We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fair Experience But Just That” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fair Experience But Just That”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for a conference in November. The hotel is in a good location. Sure, you may have to walk a few blocks to get to the sites, but it's good excercise and pretty views. I thought the room was relatively quiet and bathroom was very big and clean. The bartender and dinner staff were pretty cool and would share some interesting stories about Santa Fe life. Finally, I was lucky to have the firepit to myself during my 4 day staff in the evenings. I would smoke a cigar, have a few select beverages, and have nice conversations with other guests. The people were really friendly. One even bought me a bottle of wine! The hotel staff were good about looking the other way when they saw our wine glasses. I thinlk that they appreciated that we were not rowdy teenagers looking to get wasted, but were adults who were having a pleasant time being responsible customers and enjoying each other's company.

The service was fair. No one went out of their way to make this stay an eperience. I paid them my money and they did the least that was expected. I was also disappointed in the breakfast items. It wasn't very good, and it was overpriced. The service of the breakfast staff was lacking.Finally, I think it was just remodeled, but it looked like it was still stuck in 1978.

I would stay here again. I am an Hilton Honors member and I do collect points. I usually stay at a Hilton hotels 45-60 nights out of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments … and the service remarks will be taken to heart. I am glad you enjoyed the pool side fireplace and the room renovation. We look forward to your next visit.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    434
    198
    82
    44
See reviews for
264
540
88
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Awesome location close to everything in downtown, very clean and super comfortable beds....
Coffee pot in rooms could be better, but overall great place to stay. We did not use the pool or spa or gym but the staff are extremely helpful and the rooms are spacious. Internet access a bit of an issue but the front desk staff resolved it quickly. Will recommend this hotel and stay there again if chance arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabBrown50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments ... we do look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel has a great location, being within easy walking distance of the plaza, museums, restaurants. There is plenty of parking which is very handy this close to the plaza, as well. The public spaces (lobby, restaurant, workout facility) are very nicely decorated and pleasant. The rooms are large, but ours was rather dark. The hotel had more of a "motel" feel on the wing with the rooms, possibly as a result of the height restrictions in Santa Fe. Our room had a partial view of an unremarkable courtyard. It was quiet. I would stay here again in comparison to La Fonda, which had much smaller rooms when I stayed there (years ago).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Desk clerk was rude and condescending -- apparently thinks his generation is the only one that understands the nuances of key cards and technology. He needs training on customer service and how to interact with customers who experience problems with the hotel's service. "It's not my fault" does not solve the problem and conveys to the customer that they are on their own. I don't care if Mr Hilton himself is working the desk -- know your job and how to relate to customer issues.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about renovation. Otherwise, expect a hike from the lower numbered rooms to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler159382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I agree … a guest should not have to struggle with our technology. Our key systems are designed for both security and simplicity and we should do a better job explaining their operation. Thank you for your comments and I assure you your concerns will be addressed.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The facility was excellent, I only have one comment. I just thought there would be refrigerator in the room which I needed because of my medication. It was totally my fault and the person I was traveling had one in her room so it all worked out fine.

Excellent location!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Hilton incorporated and added on to a historic residence a few blocks west of old Santa Fe Square. Very well done adaptive reuse and incorporation of the historic home. Good interpretive displays of the original home site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you we are very proud of our history and wanted to improve the hotel by renovating the guest rooms without losing the historical significance and charm of our location and hotel. Thank you for the great comments.

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the only place to stay in Santa Fe, it's on the plaza, rooms are up scale, staft is outstanding. Ask for Samantha at the front desk, she is the best. This location is great to get to (walking) most art, restaurant locations. The up dates to this hotel look real great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing