayed in a wide variety of accommodations and appreciate the quality (and service) that can be found in small hotels and inns.

Unfortunately, I was not impressed with Las Palomas. For starters, the room arrangement was very odd with uneven floor surfaces that consisted of painted concrete, inexpensive carpet, and tile. The bathoom was large but the lighting was awkward and the shower head fell off the first morning. The king size bed was comfortable whereas the pull-out bed in the living area was very uncomfortable. In general, the impression was one of low quality furnishings. This impression was not helped by the fact that our room was on a side street across from a house with an unkept yard filled with junk and surrounded by a chain-link fence.

We wanted to check out after the first night, but ended up staying a 2nd night due to hotel's 1 night cancellation policy. To the hotel's credit, they fixed the showerhead and offered to move us to a different room. But because much nicer accommodations were available several blocks away at the El Dorada Hotel (same price!) we elected to check out after 2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Strato377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at Las Palomas April1,2,2008 and really liked it.
This B&B has been rapidly expanding taking over 2 nearby b&b's as well as small houses. We wanted an old adobe style with kiva fireplace and that's what the internet pictures looked like.
On arrival, we were assigned a little ordinary "apartment style" room with small LR and bedroom and a wood burning iron stove.

When I showed the staff a picture of what we were expecting they immediately found another room which was exactly what we wanted and helped us move our luggage. It was a very attractively decorated room with large bathroom. The bed was comfortable and there was a refrigerator and microwave.

The breakfasts are from 7 - 10:00 and there is a cook in a little kitchen off the lobby preparing wonderful waffles to your specifications and delivering them to your table with your choice of espresso, cappaccino or latte. In additions there is the usual selection of cereals, fruits, bagels, etc.
During the day there are coffee and warm cookies available in the charming lobby.

The location is good - about a 10 minute walk to the Plaza.
We definitely recommend Las palomas and would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Las Palomas is a bed-and-breakfast establishment, so those seeking amenities found in larger chain hotels should look elsewhere. For those who enjoy the bed-and-breakfast experience, they will find Las Palomas very enjoyable. The establishment is set out over two distinctly separate areas. The suites of rooms that I stayed in had a working fireplace, passable kitchen, and small refrigerator. Be forewarned, though. Those who wish to cook their own dinner are reminded to bring your own fry and sauce pans, as Las Palomas offers neither.
The beds were large and comfortable; the linen was changed daily; and the staff was polite and helpful.
The breakfast table included hot and cold cereal, made-to-order waffles, hard-boiled eggs and fruit. Bagels and English muffins were also available, as were fruit juice and coffee.
Warm cookies are available all day long, as is freshly-brewed coffee (although I highly recommend The Expresso Shop right up the street).
All in all, a very good hotel situated in the heart of downtown that offered good quality at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AugieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We've been going to Santa Fe regularly for 20 years, and adore the town. We like to stay close to the Square, and also to stay someplace that ''feels'' like you're in a unique place/City. We absolutely fell in love with Las Palomas, and we will defintely be staying here from now on. Funky, rambling property with lots of different types of rooms. Loved the friendly staff, pet-friendly walking area, home made cookies, delicious breakfasts, unbelievably comfy beds and linens, separate kitchen area, kiva fireplaces with pinon wood, great Southwestern decoration. All this with a location 6 minutes from the Plaza, and at a price the fraction of other properties in the area. A GREAT find....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,698 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
2,503 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,710 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
687 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe

Address: 460 W San Francisco St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1837
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: $129 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palomas de Santa Fe in an exceptional boutique hotel located just three blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. Our rooms offer traditional Santa Fe style and world-class amenities at an affordable value for your visit to Santa Fe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palomas Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing