We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before and will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Stayed here before and will stay here again”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Second stay at this property, but have stayed at a number of other properties in Santa Fe on many past trips. Location is close to Plaza and many shops, Starbucks, and restaurants are within a very quick and easy walk. Very much enjoyed a nearby Thai place, but did not enjoy an ice cream break @ Haagen Dazs due to an obnoxiously loud "mature" employee/manager there describing her various physical ailments and medications so that all could hear. I really do not want to hear the details about your bone density test with my ice cream, thanks. Hilton is partially built in/on the old Ortiz Hacienda. Had a suite last time and a casita this time. We are Diamond HHonors memebrs, so we sometimes get an upgrade. Casita is a bit drafty in winter and does not get very warm at night, so be prepared to dress warmly. Also, you hear a good amount of street noise in casita. Heard trash trucks at about 5 AM. Still, a good choice for couples who want to spend a bit more, with bar, jacuzzi, and fireplace included. Glass doors on fireplace can get hot, so use common sense. Casitas are poor choice for kids or handicapped--not set up safely for either. Main hotel has better choices. TV in exercise room did not work properly, and none of us in there could get it to work. One of 3 treadmills out of order. Blue corn pancakes were tasty for breakfast. Saw/smelled a wet dog in the hallway; not pleasant. I noticed this trip more than on earlier trips, that there are a lot of street people around the hotel and Plaza asking for money. Kind of unnerving at night. Will likely stay here again as we come to Santa Fe every so often and like it best of all the places we have stayed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    503
    215
    96
    57
See reviews for
330
654
104
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2010

This was our 4th stay at this hotel. We have Hilton Honors and go to a meeting in Santa Fe where the location of this hotel is very important to us so we can walk to the meetings every day. Using so many HH points for an average hotel is annoying considering that most Hampton Inns have larger rooms and better bathrooms with more space to put cosmetics, softer towels, etc. But I guess it's 'location, location, location.' It is Santa Fe, after all. During the week we stayed there, they had 2 large conferences in the hotel and the attendees took up so much dining area that we could not partake in the usual morning breakfast buffet, but the staff were so accommodating and sat us in the bar with the menu to order anything we wanted (as Gold card members, the breakfast buffet is included in the cost of the room). Internet service in the room is only adequate, parking is expensive unless you are a HH member and then it's half price. Overall, this is only a mediocre hotel in one of most quaint and delightful towns in the USA.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darwin1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Hotel was 1 block from Plaza and across the street from a great pizza place with awesome house-brewed root beer. Staff was hospitable and parking was half-price if you're a member of the Hilton Honors. Breakfast was nice. Fruit water in the lobby all afternoon and coffee in the morning

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylsrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Hilton Santa Fe, NM, is located 10 minutes walk from the Plaza and all the rest Santa Fe has to offer. It could be great if you are enjoying the walk, but if you want to be in the heart of it all, try "La Fonda" or nearby hotels. The rooms are clean, large 42" LCD TV, and an inside court pool view. Breakfast is tasty and basic, if you want diversity try one of the local cafes, but locals do not always open for buisness before 9 am. The shower was horrible, waited 5 minutes for hot water, and you have to stand in the freezing water till then. One morning the front desk forgot my wakeup call - no apologies made. All in all, OK place for young families on warmer months when you can enjoy the pool and don't mind the walk to the plaza, especialy if you get a good deal for your room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlreadyMissingRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

No internet service in rooms, wifi will not work through the hotel walls and either net cost 10.00 and is so slow your browser will time out before checking your email, lobby only wifi and slow at best, no microwave, no refrigerator, no breakfast with the room, the balcony door would not open, the closet door would not close, the wall paper was peeling in several places, the bottled water in your room is 5.00 a bottle, the a/c & heat was very loud and could not maintain a constant temperature (heat pumps), parking 15.00 a day, location to overpriced costume jewelry stores was only a short walk and all this for 196.45 + 5.00 for water + 15.00 per night for parking. We booked for 3 nights, left after the first night and found a Holiday Inn Express that has everything the Hilton did not have, and gave me the ability to write this review on blazing speed wireless internet in my room(s), I was able to get 2 rooms at Holiday Inn, for less than 1 room at the Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark0396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel while driving across the country. After visiting a nearby volcano and popping into Santa Fe for dinner it was nice to know that this hotel was steps away from the main city plaza when we decided the stay in town for the night. This hotel is cozy and well decorated. The room was spacious and the mattress was quite comfortable. Bathroom was well appointed, even had a hair dryer. Fluffy robes in the closet. One negative tho: the rug in a corner near the nightstand smelled of feces although it appeared clean. I'm pretty sure it was from a previous pet's stay. While we weren't concerned enough to switch rooms, it drove our poor cat crazy and he howled and bounced off the walls all-night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OaklandHealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Very nice hotel w/ a superb location; close to Coyote Cafe & museums and everything downtown. Staff was friendly & helpful. Room svc. breakfast was good. Good-looking hotel, fantastic location. If you can get a bargain rate via Priceline this is a great choice. i was on business so rate was not crucial. Fantastic TV in room - 42-inch HD set w/ good HD signal - TV was really awesome, as i wanted to catch Mythbusters after the event I came to town for, and did so in glorious, big-screen HD

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,246 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,296 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,605 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing