We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nothing unexpected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nothing unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has a great location. It's a block and half or so away from the Plaza. The location is so convenient that if you are only here for a few days, I wouldn't even rent a car. Just take the Sandia Shuttle from the airport, as the hotel doesn't have its own.
The hotel is priced about the same as others in the area. Overall, it's reasonable. A lot of people complain about the parking charges, but that is standard everywhere, and you don't need a car here, as I said. The wifi charge, however, was annoying. I became a member of Hilton Honors, because honors members get free wifi. As I was leaving, I overheard another guest in the lobby say that whenever she stays at this hotel, she pretends she needs the wifi code to use her device in the lobby. The hotel staff then gives her the code and she uses it for her whole stay. She says it works everywhere in the hotel, not just the lobby. If I come back, I'll try that tip.
The hotel was recently renovated. The rooms are so nice! They look elegant and fresh. And they are very spacious. I didn't like that my king room didn't have a bathtub, but apparently that's just how the hotel was designed-- only rooms with two double beds have tubs.
On our last night, the cooling system in the room was making a terrible noise. We moved to a different room and the hotel staff was very nice and apologetic about it. They even gave a us complimentary breakfast (though breakfast should really be included in their rate, I think).
The new room was just like the old one, but the view was much better. The room was above the front desk on the third floor overlooking Water Street. It's a much better view because all of the other rooms we looked at before moving overlooked either dumpsters or the parking lot.
The staff was friendly, but didn't go out of their way to get to know our names or make anything special happen. Given the rate we paid and how busy they were, that didn't surprise us. Also, we were a little miffed that the hotel didn't have a humidifier that it could put in our room. So if you tend to get sick from the altitude, you may want to choose a hotel that is better equipped. It was discouraging to have to get the bathroom steamy so my cousin could sit in there for hours on end until he felt better. Also, it wasted a ton of water.
The pool is lovely, so bring your suits. Towels are down by the pool and you can requests bathrobes from the front desk. One last tip is to give your garbage to the staff behind the front desk. The hotel doesn't have public trash cans, so it seems like everyone is littering everywhere, but they aren't. They just can't find a trash can. I feel bad for the staff, because it seems like extra work for them with very little results.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GollySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    449
    199
    83
    49
See reviews for
275
565
94
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was one of our many trips to Santa Fe, the first though at this hotel. We were very impressed with the service and guest rooms. The room was warmly decorated, updated, and number one for us, clean. We felt the value was very good for this time of year on the plaza. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamminneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your comments, and are glad you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and the decor of the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
563 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This Hilton is a solid property with impeccable service and a stellar location. The executive lounge on the third floor is well stocked with snacks, drinks, and newspapers. The breakfast buffet was well prepared also. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jski529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for writing the review regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We are glad the you enjoyed lounge offering and service provided by the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! The rooms are commodious, even the bathrooms (unusual these days). Beds, linens, bathrobes, and products were all top notch.

The pool is large for Santa Fe with plenty of lounges and other seating.


The staff were personable and willing to help without seeming insincere and programmed. The location is excellent- walking distance to everything Santa Fe-but about a block or so from noise and traffic.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback, and are glad the you enjoyed the services and amenities offered by the hotel. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Recently renovated with very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Great location, just a few blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza. The fresh lemon or lime ice water in the lobby is a refreshing touch. An excellent buffet style breakfast is available in the hotel restaurant. There is a charge for parking, but the location is convenient to walk to many attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We appreciate all of your comments and feedback and have shared them with our staff. We hope to serve you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent a great weekend in Santa Fe, and the Hilton was helpful as it was convenient, well appointed, professionally staffed. We were able to walk from the hotel to galleries, historic sites, and restaurants/bars which made the weekend very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank seawitchflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We are glad that you were able to have an enjoyable weekend and walk to all of your downtown destinations. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, spotless rooms, nice executive lounge. Comfortable conference ballrooms. Location was fabulous - walking distance to Santa Fe Plaza and surrounding areas. Great restaurants in Plaza area.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors had free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your visit at the Hilton Santa Fe. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing