We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Eh ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Eh ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Staff was friendly .... BUT ... we reserved a pool side room only to learn after we checked in (via a slip of paper ... not from a staff member), that the pool was closed. We were still billed for the premium "pool side" room though.

Next, we were awakened yesterday morning by a member of the housekeeping staff (DESPITE THE DO NOT DISTURB SIGN) at 08:06 ... by her pounding on the door with a key or metal object until I answered the door and told her we would not be checking out until later.

Come on ... I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels every year. I've never had a member of a housekeeping staff pull one like that.

Were it not for those two things they stay would have been wonderful. With those two things ... not so much.

Room Tip: If you're going to request a pool side room (and I suggest you do) ... make sure that the pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am so sorry … the pool renovation took a couple days longer then we had thought … I am sincerely sorry. We did our best to provide accommodations at local facilities here in Santa Fe but nothing beats the use of your own pool. We think the new pool is quite beautiful and as the largest pool in downtown Santa Fe our new facility will be a wonderful facility for our guests for many years to come.

I have addressed the housekeeping concern with our team ... please accept my apologies for this intrusion.

We do hope you will come back soon

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    434
    198
    82
    44
See reviews for
264
540
88
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed here as a group with a wedding booking. I was very pleased. I have already recommended this hotel to others. I used the room service and they were very prompt. The concierge was very helpful- even gave coupons to a nearby restaurant and a very useful map.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Check-in was VERY delayed. Received the wrong room and was charged the premium rate. Pool was dirty, but was lied to by staff about it being closed, then open, then closed again. Do no recommend. Stay at the El Dorado next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
9 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I am so sorry we disappointed you …. Obviously not our intent and again I am sorry. We have the largest pool in downtown Santa Fe and have gone to great lengths to fully renovate this facility. The water is crystal clear and blue and our guest are daily enjoying the great weather and pool. Again I am sorry that we misfired during your visit… please try us again

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

You cannot go wrong with a Hilton. Great location near the square and all of the activities. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Breakfast is pretty standard, but could not beat the price as part of a package.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
You are very right ... although we do have an expansive offering in 40 inch LCD / HiDef ...in each room... and we do offer HBO for families ...we do not offer some of the other channels.

Ours is a very family friendly environment and we have extended that focus to our TV channel lineup.

I am sorry about the pool … the renovation did take longer than we had thought and I am sorry.

We do hope you stay with us again soon.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Well situated. can be a little noisy in the morning as my room was at pool level. Nice decor, esp the bathroom which has great lighting. Hot tub is good as is the pool. Outdoor fireplace is a nice touch. Staff can be more friendly but overall is professional and courteous. Would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've been coming to Santa Fe for over 30 years and staying at this particular Hilton many times. Why? Because no matter who answers that phone, we know we'll be accommodated with over and above service. We are pampered, catered to, and served. In return, we are grateful. This is a place to enjoy some of the goodness of Santa Fe. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeeJay527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for the great comments … we look forward to your next visit to Santa Fe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms. Clean, comfy. But Memorial Day weekend and the pool is being "refinished and will be done Monday." ?? Now?
Dog friendly is a real plus, but no trash anywhere outside means people are leaving bags of dog waste and empty bottle outside all the exits.
For the price, please go the extra distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berenjhena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
I am sorry about the pool ... it did take a few extra days to complete. I hope you will be back to enjoy it soon and I am sorry for the delay. We are dog friendly (and very proud of that) and I think it is a great idea to provide additional facilities for those guests. Thank you so much for your comments

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing