We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

How to be fair? We just came off visits in Vail at the Marriott Mountain Resort an Ritz Carlton Club. We stayed in a Casita - 2 bedrooms, living room, dining/work area. We were a bit early for check-in. We told our room was "dirty", not "unmade" or "not ready" - a bit off-putting. We were told 3pm was guaranteed check-in. After a few check-backs (room was still "dirty"), we were finally checked in a 4pm. they did give us a few "bennies" for the inconvenience (thank you!). The rooms have modern conveniences and nicely appointed in an "old Santa Fe" decor but we were never able to rid the living room of a stale, musty smell. (Maybe because the Casita building used to be a stable.) The worst feature was the fact the toilets don't have a door separating them from the rest of the bathroom area and the 2 bathrooms share a shower/bathtub area. There is no lock on the door for the 2nd bedroom's entrance to the shower area. Definitely a major negative. It was impossible to open the right half of the master bedroom closet and a tight fit for the left half due to the bed and nightstand. Putting aside those annoyances, the location cannot be beat, there is a definite old Santa Fe charm to the property. The breakfast buffet is a plus. Our server was super friendly. Overall, this is our second stay here and we will probably stay again. Just be prepared for a few wrinkles if you stay in the Casitas.

Room Tip: The Casitas are worth it for 2 couples or a family if you don't mind a few weird design flaws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt and Gwynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza. We truly appreciate and value all of your feedback, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    409
    183
    77
    43
See reviews for
247
513
81
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The personal attention from the staff at this Hilton makes staying there a delight. Started with my check in when we realized that my reservation was not booked with the group rate that my association had arranged. Josh H at the front desk quickly took care of fixing that which saved me $100 per night. Love when a hotel has that type of integrity that when they know you are with the conference that arranged the special group rate, they honor it. And love that this hotel empowers their front desk staff to make those corrections. Thank you Josh and Santa Fe Hilton! You won my loyalty at "hello". But that special attention to detail just kept going. Jon the AV expert who helped presenters set up and run our presentations was the BEST! I do about two speeches per week in hotels around the world and rarely is the AV guy as great as Jon! He set the powerpoints up, showed us good tricks to keep the projector primed and ready to transition between speakers quickly and the best was that he helped me figure out how to bring the audience back to paying attention as I had planned many small group discussions and pair shares into my presentation and needed to get a Noisy room of full of dialogue back to the focal screen. We plugged my iPhone into his mic connection and I played a lovely sound from my alarm choices as he pulled the volume up and down as needed. Together we managed to get a busy, engaged room of 150 participants refocused with grace and ease. Thank you Jon! Also want to mention the delightful waitress in the restaurant who every morning remembered that I like soy milk with coffee! It was great that this Hilton had soy milk on the breakfast buffet. And the buffet was great. The continental breakfast was more complete than most USA hotels offer. It had the fuller European breakfast assortment that included smoked salmon and capers and homemade granola with all sorts of good nuts and sunflower seeds-yummy plus platters of fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. The location was great--within walking distance to everything but what makes this hotel better than any other in Santa Fe is their staff!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is the found floor and makes it easy to get from room to meeting rooms and restaurants wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotels staff during your conference. We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel is located in a perfect spot! Walking distance to so many amenities and downtown. Whether you are dining in-hotel or downtown (which is a block away) is superb. Sante Fe boasts some very eclectic and authentic restaurants and you will not be disappointed. Hotel staff provide honest and thoughtful recommendations for getting a local feel for the area. Definitely recommend this hotel. Negative was small fitness center. Positive was a large outdoor pool in middle of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed the recomendations provided by the hotel and that you were able to walk to your destinations. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you as our guest to ensure you have the best travel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Hilton near the Plaza in Santa Fe is convenient and attractive. The price was fine, the room was big enough, but the high-pitched squeak of the AC unit bothered my ears. The front-desk clerk said the house engineer would have a look, but if that person came we didn't see him/her and no improvement occurred. Bring ear plugs if you stay in room 136.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel.We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is the best hotel in Santa Fe! The hotel is situated in the heart of Santa Fe making it easy to walk around town. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and the staff is amazing. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Tx, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful property in a great location, well-staffed, well cared for and very convenient to downtown Santa Fe. And I have nothing more to say just to get to your required 200 characters, so you are welcome to delete this last line that I don't want to write.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and have shared it with our hotel staff.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was very impressed with this property. Normally we chose to stay at quaint, unique, boutique type hotels, this time chose to stay here. I must say this hotel far exceeded my expectations. We were very impressed with the service and the rooms. The hotel and property is extremely clean and in a perfect location. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing