We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn at Vanessie(Santa Fe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveler rating
809
541
235
108
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
541
235
108
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungegreat locationfront deskoutdoor fireplacehistoric plazawithin walking distancebreakfast buffetper dayparking feefire pitthird floorfew blockshot tubrooms are largefitness centereasy walkdowntown area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,417 - 1,422 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here in 2009 and was a bit disappointed. Aside from the lobby and beautiful exterior of the building, the rooms needed updating. I WAS quite happy with the PreCor fitness facility and quality of equipment. I think Hilton has created a great partnership there!

After numerous stays in other hotels in the Santa Fe area, I decided to check out the Hilton on the Plaza again. The renovations were great - rooms are neat and well decorated with tasteful lighting and more spacious bathrooms than back in 2009. We were greeted with complimentary Santa Fe / NM Chili treats and bottled water. My only complaint is that there are no longer queen sized beds at this hotel. Only doubles and king size.....so think ahead when you make a reservation if you want to sleep in the same bed as your roommate! It was a bit too "cozy" for my husband and I in the double bed :)

As always, it's a very convenient location and easy to get to. With Honors status, they comped our parking fees (not sure if this is true for everyone, but it saved us 7.50/night). Fitness center is still well equipped with an adjustable incline bench, free weights to about 45lbs, 3 treadmills, 2 EFX trainers (elliptical with adjustable ramp and resistance), 1 or 2 recumbent bikes, med balls, swiss ball, bosu and stretch bench. Machines have televisions and ear buds are provided.

Decent breakfast - hot and cold buffet as well as a full menu of items.

Room Tip: Other reviews say that the 1st floor is the "basement"....the hotel is actually built into a hill, but 1st floor rooms are not in a black hole. They all have windows. I stayed in 133 and 139 and didn't have any problems. There was a little bit of a learning curve with the thermostat, though. Basic instructions posted in the room would be helpful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There may well have been a time when this was considered a decent property but those days are long gone for this stinky, threadbare embarrassment to the Hilton family. Staff was nice enough. The bar and restaurant are eerily deserted, too.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank RoboKlown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

The Hilton Santa Fe is in the process of completing a multimillion dollar renovation of all the guest rooms. We have completed two thirds of the hotel and will be completing the final rooms this winter (so as not to be a disturbance to any of our guests). The new rooms are fantastic.. we have tripled the size of the bathrooms, replaced all furnishings, installed a new wireless system and so much more! Please accept my invitation to re-visit us in Santa Fe and see the new product .. I think you will be impressed with the new hotel.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Classic Santa Fe great service, great room, great value... it is a Hilton need I say more.
Classic All American!!! Staff were so helpful, food was wonderful, spent a great deal of time in the lobby and loved the art in the hotel. The staff when out of their way to make everything perfect. Everything you need in walking distance and the shuttle will get you anywhere else. But you must rent a car to really detail explore the sights of Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Folks it is really hard to find a bad Hilton family hotel. But again always ask to see and check you room before you check in with an asso.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quirt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for the great comments. We have gone thru a number of changes here with renovation of the hotel ... but one thing has not changed ...our location. A loction which is hard the beat here in Sant Fe. We look forward to your next visit

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been staying at the Hilton for the past several years while in Santa Fe. We are headed back again next month, but am looking at other hotels that take dogs. The rooms are decent, but considering it is a Hilton, I would expect a little nicer accommodations. I love the decor & ambience of the front lobby, and really enjoy the little deli on site cor either coffe in the morning or a drink in the evening. Customer service is mediocre & it seems the past couple of years the hotel has gone "downhill".

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherinefrmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty regarding the presentation of our guest accommodations. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice hotel, great location. Only problem-- NO cell phone service in the hotel if you have AT&T (nearest cell phone tower is in Albuquerque). Try and NOT get a room on the first floor, as it is actually the basement.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher B, General Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Unfortunately Santa Fe is somewhat famous for its poor cell service and we are working with AT&T to get two new towers in our area. We are very excited!

The Hotel is built on a hill and so you are right the first floor rooms are not below ground but rather on the first floor ... it is confusing because our lobby is located on the second floor. The advantage of the first floor rooms is that half of them face the pool and have walk-out access to the area.

Thank you again .. we look forward to your next visit

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews