We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hilton Santa Fe for six nights over the 2012 Christmas holidays. The last time we stayed at this Hilton was five years ago. We were very pleased with our rooms as each was very nicely updated. My wife and I had a room with a king-size bed that was up to Hilton standards, and that being very comfortable. The best improvement with the room was the updated full size shower replacing the cramped tub-shower combination. The only complaint is the lack of towel bars in the bathroom; it had only one small one. This is odd as the Hilton asks you to help conserve water by hanging up your towel if it doesn't need to be replaced.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are away from the street noise. Although the street noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiversideBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for the review … we will be going back into the new rooms and making final adjustments, so I very much appreciate your comments and have passed them on to our decorating team. We are very committed to water conversation … especially here in Santa Fe. Again thank you!

And I sincerely hope to see you again when you return to Santa Fe .. winter has been just beautiful this year!

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

After a pleasurable but long drive from Los Angeles, we looked forward to a 2-night stay in the king size room we reserved at this centrally located Hilton. We arrived at 6:30pm and went upstairs to our room only to discover that, with no indication or apology from the desk clerk, our king size reservation had been changed to a double/double. When I called the desk clerk she said she was sorry but there had been a mixup in reservations and she didn't have any king size rooms available that night. I had a confirmation number for a king, but it didn't matter. Guests BEWARE -- your choice of room isn't guaranteed at this Hilton just because you have a confirmation number. Also - it should be noted that you'll pay for parking in an outside unimproved parking lot. We left and easily found another hotel where we were treated courteously and with respect. The Hilton name used to stand for quality but my opinion of this chain is greatly diminished!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Jammaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We do try and block every arrival each morning… into the specific room type they have requested. In this case we clearly failed to accomplish that task. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am sorry that we let you and your family down. Please accept my invitation to stay with us on your next visit to Santa Fe … I would like you to actually experience the hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit and I will make it my personal responsibility to make your stay special.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is OK but was way overpriced for what you get. I “think” we were in the newer section, but still. The layout was weird - the closet was in the bathroom so not very practical when you’re all trying to get ready. The faucet in the bathroom sink was acting up - there was only lukewarm water but no cold or warm water. We told the front desk and they made a note. I doubt it was the first time this problem was reported to them for that room. Three days later, the problem was still there. Then they nickle and dime you on everything, like the exorbitant wi-fi access. Come on. Not very charming for the Plaza. On the plus side, the front desk was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. I would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments and observations… very helpful to our team. We do charge for WiFi as do all the full service hotels in downtown Santa Fe … however we do provide free WiFi in all our public areas including the Restaurants and Bar…and this free service is unique in downtown Santa Fe. I do apologize for not explaining this option to you while you were here, and I will make sure this alternative is added to our Web site as well. Thank you again for your comments and thank you for choosing the Hilton.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We're staying for a week to meet family. Great location and reasonable price too. Service to room and exec club area another thing. Cleaning service to our room is consistently mediocre, with things like not leaving toilet paper, some glasses left dirty in the room, left coffee packet wrappers in the coffee stand, used towels left on floor overlooked.

My spouse travels often enough on business to earn Diamond status, so we had access to the Exec Lounge. The service there was just plain lousy . . . Perhaps "unattended" is a better description. One day, no bowls or spoons for cereal or oatmeal. Every day, the oatmeal consistently goopy and tepid in temperature. (why do I keep trying it? I'm a slow learner I guess.) Since many other people don't seem to clean up after themselves, lots of crumbs and bits on the floor and surfaces. Front desk staff and other staff were very responsive when we made requests, though. Every staff member we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. Go back? Maybe not. I'm ready to try other lodging to see if we can improve upon the Santa Fe experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Edk427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

I apologize for the poor service. We have discussed this as a team and will adjust our operation accordingly. Our intent is to match the beautiful new rooms with exceptional service and attention to detail. Again I am so sorry that this is not what you experienced … on your next visit to Santa Fe please give us the opportunity to correct this perception. Our new rooms, location and commitment to Hilton’s standard for excellent service will make your next stay a memorable one.

Again thank you for your comments

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We'be stayed at the Santa Fe Hilton twice, each time for five days. The staff is welcoming and friendly. Our rooms have been large and comfy. Housekeeping does a good job. Our last stay in March 2012, part of the hotel was closed off for renovation. Even with work going on we were not bothered by noise. Our room was a bit worn, but was fine, and it was in the next section to be renovated. Next time we stay, I'm sure all the work will be done and the place will really sparkle. Glad to see they are reinvesting in this old property to keep it comfy and convenient for years to come. The on site restaurant, Pinon Grill, is a great spot for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wfgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your comments! We will be fully completed with the new rooms by mid February. We have worked hard to make sure the ongoing renovation is as invisible to our guests as possible. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit and we will make sure we upgrade you to one of the new rooms, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the new look and design.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice clean hotel comfortable bed good water pressure. I checked in without a reservation at midnight checked in by Perry. He was very accommodating and interested in getting me checked in as quickly as possible. Excellent service! I wil definitely return to the Hilton the next time I'm in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogerlsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your comments … And thank you for your specific comments about Perry which I have passed on to him. Perry has with us for years and is an outstanding example of customer service training and skill. We look forward to your next visit!

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The badly needed renovation of the Santa Fe Hilton has resulted in a dramatic improvement in its guest rooms. I normally stay elsewhere when I am in town, but this was a business trip that required frugality. When I stayed here last in 2010, I could easily have been in a suburban Cleveland or Newark Hilton. Now when you stay at the Hilton in Santa Fe, you’ll know that you are in New Mexico.

Rooms have been redesigned to reflect the hotel’s territorial-style architecture and its rich Hispanic heritage. There is no Pueblo revival going on here. With dark wood furniture, and fabrics and wall coverings in palettes of gold, brown and red, my room was one of the most visually coherent hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

Questionable design choices among the high quality, dark wood furniture pieces included a white, high-leg dresser whose brass nail head decoration repeated the nail heads used on the corner settee. The settee, a creative and aesthetically interesting use of a room corner, was extremely uncomfortable with its vertical back and short seat. While the embossed leather surface of its coffee table is a perfect example of the attention to detail paid by the room’s designer, most guests won’t find the room’s sitting area an inviting place to relax.

The new bathrooms feature back-lighted mirrors and showers with a frameless, plate glass door and ceramic seat. The tile floor, which continues out into the room’s foyer, resembles short wooden planks, a perfect compliment to the room’s territorial aesthetic. The bath’s three separate switches control the bath’s lighting to show off textured wallpapers in complimentary gold and deep red. Guests will find the bathroom functional with flair.

I noted two problems with the bath however. One was its sliding “barn-type” door that while aesthetically interesting, when fully closed left a two-inch wide opening - top to bottom – through which sounds and smells can easily escape into the room, and children’s curious eyes can see in, perhaps to view mommy – and maybe daddy – in the shower. (Parents with young children might want to bring along a roll of duck tape to seal of this space) The room designer did not think this one through. The other problem was with sink whose faucet neck is either too small or placed too far back on the surface. Be prepared to make a mess on the countertop when you wash your hands.

Business travelers will want to know that while the room’s desk is functional, it lacks an ergonomic chair. I had to sit on two pillows to elevate my frame to typing height. And another thing that you should know is that my door to the hallway did not close automatically as most hotel doors do. I left the first night for dinner thinking that mine did, and when I returned I found that open by over an inch. Fortunately my laptop was still there. I tested the door several times, and the door closed only with a firm push or pull. While rooms have a safe for valuables, some items like laptops won’t fit. So be careful.

Besides the marked improvements in the hotel’s rooms, Hilton Honors members will enjoy a new third floor lounge that is open 24/7 for snacks, and where a continental breakfast and early evening wine and snacks are served daily. And the hotel offers a great location, just a three-minute walk to the plaza.

This renovation was a long time in coming, and except for the glitches that I have noted, the Hilton is definitely a great choice and value in downtown Santa Fe.

Room Tip: As for a room facing Guadalupe St. for some great Santa Fe sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ovando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your detailed comments and observations. We are working on make some adjustments to the new rooms as we receive customer feedback. Those rooms that feature the sliding bathroom doors are being adjusted and we are reinstalling the faucets to avoid the back splash issues. Thank you again for your kind comments and we very much look forward to your next visit to Santa Fe

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
625 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,396 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $166 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing